We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but terrible hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shamyana Restaurant

Shamyana Restaurant
Boulevard Road | Dal Gate, Srinagar 190001, India
0194-2453360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Srinagar
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Food but terrible hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I hated the lack of , infact absence of hospitality.
The food was good, but at entry when we asked with a smiling face about a sitting for 2 ppl, the receptionist just threw hands at an empty table ordering us to sit there. The waiters were also poor at service.
But the good thing is, there food was tasty. We had keema matar, pudina parantha and tandoori rotiyan, with fresh lime soda for me and salted lassi for my husband. Everything in our plate tasted good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    90
    44
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food at Dal lake!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a must try if you are having a meal at Dal lake. Yummy food, with generous helpings, prompt service. Ambience is great. We had butter chicken and mutton kanti. Both the dishes were great. Rotis were nice and crisp!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wastage of Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is just a wastage. We ordered Mutton Rogan Josh and it really uneatable and tasteless. The service was so poor, we had to wait for atleast 45 mins . worst thing they don't except cards. I would really suggest to try some other place to try Kashmiri Dishes

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better to change staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I visited there in june and i found staff very lazy and not courteous better to change staff ,however food is good .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummm food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Yummiest contemprary Indian food had in kashmir with affordable rates
I had kalimirch murg, shahi mutton korma with tandoori rotis and chicken biryani which was sufficient for two pax.
Ambience was good, the service was ok.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamyana Restaurant also viewed

Srinagar, Kashmir
Srinagar, Kashmir
 

Been to Shamyana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamyana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.