We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull cottages..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Retreat Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Retreat Cottages
Save
You added Retreat Cottages to your Saves list
Hadimba Road, Near Log-Huts, Manali 175 131, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Manali
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull cottages..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The cottages were lovely and were in a gorgeous location. They were clean, cosy and the beds extremely comfortable. Very helpful staff, ready to do the dishes and clean the rooms spotlessly. We went somewhere different every day.The only down-side was having to leave.A truly memorable, restful and relaxing holiday. Cannot wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

we had a grt time in chukki mahant cottages near hadimba road . we took the 3 bedroom cottage and had a memorable stay for 9 days. staff was very curtious ,helpful. 2 min walk and ur in old manali.
great view ,amazing service ,great surrondings. just go for it guys

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Nice Experience - Unforgettable Memories. I stayed here with my wife for 5 days. There are two cottages of Owner in Manali. Log Hut in Manali in town and second in Aleo. We stayed in Aleo studio apartment. Which is very beautiful. I appreciate the living comfort, feeling of luxury, beauty of nature, service and the big thing "Behaviour of Raj and Chuki mahant" because of that we feel it like home. They cared every thing for us, for our need. It was unforgettable trip. I searched this cottage through trip Adviser only, I found every comment very positive on Trip Adviser for this cottage. After that I searched more about cottage and about owner on Google, And I found very interesting thing about them. I read a book "Born in Lahasa" and it was my great luck I personally meet with three character of this book too :) . Specially the Author of this book. Who is really a great personality. I am very thankful of Owner which are very polite and humble couple. And want to say them Raj and chuki. Your cottage is very beautiful and very comfortable, near to nature. :)..... but biggest thing you are really lovely couple.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

we stayed here for 3 nights it was an amazing experience. stayed n new aleo cottages. The resort has five star facility with 3 star rates. the hosts chuki and family r really affectionate d helpful. the working staff r really well mannered d r at our service every time. i want visit ds place again n d future. thanking you
dr. vaibhav , dr. senthil, dr. anitha , dr.yokesh ( chennai)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We booked our accomodation seeking reviews of tripadvisor and checking the website of the owner Chukki Mahant.The owner are nice couple and having two properties, one near the Log Huts and other one at Aleo.The log huts are near the town having very good surroundings and peaceful.The Aleo one are more secluded and a little far from the maddening crowd of the Manali Town.First of all as per the location wise its just simply perfect.Log huts area is the VIP area of Manali, not very far from crowd and though near to all the amenities of Manali. We stayed at the Log Huts property for 2 nights in a 3 bedrooms with attached bathrooms having hot and cold water, a wide living area, dining and a fully equipped kitchen having refrigerator and even microwave and all the utencils.At the moment we stepped into the premises of the RetreatCottages, we were awe struck.The cottages was very neatly done and very well maintained.We were two couple with young children and enjoyed the cottages to the maximum.We cooked our own food in the kitchen and the attendent would come and clean all the utencils and all.Over all it was the best experience we ever had.The stay of ours was simply unimmaginably wonderful, kudos the Retreat Cottages.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMIL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

it is very comfortable.and they have the most amazing views.atish the owner is cool and makes the stay more pleasurable

  • Liked — VIEW
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We visited the cottages just about when they opened. The owner personally greeted us. The entire family was very friendly as if we were their family guest. We stayed in three bedroom unit which was perfect for six of us. There was spacious living and dinning area, nice patio and lawn with canopy. The place is artfully decorated.

Although Manali is crowded for my taste, this location is very quiet, scenic and beatutiful.

We travel fair amount and we rarely see such friendly family (even in India which is generally known for its warmth) and luxury unit.

Note there are two similar sounding cottages owned by the same family. This set of four units is newer and I am told much better than the old. This is near "Honeymoon Resort".

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Retreat Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retreat Cottages

Address: Hadimba Road, Near Log-Huts, Manali 175 131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retreat Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.