We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy stay with impeccable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamal Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jamal Resorts to your Saves list
Jamal Resorts
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   JCI Complex, Ishber | Nishat, Srinagar, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 98 Hotels in Srinagar
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy stay with impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I were considering several options as we planned our trip. As it was difficult to gauge the quality of houseboats online, we decided to pick a hotel. My husband was the one who found this rare gem for us.

The property is large, set in one of Srinagar's best areas, and very well maintained. There's a children's play area and a well equipped restaurant.

Our room was cozy, with wooden flooring and an intricately carved ceiling, a number of typical Kashmiri sofas and a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and well appointed too.

We had a room heater and an electric blanket, which kept us more than warm in the near-zero December temperatures. There was plenty of steaming hot water for our showers.

We loved the food at Jamal Resorts. Sipping their well made Kashmiri Kahwa, with saffron, cinnamon and crushed almonds, was the perfect way to stave off the cold. I really enjoyed the Wazia Chicken which I ordered from room service. Their breakfast and dinner buffets were quite lavish and were appreciated by all the guests. We especially enjoyed the sevaiya kheer dessert, which was superbly made.

But more than anything, it was the service that made our stay so memorable. The entire F&B staff (Atiqullah, Altaf, Owais, etc) headed by Imran and the front office and housekeeping guys (Mohammed Yusuf, Majid, etc) headed by the manager Feroze and deputy manager Bilal, gave us a taste of true Kashmiri hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    45
    24
    13
    15
See reviews for
64
31
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My first trip to Kashmir. We were a bit reluctant at first but were convinced by our friends who had recently visited Kashmir. Jamal Resorts in Srinagar was not our first choice. We were staying at another hotel in Rajbagh area of Srinagar. But due to major traffic snarls in that area, we decided to move our hotel to a more tourist location with no city traffic problems. That is when I consulted trip advisor and chose Jamal Resorts.

The hotel is just perfect and tastefully decorated. It is located in nishat area and near dal lake. All the sightseeing and touristy things are close by. The rooms are mostly on the ground floor. We stayed in the Super Deluxe room which I felt was better than the Suite, with amazing interiors and very spacious. The buffet spread in the restaurant is very good and the food with some local delicacies which were amazing. Being in Kashmir we didn't want to be stuck in a tight building of a hotel and Jamal Resorts gave us that open airy feeling with their open gardens and so much space. We spent most of our time in the gardens while we were at the hotel. In the evening we would walk to the nishat garden market and would hand near the dal lake.

All in all a perfect stay and highly recommended

Room Tip: Super deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we went there for 3 nights and was a wonderful experience very good rooms really not feeling cold inside the room feeling very great after coming in room, very co-operative staff, and most important best food.... what a food!!! great stay enjoyable...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visited Jamal in December 2011 on my honeymoon and stayed here for a week. First, I would like to thank the manager Feroz for his warm hospitality and arrangements for booking in other hotels too. Though some small issues occured like, low voltage resulting improper functioning of Room heaters, we were provided two heaters for comfortable stay. Food was good but they did not serve Tandoor chapatis as the occupancy at that time was low. Would definitely like to come again and stay in Jamal.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in front of the enterance gate. It is the biggest room and has nice interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Jamal resorts for 2 nights during our Kashmir tour.The hotel was not much different from the nice photos posted on different websites.It is located away from Dal lake with a walkable distance of approx 15 minutes.The hotel in the vicinity looks similar from outside but we found the staff of this hotel was very nice which might be the separating point.
The hotel rooms are good but a bit small.In down stairs rooms bath tubs are not available.As requested to front desk they upgraded us to upper rooms on foc basis,that rooms are attached with bath tubs.It was very nice talking with reception.I really appropriate their behaviour.When I complained for bath tub.the food was of good quality and the staff was very helpful.I would specially like to mention about staff,they are so helpful I have never seen.The meat quality was ok,but the overall preparations were very nice.
In summary we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would like to visit again during our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If any1 wnt to sty in Srinagar .. prefer Jamal Resort.. d bst .. in Srinagar.. vry big open place.
Nice rooms.. staff are freindly.. Manager are vry co-operative.. i sty 3 dys from 11th Nov 2012 to 14 Nov 2012, worth to sty thr.. near to Dal Lake.. vry chill out.. place.. food iz quality amazing.. Garden area are big ...Hope nxt visit vry Soon.

Room Tip: Prefer room no. 104 & 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had been to this place for 4 nights in Oct 2012. I also went by some of the comments on Trip Advisor stating that it is good, etc., etc., However, having travelled all over India and the world, I find that some of the folks that have rated this property as good - must have really stayed in some very bad places earlier!!! sorry - but this is my opinion. First of all, the photographs may look good on web-sites, but the room is "COLD" and nothing special. Except for the bed which has heated blankets, the entire room is 'unclean' / cold and not worth the ratings!! In fact i stayed in a "super deluxe room' - the front of the room was a high tiled parapet - later on realised that the room was above the 'main kitchen' - lots of noises from down below! The tea comes only by 7.30 AM and no one picks up the 'room service' or 'house keeping' nos. when called before 7.30 AM. The hotel reception does not guide you - but rather keep mum and does not provide any advice on where to go and what to do, etc., etc., - which is rather expected when they know very well that all the folks that come to their resort are tourists will normally go to usual places such as Gulmarg / Pahalgam / Sonmarg. The restaurant sounded exhorbitant from a rate perspective - even though the food served was 'satisfactory'. Nothing exceptional! The wi-fi works only inthe reception area and we have give our lap top / ipad / phone - to the receptionst to log-in. This was ridiculous. The place is also too far away from the main market and there is nothing around the place in case you need to go for a leisurly walk. Overall, I was very dissapointed with this resort - and would advise to look for something near the main dal lake area for rooms that may cost similar to what these folks charge!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsifMir, Guest Relations Manager at Jamal Resorts, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for sparing your time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated our Food quality and taste. We are saddened to hear that you didnt like our room decor and found it to be "Cold". Our Bed Tea timing is 730 am but if pre-ordered it can be served even earlier. Our Travel Desk is equipped to provide you with Tour Packages, Local Sightseeings, Adventure Treks, Golfing rounds etc. The timings of Travel Desk are 1000 am to 730 pm. You visited our Travel Desk past the working hours and hence were unable to find any useful information.

We trust that you will not hold this experience against us. We urge you to visit Jamal Resorts once again. I will personally look into your next stay. We would appreciate more specific comments & feedback on where we can further raise the bar, if you could email me at info@jamalresorts.com

Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us in our endeavor of constant improvement. I once again thank you for it.

Warm regards,
AN MIR, Guest Relations
Jamal Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamal Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamal Resorts

Address: JCI Complex, Ishber | Nishat, Srinagar, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 98 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jamal Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished Stay A bliss within 3 acres. Created with Swiss perfection, all our rooms offer luxurious, high specification spaces. Effusing regality, each room conforms to 4 star standards with exotic wooden flooring. Wrap in the warmth of centrally heated systems and live in the convenience of 24 hours hot and cold water in craftily done bathrooms. The unwinding doesn’t stop when you pull down the window curtains, groove to latest LCD TVs and Tata Sky Connections in all rooms. Treat for Taste Buds- Gourmet’s delight. Immerse yourself in the most exciting Kashmiri cuisines. Savor delicacies ranging from Continental, Indian, Mughlai and Chinese within the classical ambiance of our multi-cuisine restaurant Tulip. Separate kitchens are maintained for veg and non veg food. Walk out, breathe in the freshness and relish the elevating effect of the scenic Kashmir at our outdoor coffee shop. Pampering Services: Live the importance bestowed "Our Pleasure” that’s what we believe in serving you. We are at your call with 24 hour service menu and assist you in transfer and travel facilities including travel desk. Special travel and adventure service on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jamal Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamal Resorts Srinagar, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamal Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.