We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for flower lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden

Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden
foothills of the Zabarwan hills on the banks of Dal Lake, Srinagar, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Attractions in Srinagar
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place for flower lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I visited this place on April last, the ending seasons for tulips, some of them are already dead or in the process of drying the garden is very well maintained and adjacent to botanical garden.
If you ask me after visiting pehalgam and gulmarg i didn't like much the gardens in srinagar.
The best place to spend time in srinagar is Dal lake.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    79
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

You never come to "Paradise of the World" often - usually you come once and then promise to yourself and all others that you would keep on returning but our daily business makes us difficult to re-visit. If we plan again the tour, again to the same place, either our family members or friends are NOT interested in spending again for the same place and even our mind says "Lets spend and see other places in the World" hence we end up going to other places. Hence visit to Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden at Srinagar, Kashmir, INDIA, is an once in a life time opportunity. Usually we see Tulip Flowers either in the Hindi movie "Silsila" or as an Wall paper at our home / office or on our Computer Screen as an wallpaper / screensaver. But its worth visiting Tulip Gardens at Srinagar to actually see the flowers blooming all around. Thanks to the Goverment of J & K, for making this beautifully designed garden, only one of its kind. Its beautifully done but is open only during March - April months, when the Tulip Flowers bloom, hence plan your visit accordingly. If you want to enjoy Apples hanging on the trees or Saffron in the field - then its October - November months to visit, hence decide your priority, what exactly you want to see. You cannot enjoy Tulip Gardens and Apples / Saffron in the field both together at the same time / visit. Check the examination timetables of your kids, your own vacations and either choose Tulip Gardens in March - April or Apple Gardens / Saffron fields in full bloom in October - November.
I have visited Tulips in Amsterdam as well as now in Srinagar. The Srinagar Tulip Gardens are well laid, well maintained, clean and with a lot of variety of different colours of Tulip Flowers. The entry ticket is Rs.50/- per person. Please check, re-check the opening of the Gardens and accordingly plan your visit. One should plan the tour to visit Tulip Gardens between 25th March to 25th April. This is the best time to get lucky. But this is also the time of Rain Showers in Srinagar and hence once you touch down in Srinagar, immediately in a day or two go and first visit the Tulip Gardens, because if it showers heavily and continuously for a day or two you will not be able to make it up. But this place is worth to visit during full bloom. We visited Tulip Gardens on 20th April 2013 when the flowers were in full bloom and it was a very delightful sight to see and enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Srinagar local sight seen is too much enjoyable. Nageen lake and dal lake the beautiful lake and shankaracharya temple is too much good

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful tulips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It remains open only 2 to 2.5 months but the view is lovely. Colours of the tulip are outstanding. They look like a carpet Very photogenic destination.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To see Tulips you dont have to goto Keukenhof flower gardens Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Anyone who loves spring flowers, especially tulips, would visit the Keukenhof flower gardens near Amsterdam. The beauty of these gardens and the brilliant bulb flowers just cannot be adequately captured in pictures. However at Srinagar similar effort has been made with success. It is only open for about three weeks towards end March thru to mid April,i.e in the spring. I selected this opportunity as the climate is good even at other places surrounding it.Whereas in Europe after Keukenhof, in April then where, it is freezing elsewhere around.Tourist season is yet to open up in Italy and Spain and if youre looking for comfortable climes.
Most Indian airlines fly to Srinagar, flights even from Goa and Mumbai,
Went twice during our 4 day stay, could not savour enough the appetite did not die. Time required about 2 hours, other places of interest Chasme Shahi, Nishat and Shalimar Gardens are 15 minutes of driving time from one another, each requiring an hour, so plan your outing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden also viewed

 
Srinagar, Kashmir
 

Been to Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.