We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute bliss on the bank of the Beas!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Span Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Span Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Span Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Manali Highway | NH-21, Manali 175129, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An absolute bliss on the bank of the Beas!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful resort.. Well spread out cottages, excellent surroundings....
Going there from the pollution & noise of Mumbai, you might just fear that you don't die because of extreme peace & oxygen overdose!!!!
Food is also good, & service is decent.
One might find it a bit pricey, but its worth the price for the relaxation.
The Spa was closed when we were there, maybe because of low occupancy as it was an off-season. Also, they need to install a heater of some sort in the bathroom as it gets too chilly especially in the mornings!!!
Must be one of the best resorts in India!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
85
49
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Span Resort & Spa is situated around 10-15 kms from Manali and is a great holiday option. Our travel was booked by Manaliwonder.com and they were helpful in designing a budget package starting Delhi.It saved us costs and also troubles in arranging all the stuff.We are glad that we chose Span resort and spa.

Individual cottage styled rooms and all rooms are different. Theres a small sit-out are outside every cottage. Great to relax with a cup of steaming hot tea or a glass of scotch(whichever one works for you). One should try the cottage right next to the river. It felt great to have your breakfast sitting out in the Sun right next to river Beas. Unforgettable!!! The rooms are pretty comfortable and well equipped with wifi, DvD players etc.

A lot of recreation facilities at the resort to keep you busy and entertained. A gymnasium, swimming pool, tennis, badminton, carom, table tennis, mini golf, walking track, library and cycle on hire to name a few. Not to forget the Spa as well

Having given the good points about Span I would like to mention some of the disappointments. The food. Although not that the food was foul or anything but dont expect fireworks. Just average fare at steep prices. I advise to skip taking all 3 meals ( tk 2 max) here.Infact we found ourselves trying alternative eating joints by the end of the trip.

Another thing is that if you opt for Span make sure you have your package booked. We thankfully had but came across a lot of people who had to arrange for taxi for sightseeing , rohtang etc which was costly.

So all in all a great place to relax and unwind for couples or family but comes at a price. And putting the food aside is worth it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vapi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at Span Resort & Spa for 4 Nights. The moment we entered after 7 Hrs of driving from SHIMLA, we were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome & were directly guided to the rooms. Rooms offered excellent view of river Bias. There were lots of activity for Kids and adults. The quality and variety of food offered was beyond our expectations. They do have a nice walking trek of 1Km covering their entire property. After visitng Manali and sight seeing some of the other locations, we all firmly beleive that this place is the BEST in Manali. You do NOT need to go elsewhere in MANALI if you are staying at SPAN. Will certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Go for Rooms facing River Side. Room No.125 /124.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I am very impressed by their prompt response and efficient services rendered. The experience was pleasant right from the check in - check out. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed staying at the Span Resorts, Manali.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

i recently stayed for 3 nights at the property, During reservation i clearly told the Span Representative to give me the best Rooms in the property since i wanted privacy and peacefull atmosphere. I was told to pay for the Exclusive Premier Room 100% in advance which i did i.e approx 52000 MAP plan for 3 nights.i was promissed a excusive room with full privacy and excusive Patio/veranda and Garden. Upon reaching the property i was giving room number 151 which to my horrow was a room under a wooden staircase on which other guests kept going up and down. Plus the room had carboard walls from the common area staircase. There was no piece or privacy in the room. Further to add salt on the wounds i room neither had any private patio or veranda or garden. Whenever i would sit outside other guests would brush past me and go to their rooms above my room. I feel totally cheated and Disgusted with this resort. Hope my experiance helps other is deciding their vacation.

Room Tip: Never choose a premier Room .............its a SHAM....infact its the worst rooms in the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spanHq, Manager at Span Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Your opinion and suggestions are very valuable to us, especially regarding the room facilities to ensure the best experience for our guest. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Our Management will offer you 25% discount on your next visit to Span and we welcome you again.
We hope your next visit will be a memorable one. We appreciate your timely feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

They provide the facilities of 24 hours room service for customer’s gastronomical satisfaction. The Manager ensures the availability of round the clock taxi services and laundry in addition to hot water in bath to cater to customers personal needs. The sitting room is elegantly styled and designed for maximum comfort.best side seeans.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

the whole experience was awsome. river flowing by the side of the resort. spa experience was also nice. one mistake they have made i wud like to mention. our stay was of 3 days including b/f and dinner. we reached there at 11 a.m. we waited til the room get prepared for us. in the mean time manager suggested us to take the breakfast as it was going on. we were very tired so just taken a glass of juice. on third day of stay after when we had taken the breakfast we were told that it was chargeable for that particular day because we had done the breakfast on arrival. he told only three breakfasts were to be given by them in the package, which were taken by us. i asked why they haven't told this thing on the arrival or when we have started the breakfast from the buffet on third day. if it is going to be chargeable we should be well aware of it before ordering so that we can have those things which are not in buffet. they were not ready to accept that some mistake has been made at their end in serving us. so not to spoil our holiday mood we had decided to pay what they want. i suggest do clear all the package things with them well in advance to avoid later arguemets. rest was all nice. i feel it is the best stay place in and around manali

Room Tip: rooms should be away from river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Span Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Span Resort & Spa

Address: Manali Highway | NH-21, Manali 175129, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manali
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manali
#4 Spa Hotel in Manali
#10 Family Hotel in Manali
#11 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Span Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Span Resort & Spa is the first and only 5-star river-side resort in the Kullu valley. Convenient drive from Chandigarh, it is further connected by excellent road to the National Capital city of New Delhi. The Bhunter airport at Kullu is just a half-hour drive, and has daily flights to and from New Delhi. The Resort has its own helipad. Resort is spread over beautifully landscaped 10 acres (40,500 sq mtrs). Rooms are designed as cottages to give the guests perfect privacy and also provide an uninterrupted view of the gardens, the Beas River, and the mountains. Other services include Travel Desk, Business Centre,laundry, Doctor on call, Concierge and the Gift Shop. Span also offers excellent meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Span Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Span Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Span Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.