We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and isolated- great honeymoon experience- Divine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Span Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Span Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Span Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Manali Highway | NH-21, Manali 175129, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serene and isolated- great honeymoon experience- Divine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in Dec 2011. The property was well maintained with great view of the valley. The best part is the privacy u enjoy. Staff were very helpful and well groomed. The riverside lunch is memorable. I requested to arrange a candle light dinner which was arranged in chinese restaurant- memorable experience. Luckily it snowed during our stay and that view was breathtaking. Excellent food and resort. But slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. Also, select rooms towards the riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
85
49
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My 4th trip to Span Resorts, Manali. As always a Memorable experience. Great food, Great setting, Great Hospitality.
Lots to do within the resort..... and then do nothing is great too.

Room Tip: River facing rooms.... garden facing rooms..... its all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Please note that if you book Span Resorts , it is not worth paying a premium for the grand deluxe rooms as the deluxe cottages which are lower priced but have a better location wothin the resort . For its five star rates, the food is rather average! And the resort manager really cannot manage guest expectations. A beautiful property marred by poor customer service!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spanHq, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Our Management sincerely apologises and understand your feelings and appreciate your comments and suggestions. We will offer you 25% discount on your next visit so that we can match up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We spent 6 nights of our summer break in Manali at the Span resort and spa. We were advised to take the premier rooms as we required inter-connecting rooms and they had them in this category. The rooms were spacious ( apparently recently renovated) and well equipped. Though each room varied in size and layout since they are housed within a cottage, they had almost everything you would need. King size beds, large bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs and separate shower stalls, a sitting area and a desk. Some even had a small breakfast table. Large flat screen TVs and hot water kettles were provided. What I found missing and couldn't understand why, we're the safes in the room. The highest category of rooms didn't have safes while the others did have them!!! So that was difficult not having a space to leave valuables.

The property was stunning along the river Beas and the greenery was inviting. The leisure activities and spa were used by our family constantly and brought great joy.

The food was good and the waiters were more than happy to help at all times.

All in all, a perfect hotel for family holidays.highly recommend it!

(minor problems - safes in room, hot water sometimes erratic.)

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

just went there for four days and the entire experience was just amazing. the place itself is beautiful the river running along the hotel just added to the beauty. the food was also excellent.
breakfast and dinner was included in our package the spread in the buffet was good.
if u go with kids the hotel has a lot of activities also to choose from tennis to paintball to table tennis. the rooms were quite spacious and the room that we stayed had an opening in the garden and one could hear the river beas flowing. and from the garden the view of the snow peak mountains was breath taking. the service was very prompt and courteous over all it was relaxing and a memorable experience. for people who like the mountains its a very nice place...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful resort.. Well spread out cottages, excellent surroundings....
Going there from the pollution & noise of Mumbai, you might just fear that you don't die because of extreme peace & oxygen overdose!!!!
Food is also good, & service is decent.
One might find it a bit pricey, but its worth the price for the relaxation.
The Spa was closed when we were there, maybe because of low occupancy as it was an off-season. Also, they need to install a heater of some sort in the bathroom as it gets too chilly especially in the mornings!!!
Must be one of the best resorts in India!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Span Resort & Spa is situated around 10-15 kms from Manali and is a great holiday option. Our travel was booked by Manaliwonder.com and they were helpful in designing a budget package starting Delhi.It saved us costs and also troubles in arranging all the stuff.We are glad that we chose Span resort and spa.

Individual cottage styled rooms and all rooms are different. Theres a small sit-out are outside every cottage. Great to relax with a cup of steaming hot tea or a glass of scotch(whichever one works for you). One should try the cottage right next to the river. It felt great to have your breakfast sitting out in the Sun right next to river Beas. Unforgettable!!! The rooms are pretty comfortable and well equipped with wifi, DvD players etc.

A lot of recreation facilities at the resort to keep you busy and entertained. A gymnasium, swimming pool, tennis, badminton, carom, table tennis, mini golf, walking track, library and cycle on hire to name a few. Not to forget the Spa as well

Having given the good points about Span I would like to mention some of the disappointments. The food. Although not that the food was foul or anything but dont expect fireworks. Just average fare at steep prices. I advise to skip taking all 3 meals ( tk 2 max) here.Infact we found ourselves trying alternative eating joints by the end of the trip.

Another thing is that if you opt for Span make sure you have your package booked. We thankfully had but came across a lot of people who had to arrange for taxi for sightseeing , rohtang etc which was costly.

So all in all a great place to relax and unwind for couples or family but comes at a price. And putting the food aside is worth it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Span Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Span Resort & Spa

Address: Manali Highway | NH-21, Manali 175129, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manali
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manali
#4 Spa Hotel in Manali
#10 Family Hotel in Manali
#11 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Span Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Span Resort & Spa is the first and only 5-star river-side resort in the Kullu valley. Convenient drive from Chandigarh, it is further connected by excellent road to the National Capital city of New Delhi. The Bhunter airport at Kullu is just a half-hour drive, and has daily flights to and from New Delhi. The Resort has its own helipad. Resort is spread over beautifully landscaped 10 acres (40,500 sq mtrs). Rooms are designed as cottages to give the guests perfect privacy and also provide an uninterrupted view of the gardens, the Beas River, and the mountains. Other services include Travel Desk, Business Centre,laundry, Doctor on call, Concierge and the Gift Shop. Span also offers excellent meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Span Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Span Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Span Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.