We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay ..The best in Manali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Himalayan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Himalayan to your Saves list
The Himalayan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hadimba Road, Manali 175131, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay ..The best in Manali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The best thing about the Himalayan Resort if of course its intricately planned architecture. Based on a Scottish Castle design, this place is quaint, royal and modern at the same time! We took the premier room with the private balcony, and the minute we entered it, we knew that this was a place fit for kings. The room was immaculately clean, had a working fireplace (firewood costs extra), and a huge private balcony. The bathroom is awesome, with a tub, a shower and round the clock hot water. The view from the hotel is amazing surrounded by hills on all side, there was heavy snow for two days so you can imagine the view! Food is of excellent quality and is in generous portions. Everything was so professional yet homely that you feel you own the property while you stay. It is value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the Grand room . It has a small but amazing fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bala1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was one of the most memorable holidays in Manali. Amazing accommodation and service with Awesome food. Altough smack in the middle of Manali but still secluded for a perfect vacation. Close to almost every tourist location in manali. Very good staff. For a family i would Recommend to take the Cottage which is lavishly furnished with all amenities. All in all two thumbs up for the Himalayan Resort.

Room Tip: For family i would recommend the Cottage with 2 rooms else a couple can also book the single room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RavdeepSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed in June

Room in Castle

Cost: Rs 5000 per night ( only room )

Ambience: Good
Room Quality: Good
Food: Good
Service: Good
Location: Good


Recommended: YES


Not a Budget accomodation. Recommended for people, who are willing to spend a little to make their stay comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jsoni83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I visited this property in last week of May 2014 stayed for 6 nights in cottage.

The cottage was neat and clean. The food served at the hotel is very nice.

In cottage you have a full fleged kitchen, but we preferred to food at the restaurant, the food served was fresh & hot.

The breakfast is mind blowing. There is buffet breakfast, but you can prepare your customized breakfast, and having it near the pool was really soothing. .

I would definitely recommend everyone to stay at this property in Manali to make your trip memorable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Vivek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Not too far away from the hustle, bustle and dirt of main Manali center, this Hogwarts school look alikeis a great choice to stay in Manali.

View: Expansive views of moutians as far as you can see, with snow capped mountains and quiet locations.

Rooms: We stay in the premier room which was spacious and had a big bed, TV and a big bathroom with tub and shower area. ( We had a bad experience with a stench emitting from it but hopefully it would be addressed)

Food / Bar: The food was decent with many choices and they have a well stock bar ( a bit pricey in comparison to other places) If you have your own balcony or bigger rooms it would be better to carry your own alco. Breakfast is also good and service is prompt and courteous. There is another bar in the basement but I assume it is better for winters with a fireplace and all.

Lawns: The best part of the hotel is the lawn and pool, surrounded with lot of greenery and trampoline ( kids had a blast on it) and a apple orchard attached to it.
There is a crows nest which too has great view of Manali. A small Shiva temple too is not too far for a walk.

All in all a great choice for stay in Manali.

Room Tip: We had the basic room # 2, which was nice but I would assume all are nice,they have bigger suites fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ninster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were excellent value for money- very clean and good sized with great views of the ranges. This makes up for some start up problems like a weird smell in our loo ( we were moved to another room, fortunately) and the fireplace setting which was a bit hazardous as we kept tripping on it!
The downside is that it's in the crowded part of Manali town so traffic jams outside the hotel. Also, the food is not as adventurous as others in Manali but there are no dearth of options in this town.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in june 2o14 our experience was just awsome .here I am giving my review in points...1.in manali but still away from noisy atmosphere of mall road. 2.walking distance downhill but same is not true if u r goin up the hill.3.excellent location best in manali in my views.they will deliver a class in everything u think of.one of the best views from room window seen by me its sooo much eye pleasing.room service,

food ,behaviour of staff was amazing. and in the last the humble n supporting behaviour of mr. Sunil made our stay a memorable experience for lifetime. ....thank u so much. the himalayan,carry your class work in future best of luck..........

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drpandeyravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
2.8 mi away
The Anantmaya Resort
The Anantmaya Resort
#1 of 116 in Manali
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#5 of 116 in Manali
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#14 of 116 in Manali
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
LaRiSa Resort
LaRiSa Resort
#20 of 116 in Manali
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
4.8 mi away
Solang Valley Resort
Solang Valley Resort
#19 of 116 in Manali
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#36 of 116 in Manali
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan

Address: Hadimba Road, Manali 175131, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Himalayan 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at an elevation of 2003 metres & built in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, The Himalayan is an exclusive boutique resort with an al fresco swimming pool overlooking Manali town. Tucked away in its own cul-de-sac amidst an apple & cherry orchard are 8 opulent guest rooms in the Castle (all with four-poster beds & antique armoires) and 8 cottages (each with 2 Bedrooms complete with en-suite bathrooms, dining & drawing space with functional fire place). The Cottage kitchenettes are equipped with all modern amenities/appliances. All cottages have their own cosy gardens, balconies & mountain views. All rooms come with tea/coffee makers, in-room safes & bespoke bath amenities. Bar, Restaurant & In-room dining is available. Croquet, Trampoline & Table Tennis is provided for children & adults alike. Gymnasium is offered on the premises. Additional facilities in the near future will include a poolside Barbecue, conference facilities & Lawn Tennis court. An elaborate Spa will be added subsequently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Himalayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing