We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Span Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Span Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Span Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Manali Highway | NH-21, Manali 175129, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Manali
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Really beautiful property. A little far (30 min drive from Manali main town) but worth it. View of the river and mountains is just fantastic from the resort. Very well stocked and cosy bar. Excellent service. A little steep in prices but worth it! (Food is slightly average)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Owner at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, Bar, food and services.

At Span Resort & Spa, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

Best Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    34
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
43
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

span resort is one of the best resort in manali.we stayed in preimium delux room the view and interior of the room is simply superb. we stayed for 4 nights and 5 days here. and enjoyed a lot.
the staff and food is excellent specially jain. i reccomment speccially for jain.staff of the hotel are vary co operative. i think span is the bestest property of manali.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Owner at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our Resort & various Special services at the resort Like Jain Food.

Our aim is to provide the best of every experience to our Guest at Span Resort & Spa, and we shall continue to make it better everyday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best Regards
Span Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

BEST HOTEL/RESORT AVAILABLE IN KULLU MANALI....Just go for it....stayed in a premier room...very good privacy....excellent staff....very helpful in every thing u ask them....love to stay again....Manali is best place to visit in may / june as showers occurs frequently every evening....take woollens / jackets with you its still cold in may....ask staff for river by dining at day time... u will love it....

Negatives:-
1.Premier room is attached with other premier rooms...which some times get noisy....
2.Room cleaning is not good...even room cleaning service don't pick calls...
3.You will not get upgrade or downgrade of room as its peak season...we asked for downgrade as it was too noisy one day due to attached premier room...
4.Watch out for birds...sometime they attacks due to food outside your room...

Positives
1.Lovely staff with amazing service for food and everything u ask them....
2.Best location as it is constructed attached to Beas river...
3.Bathroom / washroom everything perfectly built....
4.Very secure place nothing to worry...
5.Amazing food variety...
6.Superb open garden restaurant attached to river...
7.Variety of games to play with gym...

Room Tip: Premier rooms are great but noisy due to attached to each other by gates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Owner at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

We sincerely apologise for the little inconvenience caused due to birds and noise.

We will ensure the shortcomings are dealt with immediately and shall not be existing in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best Regards
Management Team Span Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The resort is ultimate and its paradise on earth. The staff is very courteous and hospitality is excellent. We booked two rooms and stayed for 3 nights and 4 days and enjoyed a lot. Free from city hustle and crowded places. Ambiance is excellent. The room decor is excellent. The cottages are beautifully decorated and location of river view rooms is excellent. Our room no were 124 and 125. Rooms face river and mountains with snow cover.Food quality is superb. Service is very quick and staff is very helpful and always cheerful.They give VIP treatment to every guest and take care of everybody. Lot of outdoor and indoor activities. Spa is good and Spa staff is also very courteous.Beautiful place to enjoy holidays and relax. I love to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose only river facing rooms (Elite rooms) to enjoy beauty and nature from bed while taking tea in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Owner at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

Our Newly Done up Rooms are undoubtedly the best in town with the best of the amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best Regards
Management Team Span Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

One of the most pleasurable stay we have had in a while. The property is stunning, the rooms are beautiful and above all the staff is wonderful. Meals were prepared on special request, rooms were exchanged to suit us, anything we asked for was provided to us with utmost care and promptness. Left this place with a very heavy heart, my husband and I cannot wait to visit Span Resorts again. We recommend Span most vehemently.
Ekta and Karan Malhotra.

Room Tip: Please ask for Elite Rooms. They face the river that flows through the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Owner at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your heartfelt review.It was indeed a privilege to have you as a guest at our Resort.

We are so glad that we could serve you to your expectations.

At Span we make sure that every Guest is made to feel at home with an immaculate luxury filled with real care and services.

We look forward to welcome you back very very soon.

Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

we were a group of 9 from banglore and chennai.we got to know of this Resort from the NET.
we stayed for 6 days and were treated like VIP.I belonging to a family that owns a Hotel (le meridien) in Delhi was really impressed by all the Depts.The Reception Desk to the House keeping ,.resteraunt etc ,ALL COURTEOUS and ready to all quiries with a SMILE.
Made our trips and sight seeing for the Day etc.
Sonia and her Team were there at all times and went out of there way to look after us.(Good job by Sonia)
The Resort has a super location ,right on the banks of river Beas and the flow can lull any one to a slumber.our room #123 faced the mountain peeks and was a sight while sipping your BED TEA.
A little far from the town of Manali but quiet in its own way.TKS to ALL for a super time.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the river Beas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Owner at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your heartfelt review.It was indeed a privilege to have you as a guest at our Resort.

Your recommendations for our Food and your amazing experience overall adds tons to our encouragement and we tend to deliver even better in future.

The entire management clubbed with our Span Resort team is highly thankful to your amazing review and recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed there for 4 days and to be honest the property is absolutely amazing. The garden spread in acres, the cottages very tastefully done. Infact the property is as good as you would ever want. The biggest problem is their front desk staff which at no point of time did we find very warm and friendly.

On the second night of our stay, at the live bar-be-que, one of our family members was served spoilt paneer, as we would later realise, as she had stomach infection that very night. The next day lunch, the remaining members also had a cottage cheese dish which resulted in almost all of us barring our 2 kids falling sick. We then realised what was the main culprit. We all had severe stomach infection which spoilt last 2 days of our stay there and infact we had to stay back couple of days at a different hotel after checking out from Span as we were not in the physical state to travel back to Delhi. The sad part was that even after informing the front desk staff about the spoilt food and our troubles they were inconsiderate enough to tell us that it was not their food but could be some other reason as no other guest had complained. Yeah right!! 5 people falling sick at almost the same time and it was just a mere coincidence as per them!!

In all fairness, the property, their room service, house keeping, etc was all excellent apart from their front desk staff. All we found them to be bothered was charging for the most trivial things and not owning up for their mistakes. The food in general (apart from the paneer fiasco) was awesome and very heavy being prepared in desi ghee. The front desk was silly enough to call us up the last night to enquire if we would take our breakfast buffet the following morning before checkout. How cheap is that!!

My advice to any future travellers would be to definitely visit the place for the beauty but have little expectation of hospitality or warmth from the people at the front desk.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Owner at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the kind feedback.

Firstly we apologise, incase you felt that the Front Office Staff was unfriendly.

However since we dug the matter, we would like to share the out comings :

In the very The Same instances when you and other family members had Paneer in BBQ and Cottage Cheese the next day, it was served to the rest of the hotel guests as well, but we didn't come across any issues.

It does happen a lot of time that our Guest go out either to Manali Town or Rohtang Pass and consume some food which results in the bad stomach or minor issues.

As a result we always give an option of Packed Meal to our Guest.

Still we take the responsibility of the attitude issue from front Desk, and ensure you that it won't be the case in future.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Management Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Span Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Span Resort & Spa

Address: Manali Highway | NH-21, Manali 175129, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manali
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manali
#1 Spa Hotel in Manali
#2 Family Hotel in Manali
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Span Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Span Resort & Spa is the first and only 5-star river-side resort in the Kullu valley. Convenient drive from Chandigarh, it is further connected by excellent road to the National Capital city of New Delhi. The Bhunter airport at Kullu is just a half-hour drive, and has daily flights to and from New Delhi. The Resort has its own helipad. Resort is spread over beautifully landscaped 10 acres (40,500 sq mtrs). Rooms are designed as cottages to give the guests perfect privacy and also provide an uninterrupted view of the gardens, the Beas River, and the mountains. Other services include Travel Desk, Business Centre,laundry, Doctor on call, Concierge and the Gift Shop. Span also offers excellent meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Span Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Span Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Span Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.