We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel and best time in Johnson lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Johnson Lodge to your Saves list
Johnson Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit House Road, Manali 175131, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Manali
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotel and best time in Johnson lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

i stayed with my friend and we had the best stay the hotel is so amazing ..the location is good just few meters to the market , the view , the room , the staff all of them and specially Ankita madam was a helpful and the smile on her face for all the customer and all the guys on the reception and the restaurant and the bar stuff were good guys ...The food was so good .... They are very very helpful ....Johnson lodge is completely , absolutely one of the best hotel you can choose for the best stay ..THANKS FOR ALL THE STAFF OVER THERE

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving a great review and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are more than happy to read that you had a great time staying with us. We'll pass on your lovely comments to our wonderful staff who everyday strives to put their best foot forward.

Reading over your write up and hearing that you had the best time at Johnson Lodge really makes us happy. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Manali.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    84
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
88
65
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I think I can easily call this the best vacation that I have had so far... it was the view, the snow, the staff, the food and so many things that made it perfect.
I was planning a vacation for my husband and me on his birthday along with our dog Coco. We had booked a place in Dalhousie and left Delhi. On the way we checked the weather forecast and there was a flood threat, so we thought it a better idea to remain safe and change plans. That's when we thought of Manali. We had stayed in the Johnson lodge for new year's eve in 2012 and were absolutely sure of the hotel being a great option. I coordinated with Ranjit and he arranged for a cake for my husband at such short notice. Not only that, he was so thoughtful that he gave us balloons with messages inscribed on them.
After the warm welcome, we slept off and were greeted by snow the next day. The resort looked so pretty. The icing on the cake was to see the staff being excited about it too.
My dog, Coco went crazy in the snow. The resort is pet-friendly in it's true sense. All the waiters were so friendly with our dog that it made him happier(the snow was making him insanely happy). The rest of the days went by so peacefully and were amazing fun.

By Saturday evening, we were so upset about the vacation ending but it was a little scary to think that if it snowed again, we would have to miss work on Monday too. That's when Ranjit arranged for Sitaram to take our car down to their property in Kullu. The plan was that the next day, he would drop us in his 4x4 gypsy to our car. Thank God for his thoughtfulness, otherwise we would have never been able to make it out with all the snow that happened on Saturday night too.

Overall, I would recommend that you can book this place without a second thought and be ready for an amazing vacation.
Thanks once again for the wonderful hospitality to everyone at Johnson Lodge!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We want to thank you for writing such a phenomenal review. Reading over your feedback made us so happy and we all are glad that you and your family had a wonderful time with us. We would like you to know that we enjoyed all our interactions with your family. It was a pleasure to make your stay with us. We feel truly humbled by your fulsome praise. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location, right on the Mall road. Though this is the off season we enjoyed the stay in the hotel. Ambience of the hotel as per its class is superb, hotel starts with a restaurant which specialises in Italian and Indian food. Italian food here is worth having, they have an Italian chef who makes best risotto but unfortunately during our visit she wasn't there, although one shohld take only breakfast plan if you intend to try their other dishes from menu which are worth trying for, pricing of a'la carte dishes is just fine, it wouldn't give one a heavy pocket, one thing I would like them to change is their breakfast time as their restaurant starts at 0800 in the morning so during check out when you tend to leave by 0700 or 0730 you have to go empty stomach, even a tea could not be arranged. They have two categories of rooms luxury and suite we stayed in luxury and trust me the rooms are very spacious with nice interiors, the most important thing for me when I decide a hotel is that I should have nice and clean washroom and yes this hotel had it, however we thought we would have nice wood fire in the room to keep us warm like they have in their restaurant and reseption but no, we got a tower heater. Wood fire is available in their suite rooms and villa which are two in number. Staff was nice and courteous. I hope during the season time they have 24 hours room service.

Jet Privilege - 151610826

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We'd like to thank you for staying with us and also sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We know we're lucky to be conveniently located close to the Mall Road. This helps our guest stroll down to the market whenever they feel like. We are happy you found our accommodation clean and our staff helpful.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast hours. We'll surely work upon this matter. Though we have placed an electric tea kettle with tea/ coffee amenities in all our rooms. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Manali.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I traveled with my family and lucky got chance to find and experience the Johnson bar and restaurant. Very nice ambiance, well mannered staff and great interior. I had best Smoked Trout Fish and family enjoyed deliciously made pizza.

I will definitely visit this place in my next trip to Manali.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful comment. We're extremely happy to read that you had an enjoyable experience and you loved the ambiance of our restaurant. We're delighted to hear that you liked our smoked trout fish and the deliciously made pizza. We hope to see you again at our restaurant on your next visit to Manali.

Till we meet again, Bon appetit..:-)

Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsad, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

visited Manali this Feb with wife. We stayed here from 2nd Feb to 5th Feb...Yesss...Johnson gave us one of the best service !! We received discount on room rent too since it was off season, but we made that OFF season into FULL ON !

The hotel is just a minute or two by walk from Mall road.....literally ! Hence the location is prime.

Good wifi.

Good bar & restaurant.

lovely & courteous management & staff.

at last..... we received a fresh snowfall on the Johnson lawn as a bonus.

Highly recommendable to everyone :)

Room Tip: Rooms with 300 series are in the topmost floor. We stayed in 304, lovely view we got !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Johnson Lodge and leaving such a wonderful feedback. We are happy to read that you considered our hotel highly recommendable and our staff helpful. We hope you will consider returning soon.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were there on 30th and 31st of jan 2014. The best hotel in manali in terms of spacious rooms, cleanliness , friendly staff , and awesome food. It is very well located. We had amazing time staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Very satisfying to know that you all had a great experience with us. We'll make sure to pass along your kind comments to our team. It really means a lot when guest take the time out of their day to leave a review. We look forward to serve you again on your future visits to Manali.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

i went to manali without booking and was welcomed very warmly by the hotel staff.
rooms very huge with best view of hotel garden and nearest beautiful mountains.
FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND THE SERVICE WAS ALSO EXCELLENT.
5 out of 5

Room Tip: Book on 2nd floor. avoid first room near stairs. DUE TO FEW NOISES AT NIGHT
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post us a review on TripAdvisor. Glad to know you had a 100% experience with us. We try and do our best with the limited resources available at this time of the year. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Manali.

Thank and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Lodge

Address: Circuit House Road, Manali 175131, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manali
#8 Family Hotel in Manali
#18 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 6,726ft in the magnificent Himalayas, Johnson Lodge is a fairy tale lodge set in the heart of Manali. Just a stone throw away from a dense pine forest with an impressive view of the towering mountains and a 5 min walk to the Mall, Johnson Lodge's ideal location draws visitors from all over the world. Johnson Lodge is a fine example of the colonial era with a sprawling beautifully head out garden. Wood paneling and unique art work creates an aura of old world charm. Wooden flooring,rich furnishings complimented by modern amenities make the rooms- a home away from home, a luxurious retreat. Soaked in the space that is accessible to all the adjacent sightseeing points, Johnson Lodge spells charm, delight and indulgence. The Bar and Restaurant at Johnson Lodge offers a wide range of cocktails/mocktails and mouth watering cuisines. The Spa Magnolia at Johnson Lodge offers specialized Ayurvedic treatments that leaves one rejuvenated. And for paws, claws and jaws- we are perhaps the most pet friendly hotel in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Johnson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson's Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.