We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go when in manali” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat plate, cafe

Fat plate, cafe
Shuru | Naggar Road, Manali 175131, India
+(91)9816952400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 73 Restaurants in Manali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fat Plate Cafe is a family-run eatery located on the left bank of the River Beas. The cafe is a brick & wood building constructed over a 3 bigha plot of land, surrounded by lush green lawns and its very own herb and vegetable gardens. The cafe seats 80 covers, the seating is divided between the indoor lounge, the veranda and the two level of lawns. The cafe was born in 2012, promoted by the gurung family who share a deep passion for food. Anubhav Gurung, the son, is the chef and in-charge of the kitchen. The food is the soul of the cafe; the menu is based around European and north Indian specialities. The chef believes in following the traditional cooking techniques and giving them his own flavour. The menu is based on the seasonality of ingredients and the chef works closely with his butcher and his gardener to finally decide what’s going to be on the menu.Rarrah meat, Roast leg of lamb, Bacon wrapped chicken with plum sauce and the Mustard chilli trout are some of the top selling items. The cafe bakes its own breads and most of the herbs and the salads are grown on the premises. Most of the ingredients are sourced locally and are bought from the farmers directly.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Must go when in manali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I must thanks Mr and Mrs Gurang for this amazing place, very nice and cosy ambiance, very nice food and on top of that very lively Mr Gurang,
Food was nice and it was a great experience having dinner there, unfortunately it was raining that day so we did not get the opportunity to sit outside lawn which was a perfect place to have a romantic dinner.
Must try their sweet dish preparation, i forget the name but whatever was ordered it was delicious.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A mini switzerland in manali! Loved the roesti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Again one of my best meals ever in manali. We drove out of the city, this place is enroute to naggar castle, right in Shuru village, left on the main road. Has a good parking area too. The minute we entered the complex, we were blown away with the decor and beauty. So much outdoor seating...under a canopy of flowered pots....surrounded by mountains..a calm pretty oasis....the place really had an Oomph factor. The chef cum owner Anubhav Gurung was amazingly gracious and catered completely to my gluten and dairy issues; he changed a lot on his menu for this. We took a lovely table on the outside, and began a meal that started as a brunch...continued as lunch and ended as tea!!! And we changed tables everytime to match our meals!! The girls ordered shakes which they greedily gulped down. My salad and sauteed mushrooms herbed to perfection was so good that I was tempted to re-order..which thankfully I didn't or else I wouldn't have had the next entrees!!! The meal just got better and better with each dish. My elder daughter had a vegetable burger, which was finally palmed off by my husband. We ordered both versions of the Roesti, the spinach and cheese for the rest of the party and the other tomato option for me....I ate mine completely and was still wanting more!! After the yummilious desserts and the coffee...we reluctantly asked for the bill..WE DIDNT WANT TO LEAVE! The bill just unbelievable....It was my cheapest grand meal in Manali....FOOD UNBEATABLE, AMBIENCE AND LOCATION OUTSTANDING...and yet so so reasonable. A MUST IN MANALI!!!! fantastic

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We made a reservation at the restaurant for dinner for a special occasion having read recent reviews on trip advisor. The first impression was good as we were impressed by the gardens and starters. It was all downhill after that. Having booked a day before, our table did not appear to have been reserved. We were unable to order the second round of drinks or our main meal as the staff were at a "tea break" at 8:30pm! We were told they'd be back in 15 mins but we waited for more than 45mins when we decided to leave without having our main meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must visit in Manali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went here for dinner so didn't get to see much if the fabled views from fat plate. The place was pretty crowded but still the service was fast. Ordered pastas and veg au gratin. The agli olio pasta was flavourful and delicious. The kids loved their pasta wt "pink" sauce.

The only bummer was that the bread basket was out but they tried to pawn us 4 brown bread slices instead. Parking management on crowded days is a hassle. Better to park on the main road rather than inside in the restaurant parking

Overall a very enjoyable visit and "yummy" food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
““Outstanding dining experience””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I, had reservation in the hotel right opposite to this awesome restaurant. We, after looking at the location decided to give this place a try. What an outstanding restaurant. The service and the food were perfect. We simply loved the place, though we experienced a little delay in the service but that was probably because of the famous actress Alia Bhatt (Student of the year fame) sitting next to us.

Overall a good restaurant at Nice location in Manali. If you are in Manali, then you MUST try this place for awesome food.

Would definitely recommend for a special occasion or family outing as they do their utmost to give you a memorable time. Go if you love Non-veg

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat plate, cafe also viewed

Manali, Himachal Pradesh
Manali, Himachal Pradesh
 
Manali, Himachal Pradesh
 

Been to Fat plate, cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat plate, cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.