We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly managed Resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The River Crescent Resort

Save Saved
You added The River Crescent Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The River Crescent Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2558-1, VPO | Manali District, Manali 175131, India (Formerly Mapple The River Crescent Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 97 hotels in Manali
vadodara
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poorly managed Resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November 2012. Good hotel managed very badly. Has very good responsive helpless staff. Room heating and hot water facility awful. Upkeep poor and no maintenance. Rooms were not checked before allotting. Bath room door cannot be closed. It was a miserable experience on the first day. After undertaking strenuous road travel when we checked in lot of issues in the allotted room. We have to change two rooms. Staff were helpless due to lack of resources. Not fit to be called as even two star facility.

Room Tip: Facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
26
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The best hotel in whole of manali....
The view is just breath taking...stayed at this hotel for 5 days
The rooms (chancellor) are spacious with the best view in manali....I was welcomed with a hot beverage and fruit and cookie basket....
Food is just the best...they gave me a option of ordering food at meal times as I had opted for Jain food....I asked them to make my dinner arrangement in my room and they swiftly agreed to do so...hot water was abundantly available on the exact timings said by them...the heater was working perfectly in the cold climate...wifi facility is also good....in all to sum up it was a superb experience and would recommend this hotel to everyone...

Room Tip: Always book the chancellor room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had been to this hotel on 31st December 2012, First day we did face problems of heater, boiler etc, but once we addressed the issue the response from the staff was prompt and it got resolved immediately the rest 4 days was good fun. The rooms were spacious, good beas river view, cleanliness was maintained. We never had food in the hotel so have no idea about the food quality,but yes overall a good experience with reasonable prices

Room Tip: Well go for Chancellor room as the view is of river side but if more people are there then Duke room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhilai, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this resort during December 2012, the resort had facilities of central boiler and central heater. But both were not working (as told by the staff). The reason maybe the resorts had limited guests at that time and they don't want to waste the electricity for few guests (as they started the boiler second day when we threatened to checkout).
So, we have to manage with buckets of hot water, that too limited quantity (during bathing only, otherwise have to manage with icy water); and room heaters.
Regarding cleanliness also room was not up to mark, the sofa set was stained.
Plus point- food was good, outside view was good.
Advice- Stay there only if there are sufficient guests at the resort (so, that boiler and heaters will work), otherwise you will shiver like us in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Good About this Hotel . 1. Spacious Room .

2. Hospitality

3. Ample Parking .

4. Excellent Food .

Bad About this Hotel . People are dis-honest . They charge you 3 time the money from original price .

2. They backbite about tourists when they talk about over-charging . Bad environment for sensitive people .


3. They dont knock the door before Entering this happened to me 2-3 time .

4. They dont clear charges before checking In . They told us the things are in Fridge are complementary before check in but changed their words on second day of holidays .

5 . Bad Heaters . They create lot of noise in 125 Room Number . I requested them to fix it as it disturbing hours nights . But it was not fixed till yet .

6. Not on time . They dont send things on time .

Room Tip: Clear all charges before checking IN
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I visited Mapple "The River Crescent Resort" in may this year,from the time of booking till i checked out its been amazing,great hospitality from the management team ,best arrangements ,awsome food, food was pure veg and delicious ,, The room i had was spacious and pretty,specially i would like to say thanks to front desk manager and their team for their help throught out my stay ,,, it was a best and awsome experience I ever had.and as many people have written before."The River Crescent Resort" is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making my stay so pleasant

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The River Crescent Resort is a good property facing the river Beas. The staff is polite and try to keep you happy. But the problem is the food in their Buffet breakfast and dinner which is of terrible quality. We stayed there for four days and had all our meals in the hotel only. However we all four of us suffered food poisoning. Although we complained to the hotel managers promptly, there was no follow-up action by them.This is a hotel which had seen it's best days maybe a few years back, it is under renovation and expansion now (also the Mapple group is not associated with them anymore).There is something definitely missing maybe in terms of committment by staff to the overall quality and presentation of the hotel, thus leading to such a food poisoning incident.

Room Tip: Please be sure about the food quality here, before you decide to check in to this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The River Crescent Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Crescent Resort

Address: 2558-1, VPO | Manali District, Manali 175131, India (Formerly Mapple The River Crescent Resort)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 hotels in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Crescent Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The River Crescent Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Crescent Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.