We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panoromic View of the Snow Mountains and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Resorts & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Holiday Resorts & Cottages to your Saves list
The Holiday Resorts & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Kanyal Road, Simsa, Manali | Manali, Manali 175 131, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book now and get 20% off
Ranked #2 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Manali
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Panoromic View of the Snow Mountains and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

MakemyTrip had organized my entire trip to Shimal and Kullu Manali and they organized my entire tour very well.My Family and me stayed in this Resort for 4 days (29th April to 2nd May 2013) and our stay was excellent. We stayed in the deluxe room of the hotel. Every room there has a panoromic view of the snow capped mountains and green valleys. The service provided by the staff was exceptional, they smilingly cater to all your food demands :)....The cleaniness of the room and resort is very well maintained by the housekeeping staff...Had an excellent time in Holiday Cottages and Resort...A must stay for all planning a Manali tour..Cheers - Sonali Suvarna

Room Tip: Opt for a Deluxe room or if a large family, then go for their cottages..They are execellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    79
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
149
186
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We ( Me and My wife) we stayed at Holiday Cottages for two days and honestly the stay was awesome.......... the rooms are spacious food is delicious and the view from the balcony is unbelievable. I personally recommend this hotel for those who are going to Manali and want to see the real beauty. After my visit one of my friend also went to Manali and I recommended this cottage only and end of the day its really worth it.Next time or every time I visit manali I will definitely stay here only and will tell all my know people to stay there. Keep it up guys. Great Job done. Special Thanks to Mr. Roshan Thakur. My visit dates were from 31st jan- 2nd Feb 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Was on holiday here between 23rd-27th March 2013. Stayed at the 3 BHK (Cottage 1).
Awesome experience because of several factors. Mr.Mehar Chand Thakur (the owner) makes you feel as if you are his family and have come home.Very warm person, ideally suited for the job.
The cottage itself is very well equipped and self sufficient with living area with a fireplace, separate dining and kitchen, two bedrooms at the ground level and the master bedroom on the first floor. Special mention for our personal caretakers Ajit and cook Jayprakash who were assigned to our bungalow. Took great care of us and spoiled us with piping hot delicious meals and prompt service at all times. The icing on the cake was the snowfall we had on morning of 24th March. It seems Manali had snow in the last week of March after 17 years.
Would highly recommend a holiday here. Do keep your own vehicle and book it through Mr.Thakur, rates are reasonable and vehicle/drivers are good, special mention about our driver Santosh Kumar, great job.

Room Tip: 3 BHK Cottage No 1, well furnished , wooden flooring, flat screen TVs in all bedrooms and living are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good services, Owsome food, Best services, Excellent Food, Excellent Hospitality and an Excellent Home Away from Home. They have got a lovely smiling crew to help you whenever required. Food was Yummy. Stay was so cushioned as home that you would not miss anything.

Room Tip: Top floor room will be good for location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I visited Manali from 21-24th March '13. I would rate Holiday Cottages as Excellent Stay, Excellent Food, Excellent Hospitality and an Excellent Home Away from Home. They have got a lovely smiling crew to help you whenever required. Food was Yummy. Stay was so cushioned as home that you would not miss anything. View from my Room was very Scenic(Photo Attached). Was lucky to have snowfall during my Stay :) Mr Roshan Thakur was always there to help as much as he can.. I would recommend everyone to stay in Holiday Cottages when in Manali. A perfect and lovely experience.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms have a good View of the Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Everything is perfect here, Room location, Food, Room services, Room decoration. It was wonderful experience to stay over here. Mr Roshan Thakur Helped us a lot in every aspect of the tour. Thanks to all the owner and stuff of the hotel to make my honeymoon tour into a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I visited manali in January month and sayed in holiday cottages.....it was a great ewxperience.Mr. Roshan thakur helped a lot in every manner...staff is very good....natural beauty surrounding hotel is awsome....food was also very delicious...romms are very higenic....My room was upgraded frrom standerd to deluxe....It was just amazing experience......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holiday Resorts & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Resorts & Cottages

Address: Kanyal Road, Simsa, Manali | Manali, Manali 175 131, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Resorts & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Resorts and Cottages is one the best brand in Manali offering a complete holiday experience. TheHoliday Resorts and Cottages is managed by experienced professionals who have more than 18 years of experience in tourism and hospitality services.Holiday Cottages was started as a home stay venture by Mr. M.C Thakur, a horticulturist and a progressive farmer. Seeing that Manali had suddenly become a hot tourist spot, he built the first 'Holiday Cottage' with three bed rooms in the year 1994. The cottage used to be rented out to families for months together who would prefer their own cooks.He subsequently built another cottage in year 2000 with three more rooms and expanded further with another cottage with four bed rooms in the year 2005.By the year 2005 Manali was well established name as round the year preferred holiday destination in the Indian Himalayas. A generational change was also happening in the 'Holiday Cottages' family and Roshan Thakur, younger brother of Mr. M.C Thakur was getting trained in the hospitality sector in some of the best hotel chains in Northern India.Mr M.C Thakur, after interacting with guests had realised that hospitality was more than offering boarding and lodging. Being a progressive farmer himself he started grooming his younger brother in the hospitality industry. Roshan Thakur started learning the basics of hospitality at Asia Group of Hotels at their resort at Timber Trail in Parwanoo and later at Timber Trail in Manali where he worked for five years.After working with Asia Group of Hotels, he enrolled with Himachal Pradesh University at Shimla to finish his Master's in Business Administration (MBA) and passed out in year 2000.Once completing his education, he was picked up by Choice Group of Hotels who had then started a new property with Quality Inn brand in Manali. Roshan Thakur worked for three years with Quality Inn Manali and honed his skills in the hospitality industry before formally joining the 'Holiday Cottages' family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Holiday Resorts & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Resorts & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.