We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SilverBirch Manali Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SilverBirch Manali Cottage
Save
You added SilverBirch Manali Cottage to your Saves list
Manali - Prini, V.P.O. Prini village | Hamta Road, Near Club Mahindra, Manali 175131, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Manali
Dubai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Visited SilverBirch Manali Cottage from 01 Aug to 04 Aug 2011 with wife and grown up boys. Had identified it from the internet search and Tripadvisor recommendations, and did bookings through the Cottage Web Site for MAP Plan, which is basically breakfast and one more meal per day. (Plus Bed Tea.) The property is far from the city, but there are shops around to get toiletries, biscuits, soda etc if required. Since we had a car hired from Chandigarh for our stay, and were thankful that we were far from the city. The hotel staff had also accommodated the Driver with them, at no extra cost.
The property is exactly as shown in the website, and there are no hidden cost for anything. The owner is a gentleman and very courteous, though he spends most of his time with his other business which is arranging treks and adventure camps. the cottage is managed by his staff, which are always available, and provide prompt service. the cook is very good.
The cook makes Indian and Chinese food, though most of the guest tend to eat Indian. We had excellent Indian food and had a special dish each day like Trout Fish, Chicken and Paneer. The staff was insisting we try the Mountain Goat meat, but could not try it. The Trout and Chicken were especially very good. The property does not have a bar, and does not sell liquor. However you can buy your own alcohol and have it.
The property had solar heaters as well as electric heaters. Being August we did not require to use the electric heaters. The toilets were dry and clean, the bed covers and quilts were clean. In spite of so much wooden paneling, did not notice any insects or bedbugs. The property has a small garden outside, with two swings and garden tables and chairs.
Overall the property was very good and worth recommending to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

We are from Malaysia and we stayed with our family members of 15 people. Their service are brilliant and second to none. Their cook is excellent and that is the main reason that We personally love this place. Its a beautiful cottage and Hiralal is very informative enough whenever we need any advice on our touring in manali. They even have in house massuers. I would highhly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I'd booked the cottage after reading reviews in Trip advisor. We were a group of 2 couples and 3 children. As we were nearing manali i was apprehensive of how the place would turn out to be and me bearing the blame.
To my surprise, the place was such a wonderful delight. First of all it is tucked away from that jostling crowd , traffic jams, honking horns and diesel fumes. As we were getting out of our SUV and getting inside, the warm smiles of the attending staff and that feeling of flow positive energy engulfs you... the place has everything more than what u can expect.

The first thing that strikes u is the cleanliness and the sophisticated ambience. Lawns are well manicured and blossoming big time ... everything around u is sparkling clean. The architectural layout and the interiors are top class. Every small detail has been taken care of.
Furniture is of decent quality and for sure comfy, cozy and most important, very clean.
Each room has a great panoramic view of Hills , has good natural light courtesy expansive glass windows and nice wooden individual balconies. Plenty of storage space ensures that the room always stays as neat as when you checked in. Washrooms are big in size and surely very clean.

Staff is so cordial that u actually begin to wonder , why?? we had great food courtesy Vijay, the chef. infact on our insistence one of the days one had even agreed to accompany us for trekking trail in interiors. We were never made to made to wait for food. and the service along with leaves no room for complaint. The service is so efficient that you always feel that perhaps the tip u gave should have been much more.
On the negative side, you enjoy so much the relaxing time in the cottage that one always gets late for spending time for the local attractions , :-)
They have a very comfortable Scorpio, which we'd hired for visiting the treacherous terrain of Rohtang and beyond. Driver Khem was flawless in handling those curves and bends.
Do remember to plan a day extra for spending the whole day lazying at the cottage probably just taking a small walk around.
If you are adventure loving then check up with the manager for they have their own adventure camps too. worth the experience.
Clearly speaks a great deal of aesthetic sense and the hospitality acumen Mr.Khemraj, the owner has.
I'm incorporating lots of ideas i'd picked up for my soon to be constructed house.
Full marks....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Silver Birch- a place away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We had an comfortable stay at Silver Birch. Its truely great place to enjoy. The spectacular view around the cottage is admirable. The splendid view of mountainous manali is eye catching.

The staff is social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. The food was nice just like home cooked. Would recommend it to everyone coming to manali specially to one who have small kids. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This place is truly a gem...honest pricing.We were 3 families with small children aged 4-10 yrs. I can be pretty fussy when it comes to accomodation especially in hill stations. To my surprise...The place is clean...service is excellent...staff is wonderful. I have traveled around the world....but this place really felt like home...

Room Tip: Great place if u r with small children...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

It was great to stay at this place.. like staying in a large family suite in a five star hotel with dedicated help and cooks...very well located and well maintained..

Mr. Heera Lal Thakur, Vijay, Rajinder and Prem Singh, Bahadur were all great help...and made us feel completely at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Just came back from a 6 day stay at this fantastic cottage, and my Monday blues are getting even bluer since I am missing the place so much. I've stayed in many 5-star properties over time, but this beats most of them hands-down.

I had almost booked us in a hotel in the Log Hut area, when I chanced upon reviews of Silver Birch. Checked out it's website, found it pretty impressive, and just wrote them an enquiry mail. Got a phone call from Mr. Hira Lal Thakur the next morning itself. As I mentioned, we'd almost finalized a hotel by then, but something in the way he spoke to me about the cottage made me rethink. My wife and I rechecked the website, rechecked the reviews, and then, decided to take a gamble and book their Setan Deluxe cottage for 5 nights(Apr 10th to 15th). And the gamble really paid off, and how!

We were received on the 10th morning by a driver, Khem Raj(not to be confused with the owner with the same name), an extremely sweet guy, who drove us to the cottage in their Xylo. The cottage is around 3 Kms from the Mall Road, in a village called Prini. It's located next to Club Mahindra, which, at double it's price, is not half as pretty. Also in the same area are Holiday Inn(beautiful), and Sterling(good location, sarkari looking building). We reached the cottage in around 10 minutes, and were floored at the first look of the cottage itself. It's actually like a dream home that one would imagine making for oneself post retirement. Made from grey stones very popular in that area's architecture, and totally wooden interiors. We had a 2 bedroom cottage on the ground floor, which had a huge living room also. On the first floor is the 3-bedroom cottage, and if you are more in numbers, and can afford it, please choose that, the views are even better from there. And the views from inside...ahhhh, the views...

The beauty of the location is that you get a 360 degrees view from the cottage, totally unobstructed by the concrete monstrosities near the Mall. From the front, you see snow capped mountains, from the rooms in the rear, mountains with dense trees and snow on the top. And you can see the complete Manali town from the window, which looks very pretty at night. Extremely peaceful location, no shor-sharaaba or honking of vehicles.

But the real worth of any place is in it's people, and it's here that Silver Birch is unbeatable. Right from the owner- Mr. Khem Raj Thakur, to the manager Mr. Hira Lal, to our man-Friday during the stay- Rajinder, to the uncle who lit the fire in our living room's fire-place every evening(yes, they have a lovely fireplace, that should be reason enough to go and stay there), every one was so sweet and humble, and made us feel so at home, that we kept thanking our stars throughout the trip that we took up this place.

The food too was amazing, good home-cooked food, but 5-star in terms of taste and presentation. In fact, that is one of the specialities of this place, every small thing has been so thoughtfully done up, right down to the glycerine soap with orange fragrance. All facilities were really comparable to a good starred hotel.

I could go on and on, but work beckons. Will just like to add a couple of areas which could be of concern to some people:

1) The location is beautiful, but it's up a hill, and you need to walk around half a km to a km(downhill) to get an auto to the mall road. We enjoyed the walks thoroughly since that is what we had come for, but slightly older people might not be comfortable with it. While coming back from the mall, absolutely no problem, you easily get an auto till your door-step.

2) It gets quite cold at night, and the bedroom does not have a heater. The fire in the fireplace was enough for us, but I am not sure if a heater is provided if you ask for it.

To summarize, just go for it, extremely nice people, and they will ensure that you have the trip of a life-time. Trust me on this.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SilverBirch Manali Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverBirch Manali Cottage

Address: Manali - Prini, V.P.O. Prini village | Hamta Road, Near Club Mahindra, Manali 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Birch cottage gives you an ultimate home stay feel with its beautiful and a spacious interiors. The interiors are perfectly designed taking into consideration the climatic condition of the place, utmost care has been taken to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are provided with all amenities and facilities required. The carpets and paintings hanging on the walls of the rooms blend with the interiors. The cottage rooms are designed in such a way that you are provided with beautiful view of Manali and its mountains from almost all the windows and balconies. The complete panoramic view of Manali can be seen from Silver Birch Cottage. Since the location of the cottage is little far from the commercially crowded hotels and market place it gives you a exotic view of the surroundings and a feel of paradise on earth, as it is on a higher plane than the other inhabited locations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SilverBirch Manali Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.