We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush green gardens and very modern luxurious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Span Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Span Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Span Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Manali Highway | NH-21, Manali 175129, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Super Special Offer
Ranked #5 of 97 hotels in Manali
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lush green gardens and very modern luxurious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Very up market resort and superbly mantained. The rooms have just been done up by Sussane Roshan... The rooms are very luxuriously done up. I travelled with my wife and two kids. There was so much to do at the resort it self that we went out sight seeing only one day out of the three days we were there for. Its one of the best resorts I have stayed in and definitely the best hill resort.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our resort and services especially the new rooms done up by Sussane Roshan.
It goes without saying that joining forces with Sussane has brought a tremendous difference, the added luxuries and creativity to the rooms has definitely given an edge over.

Our aim is always to provide our guest with the best of the product and services.

Your generous comments regarding the appreciation of our resort will go a long way to encourage us to do better.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    28
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
66
40
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A perfect place for quiet holiday. Staff is friendly. The Food is very good but limited choice. Bar is well stocked. Went and visited other hotels Span is by fart the best in Manali. There are lots of activities in the resort so one does not really need to leave the resort. I would highly recommend this resort to every one who wants to travel to Himachal.

Room Tip: Choose the Premiere rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are very grateful for the same.

We have also taken your valuable point about the food been great but with limited choice, into serious consideration and shall act upon the same immediately.

Your generous comments and recommendation will encourage us to go far and better.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We , a family of four, including two kids aged 12 and 5 stayed here for three nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. Being from Shimla, We are frequent visitors to Manali and most of the time stay in the cottages of my friend at Raison but this time we opted for span as we wanted a change and relax fully .The check in was smooth, a good cottage was given to us and house keeping staff , in no time, arranged for two extra beds in the cottage for kids.The cottage was good with vernacular architectural style ( cant blame them , span was constructed long long ago ) but plush interiors( has been recently refurbished ) and good toilet .The sit out facing the lawn is the icing on the cake and the hammock was for kids as was the kids play area. The food is great but spread is not as elaborate as one is used to of in a five star property.The staff was courteous and efficient but management needs to train them outside Manali to tap their hospitality passion.The only thing that really upset us was the ambience of dining hall with red and green dragon style table cloth and dining hall looked like some cheap Chinese joint in by lanes of Manali . The famous Trout of Manali eluded us while fishing as well as from the buffet menu ,I hope management treats its guest with this local fish delicacy at least once during their stay .Overall a great experience and thanks to every one at span for this. Rajeev verma

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel and services especially the staff.

We have taken a note regarding your feedback about the linen set up of the restaurant, we are taking it into serious consideration and shall act upon the valuable comment.

Your generous comments regarding the appreciation of our service and staff will go a long way to encourage us to do better.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The location is good with delayed checkin , The front office team is not co-operative , uncourteous and not ať all hoapitable , The rooms are good and view is good with river flowing , The food is good but expensive , The hotel seems tpc be expensive and not ať all value for money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologise for the delayed check in in your case, as normally we thrive on the services that we provide to our guest. In terms of our prices this comes for the first time as we are the only Govt Approved 5* Resort with in the region and all the prices have been kept according to the facilities.
Please be rest assured in terms of an overall wonderful experience, during your next visit.

Best Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Span has a set of lovely cottages by the river. The location was amazing and the property was maintained perfectly. Food was delicious and had a good Indian spread. The staff was friendly and attended to guests professionally. Overall, the stay in Span Resort made our trip to Manali a memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted to have your lovely comments about our resort, services and especially our Food.
Your generous comments regarding the appreciation of our team will go a long way to encourage us to do better.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Luxary stay, excellent location, perfect place for the quite holidays, I would love to go again and again.Kids have enjoyed, almost 12 km from the main market. Good activities near the hotels.The property itself is a luxury but the maintainance makes it even more compelling The food is fantastic,River Beas flowing in the rear of this resort.

Room Tip: Choose the room close to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Your generous comments regarding the appreciation of our team will go a long way to encourage us to do better. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Decided to spend the new year eve at this property at Manali. The booking procedure was fairly simple and my queries were well understood and answered. Though what intrigues me was that they had yet not decided on what was the new year eve line up. Yet I booked an Elite room for 3 nights & 4 days after making the entire payment.
The room was lovely. Close to the river and well laid out & spacious. The wooding flooring was nice and the room was nice and warm as 2 blowers were switched on anticipating our arrival. The bed was luxurious and the sheets & the quilts was nice and clean and very comfortable. The bathroom too was very modern and convenient. Over all a 10 on 10 experience for the room and the decor.
Food:
Food choices were limited but whatever was served was delicious and well made. Request for items outside the buffet were also catered to. However the food did get boring after some time & the gala dinner on the new year eve was hardly gala. But the dining room was fantastic and had a lovely view of the river side. What I was unable to understand was that the famous trout was never served though it was available for room service. I ordered the same on all days and loved the various preparations for the trout. My 2 cents is that the food served in the room was much better than that served at the dining hall.
Service:
Outstanding. All of them were very friendly and nice.
Resort:
Fantastic landscaping. The river side was beautiful and was very well maintained. The jogging track around the resort was well laid out and gave a chance to roam around the entire property.
Negatives:
The resort had organised a gala dinner for the new year eve which was hardly gala and a Himachali dance performance. Well I had already seen the Natti dance at many other resort which organised it as a routine affair and so did not found the same to befit the occasion. Infact the dance too got over very soon and so the new year was spent in the room watching TV. It was indeed depressing.
Due to some problems my driver had to return with the car midway and so I asked the reception to book a taxi for my return trip. The same was done promptly and although I knew that I am paying a premium I did not mind as I thought that the resort would take care to find a reliable taxi. However the experience was attrocious. The driver was extremely fast and rash and kept on talking on the mobile while driving so much so that we met with a serious accident after Swarghat and were lucky to escape with minor injuries. However all the crowd & Police scene was unnerving & I had to use my influence to get out from there and also arrange another taxi. I dont know if the hotel could be said to be at fault but the minimum that I expected was that they could have called the taxi from the Union instead of the private guy and could have atleast ascertained that the driver was a pro.
Inspite of all this I had a wonderful vacation though the occasion was not right. It was a lovely vacation and not particularly a new years eve vacation.

Room Tip: I love the river side and so would suggest to go in for the Elite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSpan, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest, We thank you for your valuable comments like quality of our rooms, service, food and prompt reservation process however we are extremely sorry for just the average experience on the gala dinner, we have taken your feedback into serious consideration and will make sure the same is never repeated.

In terms of the Taxi experience, we are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused during your journey back, the taxi was arranged by the hotel but from the local Taxi Union. Having said that, still the irresponsive behavior of the local driver was unacceptable, for which we sincerely apologize.

We assure you a very pleasant stay and overall experience, next time when you are around in Manali.

Best Regards
Management Team Span
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Span Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Span Resort & Spa

Address: Manali Highway | NH-21, Manali 175129, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manali
#1 Spa Hotel in Manali
#6 Family Hotel in Manali
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Span Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Span Resort & Spa is the first and only 5-star river-side resort in the Kullu valley. Convenient drive from Chandigarh, it is further connected by excellent road to the National Capital city of New Delhi. The Bhunter airport at Kullu is just a half-hour drive, and has daily flights to and from New Delhi. The Resort has its own helipad. Resort is spread over beautifully landscaped 10 acres (40,500 sq mtrs). Rooms are designed as cottages to give the guests perfect privacy and also provide an uninterrupted view of the gardens, the Beas River, and the mountains. Other services include Travel Desk, Business Centre,laundry, Doctor on call, Concierge and the Gift Shop. Span also offers excellent meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Span Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Span Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Span Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.