We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel near market place-need more maintenance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Katra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ambica
Vaishno Devi, Katra 182301, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 hotels in Katra
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
579 helpful votes 579 helpful votes
“nice hotel near market place-need more maintenance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

i stayed in hotel ambica for 2 nights, rooms size is good, clean with necessary amenities. need more cleanliness and maintenance concentration on washrooms. staff and services are nice. best part of this hotel is the garden on opposite side. this hotel is very near to the booking place for token to travel for vaishnodevi temple and a happening market. people can easily grab autorikshaw to reach the starting point of vaishnodevi temple excursion and checking point. one state bank of india ATM is situated just at the enterence of hotel. Hotel management should put some more effort to maintain this property.

Room Tip: both facings are good either road or garden..garden facing are more preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in a group at hotel ambica. Hotel was not so well maintained, however rooms were spacious. Service was ok. Anyway you do not spend time at hotel, as vaishodevi darsan will take lot of time and you end up spending the night at hotel room. Another advantage it is on jammu-katra road and near to bus stand.
Hotel carpet and curtaines were not well maintained however it provided 24hrs running hot water. rate charged 1200rs for double bed and 1500rs for triple bed.
Overall it was ok considering the charges

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel might be a good one 10 years back..but no maitenance has led to shabby place. Cockroaches and Dirt everywhere in room. Had to fight at 10PM to get room changed.
Breakfast and dinner was included in cost but waiters treated patrons as if they are giving it as from their pockets..not many people opted staying here..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

After going thru the reviews i booked this hotel with discount of 40 %, the location was good, the rooms were ok but the toilets where in very bad shape. Later on i changed the hotels to asia shipathi and it was definately better off than this one with a marginal increase in tarriff I would definately not reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

the best part aboyt the hotel is the hospitality and the lawns we were 4 females .going to vaishnaw devi we felt protecte and at home. the rooms and food can be improved but it is value for money deal

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Overall pleasant stay. I had gone on a family vacation. We booked a 4-bed and a 2-bed room. Price was very reasonable. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Hotel staff was courteous and service was prompt. Location of hotel is excellent and very near to main market, bus stand.
The only downside was that the family room had a/c for only one portion (there were 2 portions with one double bed each). I asked for an extra bedding to be put in a portion, and was promptly provided one.

  • Liked — location, cost
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Its a budget hotel and the rooms reflect that, they are comfortable but nothing special. What sets the hotel apart is the exceptional service from the staff. This was my second yatra and I have stayed here both times and they helped make the experience memorable. They were very helpful in arranging anything necessary at no additional expense. Very courteous and helpful staff, they made the difference.

  • Liked — The great service!
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ambica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambica

Address: Vaishno Devi, Katra 182301, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Katra
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 hotels in Katra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Ambica Katra, Jammu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ambica to your Saves list