We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vishal Hotel

Vishal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vishal Hotel to your Saves list
Vishal Hotel
Behind Durga Bhawan | behind Durga Bhawan, Katra 182301, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 78 Katra B&B and Inns
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent hospitality and caring staff. They have also provided us complimentary pick up and drop to helipad, Thanks cleartrip and Hotel Vishal for the services.
Looking forward to come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had originally tried for Hotel Varun for which there have been great reviews & true that the location of Hotel Varun too is great if you want to take the helicopter trip to Mata Vaishno devi. My travel agent advised that this Hotel Varun is the same owners & management as of Hotel Varun, so i went ahead with my bookings since Hotel Varun was already booked 3 months in advance. I had done a booking of 3 nights & 4 days here for my entire family.
We booked amongst the best rooms ie. room no. 406 & 407.
The hotel driver pays a cut to the porter at the Jammu airport who will demand portage charges for just carrying just 1 piece of luggage which too was not required. The airport porter will stand at the arrival with your name placard as a trick since he is hand in glove with the hotel driver.
The hotel owner Mr. Manoj himself confessed to me that he too is fed up & disgusted with all his staff. Although our package included buffet breakfast & dinner there wasn't any since the hotel occupancy was only about 20%, hence we were forced to order A-La-Carte. The restaurant staff avoided providing most items saying they have shortage of cooks since the cooks were not available. Most of the food was very spicy inspite of instructing the staff while placing our orders. The restaurant staff ensured that they provided the bare minimum items to minimise their workload & maximise their profit.
The housekeeping staff advised us to waste atleast 3 big buckets of water from the tap or shower & only then hot water would start. At the time of checkout we finally had to take bath with very cold water since already a thousand litres of water had been wasted but there was no hot water inspite of 3 staff members trying their level best to get hot water. Even their plumber could not do much.
The cupboards are not maintained well with cockroaches freely moving around the room most of the time. Bathroom toiletaries quality were pathetic especially the soap & shampoo.
After checkout the hotel driver was arrogant & mis-behaved to the maximum possible. Finally the reception staff & the manager seeing a lot of embarassement arranged another vehicle for our drop to Jammu airport.
The hotel claims to provide free drop & pick up for the yatra but actually provides a complimentary drop only to the helipad. We were not provided the promissed complimentary pickup from Banganga late night.
We will never ever stay here again nor ever recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we visit vaishnodevi on 10th nov'2012. we book hotel vishal katra through net. hotel is very good location .main market is hardly 5 to 10 minute walking distance.hotel is clean we booked room for 2 nights .room is very spacious. very good property . we stay on front side of hotel from there best view of trikuta hill of mata vaishnodevi.

Room Tip: front side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Recommended by a fried, this is an excellent hotel to stay. We reached here in morning at 7 am and checked out at another day at 12 and were not charged any extra.
Morning breakfast - Puri Bhaji were awesome. Excellent Service provided by the staff.
Location is very convenient. They also provide free pick-up and drop till Ban-Ganga and Bus stand.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel first time on recommendations from a friend. I must say, it is one of the best hotels in Katra. We stayed in a 5 bedded room and enjoyed every bit of it. Staff is very caring and well trained.

I think this hotel has everything one looks forward to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have been staying at this hotel during my annual visit to Vaishnodevi since past 3 years. Needless to say, the experience has been more than satisfying courtesy the excellent service provided by the hotel staff. Loctation is also very convinient. They make sure to take care of every minute details of your needs. Hotel is strikingly similar to their other flagship Hotel Varun. Would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Bit away from main mkt area (5 mins). Seems a nice newly constructed property. approach road to the hotel is quite bad with a bad smell. Staff quite couteous and alert. They provide pick up and drop till badganga. Rooms are clean and neat with hot water 24 hours and power back up. Hotel restaurant is nice with good food. they also arrange for massage services after yatra if interested. they can arrange taxis for airport / station though u can rent out from market area much cheaper. In all, a good place and ideal for short stay while enroute to vaishodevi mandir

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vishal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vishal Hotel

Address: Behind Durga Bhawan | behind Durga Bhawan, Katra 182301, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Katra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Katra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Vishal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vishal Hotel Katra, Jammu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vishal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.