We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Himalayan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Himalayan to your Saves list
The Himalayan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hadimba Road, Manali 175131, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jodhpur, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is located enroute to the famous Hadimba Temple. The hotel has a gothic architecture with complimenting interiors.
The place itself is a destination in itself and a must stay hotel in Manali. The food is good and the staff will pamper you so the brink of actually spoiling you but thats what you expect on a vacation.

The rooms are unmatched and the location is breathtaking.

One must definitely stay here when in Manali.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    55
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
83
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to Manali as a couple in last week of april 2013. After doing a lot of research, I chose The Himalayan for our stay. It is just AMAZING!! this is something other than your normal commercialized hotels. Imagine a hotel that is on top of a small hill, surrounded by snow covered mountains even in last week of April. This hotel is 200 meters before Hidimba temple on that very same road. Now, imagine a hotel that has less than 10 roooms and few cottages but took 10 years to get built. That's the attention of details we are talking about. Every piece of furniture, all the paintings, even stones (that are used to build the property)) are procured from various parts of the country. It is an experience in itself to stay here. The food was great too. I am on no oil diet and I had to say that only on 1st time when I entered restaurant. For all the remaining times, it was throughly followed for whatever I ordered. View from the room is amazing. Room was nice and cozy with great bed and good bathroom. They have active fire place in some of the rooms. Swimming pool is nice too. The owner, Mr. Mohi is a pleasure to meet and discuss manali and the property. All the staff people were top notch in providing best possible service with ever smiling face. Forget commercialized hotels in manali, just try this once!! :o)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

They have got a lot of it right, starting from the location , accommodation , view , service, garden with a personal touch , vegetable patch & of course the hospitality .Would certainly like to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you're looking for the perfect place in Manali, look no further than the Himalayan. It's rated #3 on Tripadvisor where it should actually be #1 because it is indeed perfect in every aspect.
The Himalayan is not a hotel. It is an experience. Considering people do come here to stay let me cover those aspects. It's luxurious, extremely clean and private and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I dare you to not fall in love the minute you are taken through meandering steps of a gorgeous Tudors-style castle to your room. Don't worry about getting the best views. All rooms are built such that all you can see from your windows are spectacular views of the Himalayas. Take a room there, experience the premises and don't do anything else in Manali. Nothing else will come close. The location is the best. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Manali and yet just a few kms from the Mall road. All you can see are snow-clad mountains and beautiful apple orchards. It will make you forget that you're in a country of a billion.
The owners designed and built the place on their own and it took them 10 long years of love and care, sweat and blood. You can feel this in every corner of the castle. The resort also has a swimming pool, a trampoline and lots of other activities.
The food is pretty good and it's an experience to wake up and have your breakfast while looking at the majestic mountains. Have one of your meals by the poolside and chit chat with the owners and their families (including their wonderful dogs). Notable Manali restaurants, Il Forno and Johnsons cafe are just a short walk away.
If I had to pick a flaw, it would be that they don't give complimentary water and the in-house water bottles are pricey. That's it that's the only thing we missed. Otherwise the place is flawless. Stay here and nowhere else in Manali.

Room Tip: Room no. 8 has the best views but the fireplace can't be used as it is too close to the bed! Cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

On our way to Rohtang, our cab driver told us that there were over 1600 hotels in & around Manali which offers stay from Rs 500 to Rs 10000 per day. Where did we stay put?

Well, we stayed here, in The Himalayan, away from maddening crowds of Manali, offering tranquillity.

The property is on Hadimba Temple Road, almost 1.5 kms away from Mall Road ( very crowded place ). Pros: This is well inside and so peaceful that you really wonder whether you are in a city of chaos or someplace else? Con: Its better to have your own vehicle else you will have to shell out every time when you travel. And travelling is not at all cheap in Manali.

We booked a premier room, the only room in the castle which has a huge balcony which gives you stunning looks of snow clad mountains, valley and other parts of the beautiful property.

Castle looks like an old scottish villa, unique and different than most of the properties of Manali. This property is very tastefully done, has a big pool too.( we didnt dare to get in due to tremendous cold and rains )

Rooms are big, the toilets are even bigger. Both were very clean and absolutely spotless.

Hotel provides you a room heater free of cost, but there is a fireplace too and offcourse the fuel / coal is charged Rs 300 extra.

Service is simply superb. And I guess that is the biggest USP of the Himalayan. I would like to mention Ashwini, one of the support staff, who helped us a lot with all our queries / troubles and went extra miles to keep us happy during our stay.

It could have been a 5 star rating, but I am compelled to give 4, because of the food, especially the breakfast.

We paid almost 24K for a premier room for 3N stay with MAP ( breakfast for 2 & any one major meal included ). Although taste and serving portion for dinner was just fine, we felt breakfast was a let down. We expected more than bread, butter, omlette / Puri Sabzi / Parantha over breakfast. We sincerely believe there is a scope of improvement in this section.

We had a trully memorable stay at Manali, thanks to The Himalayan ... It was indeed our pleasure to stay in one of the finest properties of the town

Room Tip: Try & grab their premier room ... only room in the castle which has a huge balcony overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at The Himalayan for 4 nights in April second week of 2013 and are very happy to say that we had no complaints. We took Tripadvisor reviews seriously and decided this was where we wanted to spend our 4 nights in Manali. The reservation process was simple and we reserved via email to Rajesh at the resort.

The resort is located at a height and about 2-3 kms from the private bus stand. It takes ~Rs 150 in a cab from the bus stand to the hotel. Once at the hotel, you would realise it has been modelled on a Scottish castle theme. The hotel has 16 rooms - 8 in the castle and 8 cottages. We stayed in a Grand room in the Castle. The Grand room has a functional fireplace which can be done at an additional charge of Rs 300. The room itself was spacious and offered outstanding views of the snow capped mountains. The furniture was good and resembled how a castle room in the medieval ages may have been like. The bed was great as well and offered a good night's sleep.

The bathroom was a luxury bathroom with a tub as well as a washroom. Toiletries were plentiful but we weren't the biggest fans of the herbal soaps.

Once in the resort to get to Manali mall road was not so easy unless one has a vehicle. We did not have one so we used the short cut from the hotel via the stairs downward and the trek downhill to the main market. This distance would be about 1.5 kms or 20-25 min walk. Uphill may be tougher and does test one's physical fitness. However, the hotel does have vehicles whereby they can drop and pick you up for a nominal fee. The resort can also arrange for local sight seeing for a fee.

We had dinner twice at the hotel and food was good overall without being outstanding. Prices are not very high and we could have a reasonable dinner for 2 for Rs 500-600 for a heavy meal. Breakfast was good as well but had a fixed menu - option to choose from mainly parathas, poori bhaji and toast with butter and jam which was more than adequate for 2 people. However, in case the resort is not full, the food can also be served directly in the hotel room.

The staff of the resort was excellent and could do everything to make one feel comfortable. Ravi, Pradeep and Pyarelal were all very helpful and always had a smile on their faces. All of them did the errand work perfectly and without any complaints.

We paid Rs 5000 per night for a couple for a grand room. The cottages are effectively a one or two bed room with a hall and kitchen which can accomodate 5-6 people. The cottages are also well made and have baconies with verandahs which overlook the swimming pool and have excellent views of the snow capped mountains in the backdrop.

The resort has only recently started their gymnasium which has only 4 machines but is surely functional. The resort also has a spa.

We had no major complain at all. Maybe the location from the main market can be something to consider - but that would be very picky. All in all, a sure shot recommendation - all boxes are ticked - hotel, room, bathroom, food, location and staff. You wont regret the choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property, great views, comfortable rooms, efficient service..what more could one ask for!! Lovely castle with a watch tower offering a birds eye view of Manali.
Would have been good if they had more options on the menu for lunch and dinner..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan

Address: Hadimba Road, Manali 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Himalayan 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at an elevation of 2003 metres & built in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, The Himalayan is an exclusive boutique resort with an al fresco swimming pool overlooking Manali town. Tucked away in its own cul-de-sac amidst an apple & cherry orchard are 8 opulent guest rooms in the Castle (all with four-poster beds & antique armoires) and 8 cottages (each with 2 Bedrooms complete with en-suite bathrooms, dining & drawing space with functional fire place). The Cottage kitchenettes are equipped with all modern amenities/appliances. All cottages have their own cosy gardens, balconies & mountain views. All rooms come with tea/coffee makers, in-room safes & bespoke bath amenities. Bar, Restaurant & In-room dining is available. Croquet, Trampoline & Table Tennis is provided for children & adults alike. Gymnasium is offered on the premises. Additional facilities in the near future will include a poolside Barbecue, conference facilities & Lawn Tennis court. An elaborate Spa will be added subsequently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Himalayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Himalayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.