We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful team there to make you comfortable at that high altitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldrop Camps Sarchu and Sissu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldrop Camps Sarchu and Sissu
Save
You added Goldrop Camps Sarchu and Sissu to your Saves list
Lahoul Spiti | opp. Nehru Park, The Mall Manali, Manali 175140, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Manali
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful team there to make you comfortable at that high altitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We know Goldrop team for almost 8 yrs now. It maybe our vehicle tours or motorbike tours, its always a wonderful experience at this camp. Looking at the height and location of the camps, its not a easy job to organise things there and we all appreciate the team work and the most important attitude or people working at Goldrop. Nice team and wonderful leader they have.

People travelling between Manali - Leh route, its one of the good options for overnight stay. Do try it, you will like it for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Goldrop during a bike trip... The place was stunning and the hospitality was even better. The swiss tent that I stayed in was clean, comfy and had all basic amenities such as toilet with running water, bathroom etc. The view of the mighty snow-clad himalayas so close to the camp was truly out of the world. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed in Goldrop Camp Sarchu on way to and from Leh - great valley location, fantastic views from the camp.
The fixed tents are a reasonable size with proper beds and attached toilet & wash basin ..... very nice warm blankets & quilts and they'll provide a hot water bottle as well to make sure you don't get too cold!
Power is on by generators in the evenings to provide lighting with a phone/camera charging station provided in the dining tent.
Food was pretty good & plentiful considering the location but choice a bit limited.
A good option for a stay in Sarchu ...... just be aware of and properly manage the altitude issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great location between mountains with basic aminIties .

Things to note.
1) get water to drink from outside as it is costly here
2) it will be too cold at night so get enough winter wear if you plan to stay here
3) carry torch as there would be limited power supply as it runs on generator
4) you will get limited hot water in morning for just face wash .

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in Goldrop camp for 1 night on our way to Leh.
Very nice and tidy campsite, good service and had attached sink, wc and provided with hotwater in the bucket in the morning. We paid Rs1400 for the night inc breakfast (toast) and dinner (veg).
It was amazing to stay in the Sarchu valley campsite just before Sarchu village. The views were amazing. There are other camps nearby so always good to bargain.
Must carry torch as candles/lighters dont work due to lack of oxygen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

we had the most memorable time at Goldrop camps.
I was delighted with the arrangements made for us for our trip to Manali in june. We were so thankful that we had decided to leave all the arrangements to Rajesh Chand, everything went so well, and it made the trip so enjoyable for us We hope to return some day and maybe visit the other area next time. Thank you again for your expertise and your friendly service.All staff was excellent. Their hard work made this tour great.

Regards,
keisham yaiphaba (iliketravels)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow City, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Dear travelers, I want to confirm that all information, which is written on the Gold Drop web site, as well as all reviews on this site - this is the full truth!!! I was in Sarchu camp in June 2012, and the whole heart fell in love with this place largely thanks to the Gold Drop team. The camp is located in a magnificent and quiet place, incredibly comfortable tents with all facilities, clean and comfortable, helpful and timely service. I was really pleasantly surprised at such a high level of service. Before the meeting Gold Drop I never thought that I can find in India so comfortable accommodation. I think that it is really difficult to organize such a high level of camp in the high mountains, in very difficult climatic conditions. But nevertheless they did it. A huge thank to Gold Drop for what they are.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldrop Camps Sarchu and Sissu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldrop Camps Sarchu and Sissu

Address: Lahoul Spiti | opp. Nehru Park, The Mall Manali, Manali 175140, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldrop Adventures is a young and vibrant Travel Company. We are one of the leading Adventure Sports-tour and Camping service providers in Himachal Pradesh and Ladakh, India.Goldrop is a concept of luxury camping in the middle of Himalaya.We have our global standard Camp sites in Sissu (Lahaul-Spiti) and Sarchu (Mid way Manali-Leh). Our Service team is well experienced in their area of operation, which allows our guest to receive impeccable personalized customer service with high quality standards. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldrop Camps Sarchu and Sissu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.