We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality & Warmth at its best - Dont miss it.. for your own sake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Johnson Lodge to your Saves list
Johnson Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit House Road, Manali 175131, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Manali
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hospitality & Warmth at its best - Dont miss it.. for your own sake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had planned a stay for 2 night and got extended to 4 nights.
I was a little apprehensive initially about staying in here. I wanted to stay in a better property.
But the staff and their warmth proved it all wrong. We have had one of the vacation thanks to the staff of the lodge.
The staff was extraordinary and concerned to the core to make your Manali stay comfortable and memorable.
Their manager - Ranjit guided us to some unbelievable locales n restaurants. His advice about cuisine, locales, restaurants, sightseeing & others was highly appreciative to make our trip memorable. He ensured that all dishes served in the hotel we had were cooked to the best.
Ocean ensured that we enjoyed our stay all across. Ocean gave us one of the best room of the property. And helped guide our daily itinerary to the best
Not to miss Sachin, Ankit , Ankita and others. The staff was full of warmth, caring & love. Never seen in a hotel.
They drooled on our little daughter. IT was like staying in your own bungalow with every one to look after your need.
Besides their property is about walking from the old n new mall. and then secluded from the noise. The view is nice. The rooms spic n span.
Dont miss their Trout Fish- Baked recommended.
Their johnson special pizza is one of the best i have ever eaten out of Europe.
Stay here to make your trip truly memorable.
Thanks guys

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. Your appreciation means a lot to us. It was a pleasure to have you as our Guests, and we are glad that we made your first trip to Manali a memorable experience. We feel truly humbled by your fulsome praise. we hope to have you again on your next visit to Manali.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    84
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
88
65
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stay at Johnson's for 3 nights and I must say many thanks to the wonderful, warm and helpful Johnson's staff. Lovely garden and love the ambience!! We felt at home and at ease at Johnson's and its definitely Johnson's again if I ever visit again. Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. It is always nice to see such an excellent comments about our services, We are glad to know that you had a homely stay with us. We would be looking forward for your next visit.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I was on a 5 day visit to Manali. Have heard a lot about this place so thought to explore a bit. As others have reviewed, baked trout fish is good. Except for the italian cusines which makes no sense. Minus the attitute of the waiter who does't seems to communicate well. Once the order is placed double check what you expect from them. Good to spend time with you friends and family for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at TripAdvisor. Your recommendation to friends and family is much appreciated. We apologies for the way your dining experience was handled. We have taken up your concern with the team and we hope you will have a far better experience next time. Unfortunately, we fail to understand your comment on our Italian cuisine because we serve authentic and typical Italian food prepared by our Italian chef, Roberta.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I went to manali with my friends in September. We booked a room in Johnson lodge, luckily it was Saturday night and it was party night. Enjoyed lot there, homely stay, mouth watering delicacy, good service and pleasant environment. I would like to agai and again there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Our Saturday night parties are well known in Manali and we are happy to know that you enjoyed one of them. We too would like to have you visit again and again.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Undoubtedly one of the best stay, all things are well organised, hotel staff is extremely helpful. Only negative point was Saturday night party, although very good crowd was there but feel tired after Rohtang trip, but thanks to the staff who respond positively by ending the party on time (as promised when we complained).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for sharing your experience at TripAdvisor. We are so glad that your stay with us was one of the best. And yes, we do try to please both the party lovers and those who would rather rest in their rooms. We hope to have you back soon.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed one night in a room (going for trekking in the mountains) and one night in the 3-storey annex. We ate most of our meals in the restaurant.
The hotel is nice, the rooms clean, large and comfy. There are heaters in all rooms which is a very nice touch. We loved the garden and our kids got to run around and play with the staff - which was great (for us anyway) :)
The restaurant served good and wholesome food - not culinary marvels, but good food at a reasonable price. The service was a little slow, but we survived.
The only reason I do not give a 5-star rating is that the hotel needs an all-round refurnishing. The furniture, the walls and the whole "feeling" had quite some wear and tear.
But surely, we will come back to this place if given the chance to visit Manali again.

Room Tip: For a large family or group, the annex is great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for sparing time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope that you will get a chance to come back. We look forward to your visit.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Staff was helpful. Room service was slow. Roberta, their Italian chef made some excellent pizzas and lasagne.
Worth staying again,
major plus point of this lodge is that its just walking distance from mall and other tourist places.

Room Tip: Top floor, interconnecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time off to pen down your experience at Johnson Lodge. Our Italian food is one of the big draws of our hotel. Your appreciation was welcomed by our chef and kitchen staff. We look forward to your continued patronage of our hotel.

With Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Lodge

Address: Circuit House Road, Manali 175131, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manali
#8 Family Hotel in Manali
#18 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 6,726ft in the magnificent Himalayas, Johnson Lodge is a fairy tale lodge set in the heart of Manali. Just a stone throw away from a dense pine forest with an impressive view of the towering mountains and a 5 min walk to the Mall, Johnson Lodge's ideal location draws visitors from all over the world. Johnson Lodge is a fine example of the colonial era with a sprawling beautifully head out garden. Wood paneling and unique art work creates an aura of old world charm. Wooden flooring,rich furnishings complimented by modern amenities make the rooms- a home away from home, a luxurious retreat. Soaked in the space that is accessible to all the adjacent sightseeing points, Johnson Lodge spells charm, delight and indulgence. The Bar and Restaurant at Johnson Lodge offers a wide range of cocktails/mocktails and mouth watering cuisines. The Spa Magnolia at Johnson Lodge offers specialized Ayurvedic treatments that leaves one rejuvenated. And for paws, claws and jaws- we are perhaps the most pet friendly hotel in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Johnson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson's Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.