We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at Holiday Cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Resorts & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Holiday Resorts & Cottages to your Saves list
The Holiday Resorts & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Kanyal Road, Simsa, Manali | Manali, Manali 175 131, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Manali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome stay at Holiday Cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I travelled with my wife and kid to Holiday Cottages from Shimla to Manali. We stayed there from 26th to 29th Dec '13. The overall experience was great.

Driving in from Shimla in a car we did not have any trouble locating the hotel as there were good number of sign boards directing us towards the hotel in Manali town. The reception was warm and check-in process was quick. Since our pre-booked Super Deluxe rooms were given to someone else, they upgraded us to a honeymoon suite. The view from the room was awesome.

The food served in the dining area was hot and good. The staff were very courteous and enquired us well. I felt more at home, when the staff regularly asked us if the food was good and if we needed anything else. The room service was also prompt and good. We were also advised on what areas to see and which areas to look out for purchases. Small things like these add a personal touch to the entire experience at the hotel.

We had to check out early in the morning on 29th Dec, around 6am, the staff asked us on their own if we needed any packed breakfast, milk etc. Infact they suggested and gave us milk in a flask the previous night so that we could warm it up in the kettle provided in the room as per our convenience in the early morning.

The distance of the hotel from all major visit points like Hidimba temple, Mall road, Club house etc was just right. Some of the other thoughtful points that I liked were:
1. They had provided slippers in the room which, according to me, are needed as it was winter
2. Room heater provided in the room was perfect
3. I needed a print out of a document urgently and they obliged readily to let me take printouts.

My overall experience was great and I would definitely recommend the hotel for a pleasant stay at Manali

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the higher floors as they are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    86
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
158
201
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is an awesome place to spend time with family. I stayed here in the last April for 3 nights. The resort is perfectly positioned to get awesome view of nature. The cottage is very large like a 3 bedroom house. Each room is attached with bath with star facilities. The service is excellent. Food is prepared as per guest’s requirement. Food is very good. I enjoyed the stay here. Value for money.

Room Tip: Choose middle resort to get better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at the property with my family from the 23rd to 27th Dec 13.The entire experience was great from the moment we checked in.The room was spacious,comfortable,clean and warm.The view from the balcony was something that words cannot do justice to.The service is unobtrusive ,intuitive,very courteous and charming. The buffets laid down for breakfast and dinner were excellent and tastefully done. All in all the perfect destination at Manali....!!!!!!

Room Tip: .Go for the deluxe room,it has that balcony with the view that I'm sure would never fail to plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

i had visited this place on 5th of nov. i have only words for this place fabulous. its feel like that your at home . if iam talking about staff . very friendly . service is excellent , food is delicious , complete package which you want in your honeymoon . i really wish i would visit this place again . and thanks to makemy trip who suggest me this holiday cottage

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I visited this place in mid December' 13 for 4 days.....staying here was a great experience......behavior of the staff was too good....food was delicious and cottage was well furnished and clean. View of the mountains from the resort was breathtaking.....ultimate experience.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Value for money.
Good food
Excellent view from balcony
Well behaved and helpful staff
Rooms were nice and clean
It was quite cold in Nov. but got good heater
Little away from the market but that wasn't really a problem
Over all superb experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had seen only on net the photographs and comments of the persons stayed here. We reached at night by 11.15 but still we were given very good Dinner and all our requests were fulfilled.The morning was very nice . The scene from the balcony was outstanding.The breakfast was very good.Our stay was for three days and we enjoyed the stay. The food was also very good. Only thing which we felt was not upto mark was less space in dinning hall.But a new dining hall was coming up and when they start it will be a good addition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holiday Resorts & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Resorts & Cottages

Address: Kanyal Road, Simsa, Manali | Manali, Manali 175 131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Resorts & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Resorts and Cottages is one the best brand in Manali offering a complete holiday experience. TheHoliday Resorts and Cottages is managed by experienced professionals who have more than 18 years of experience in tourism and hospitality services.Holiday Cottages was started as a home stay venture by Mr. M.C Thakur, a horticulturist and a progressive farmer. Seeing that Manali had suddenly become a hot tourist spot, he built the first 'Holiday Cottage' with three bed rooms in the year 1994. The cottage used to be rented out to families for months together who would prefer their own cooks.He subsequently built another cottage in year 2000 with three more rooms and expanded further with another cottage with four bed rooms in the year 2005.By the year 2005 Manali was well established name as round the year preferred holiday destination in the Indian Himalayas. A generational change was also happening in the 'Holiday Cottages' family and Roshan Thakur, younger brother of Mr. M.C Thakur was getting trained in the hospitality sector in some of the best hotel chains in Northern India.Mr M.C Thakur, after interacting with guests had realised that hospitality was more than offering boarding and lodging. Being a progressive farmer himself he started grooming his younger brother in the hospitality industry. Roshan Thakur started learning the basics of hospitality at Asia Group of Hotels at their resort at Timber Trail in Parwanoo and later at Timber Trail in Manali where he worked for five years.After working with Asia Group of Hotels, he enrolled with Himachal Pradesh University at Shimla to finish his Master's in Business Administration (MBA) and passed out in year 2000.Once completing his education, he was picked up by Choice Group of Hotels who had then started a new property with Quality Inn brand in Manali. Roshan Thakur worked for three years with Quality Inn Manali and honed his skills in the hospitality industry before formally joining the 'Holiday Cottages' family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Holiday Resorts & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Resorts & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.