We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Meadows - Manali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added White Meadows - Manali to your Saves list
White Meadows - Manali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prini, Manali Naggar Highway, Manali 175131, India (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 107 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delhi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I visited here with family of four with my 2 kids and 2 adults for 3 nights and 4 days in mid Aug 2013 and boy i was disappointed . Here is my feedback

1. First This hotel is approx 3 Kms from Mall road or Market and on other side of Manali, which locals now call "New Manali". So keeping that in mind if you want to stay near Mall road
2. I booked a Duplex Room, Rooms were neat, clean , kind of Okay Big. Cupboard was really small to suit a Family. Duplex Room was meant for Four , But towels they provide is only 2 !!!. No Door Mats !!! Means you are going to make your room wet if you are walking in from rain
3. They Welcome you with Fruits, Local but Stale (avoidable ) cookies , Indian White Wine but with no wine glasses !!!!! in your room
4. Bathrooms were clean, Okay but , Bath Tub had cracks, stains
5. They don't provide you hot water 24X7 , surprisingly for a hotel that claims to be a five star and this is not mentioned on their website. So families travelling with kids esp toddlers and babies better brace. There claim of providing was even more astonishing that because it is at such height they can 't provide it . I know many so called lower star hotels in Manali who do provide it 24X7 and for that matter i remember my stay in Sarovar Portico Badrinath which is at much higher height , only open for 6 or so months a year and still proving this basic amenity. Sorry you can 't be even 3 star that way.
6. I have read many travelers comments about Food being good, perhaps i was at bad time in hotel then, Because there food is all but good. Kind of same Breakfast ,very ordinary bakery and equally ordinary Menu and spicy food (my kids did n't ate the food at all) . Food as so spicy that every other customer eating in restaurant was complaining.
7. Now The package they offered me included a candle night dinner but was never offered even when i asked they said they will get back to me and they never did.
8. There prices are way exorbitant does not justify there services at all.
9. Few More things, Lawns are good, but very small
10 Parking place is also small
11 Staff is not well trained , not proactive They will desperately hover around your for Tips
12. Don't book taxi's from Hotel they charge you 5 X of what locals do.

Well Being at such a hot tourist destination and even more being there at Off season, They simply floored our expectation . I think they should learn from feedbacks provided here at Trip adivisor that Luxury and Comfort is not only clean and shiny rooms, but attitude of Hospitality which a guest expects . A sense of professionalism from Hotelier which makes his stay memorable and make him come again

Which i am disappointed to stay i did n't found even for moment

They definitely need to improve and improve alot , I am not sure i will advice this hotel to any of my freinds , They are grossly overcharged. You should look for better options in Manali

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at White Meadows - Manali, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear nik007,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Manali, India.
Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    81
    31
    6
    9
See reviews for
88
67
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in holiday inn Manali in April this year. We had high hopes since this place claims to be a 5 star hotel, but we were disappointed.
1. No hot water in the bathroom. It's a hill station it was cold and rainy and yet they have 2 hours marked for hot waters from the tap morning and evening.. Can you believe that?
2. Room was pretty average and was not very clean. Stain on the bed sheet.
3. There was a hole going up the ceiling exposing wires and electrical circuits as you open the wardrobe. Don't be surprised if Tom and Jerry come over to pay you visit
4. No wi-fi in your room
5. Absolutely zilch value for money


Food was very good, that was the only saving point.

We do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at White Meadows - Manali, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Megzworld,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked the quality of food served during your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room accommodation and amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is very good and does not deserve the low ranking on Trip Advisor. Rooms are large and the Garden Suites have a beautifully done up garden and a sit out as a backyard. Room amenities are excellent and the staff is polite and attentive. Buffet breakfast is elaborate however they should have more choice in the buffet dinner. Property is well maintained and has good facilities. There should be a drivers dormitory as most guests have drivers alongwith. Should definitely be in the top 3 in manali.

Room Tip: Choose garden suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We Stayed 3 nights in this hotel in February 2013. Room was clean and spacious with backyard. The food is good and Staff is very attentive. It was snow the day we arrived, My husband was feeling cold and they provided hot bags on asking.

The location is one of the best in Manali.

Room Tip: Take a room with View or with backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful nice place in Prini Village About % Kms from Main Manali Town is neat and clean place Excellent Food right from Buffet Breakfast to Ala Carte Dinner .Good service and ambience. It is connected to main Manali by a small one way bidge which becomes a traffic congestion centre as the hill is weak and many landslides occur leading to delays.

The rooms of the hotel are having open access and during harsh climate the pathways leading to the main lobby and dining halls are difficult to access as the fiberglass coverings at many points are damaged and are not mantained properly. The fitness centre and other activities are on low ebb and activities are also not there . Otherwise a good place to stay

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper deck mostly twin deck rooms are the best and best accesable during harsh weat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked this hotel for my vacation with great expectations. But in last, it was not good. Hotel is good with good rooms and garden. Food is pathetic. It looks like they have copied the menu from some other hotel but their Chef does not know how to cook. I ordered Chicken and Mushroom Salad with tengy creamy sauce and what they served me is chicken, mushroom and capsicum in one plate & tomato sauce in one bowl. And same with some other dishes. My impression was their chef does not know how to cook but they made their Food Menu to look fancy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at White Meadows - Manali, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Sunny_pahuja,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

While I am pleased you found our rooms and our garden commendable, I would like to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced. We also regret the food served during your stay did not live up to your expectations.

I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our Food and Beverage team. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

most beautiful resort, big four gardens with apple laden orchard, swing, snow covered peak visible even in the month of june from garden as well as from balcony of rooms, rooms are spacious and perfect, bathroom is awesome, foods are delicious especially candle light dinner in symphony restaurant, a la carte menu are reasonably priced and tasty, bar is having excellent view, room service are prompt, staffs are very courteous, i mean to say that no comparision with any other hotels in manali, it was our most memorable stay in this resort, the resort is so good that you may not wish to go outside of this property, may god bless this resort to serve the guest like that forever, the price of the rooms are underprice if you compare it with any similar hotels in manali in quality wise.....

Room Tip: choose glacier view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Meadows - Manali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Meadows - Manali

Address: Prini, Manali Naggar Highway, Manali 175131, India (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manali
#9 Spa Hotel in Manali
#16 Family Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Meadows - Manali 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the hill state of Himachal Pradesh in northern India, Manali is a picture perfect mountain resort. Covered with pinewoods and apple orchards, Manali has been attracting adventure and nature lovers from all over the world. At an attitude of 1929 meters, it is bordered by the Rohtang Pass, the gateway to the mighty mountain desert-Ladakh. Perched on the left bank of the River Beas, the White Meadows by Manali overlooks a fertile valley covered with gently terraced paddy fields. The majestic snow clad peaks of the Himalayan range provides a breathtaking backdrop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your White Meadows - Manali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manali Hotel Manali
Manali Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Meadows - Manali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.