We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but nothing exceptional abt anything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas to your Saves list
Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Sunny Side, Chadiyari, Manali 175 131, India (Formerly Ambassador Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel but nothing exceptional abt anything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I had been to the Manu Allaya with my friends & family last week.The bookings were done 2 months in advance from Manaliwonder.com after deliberate research and comparisons.We got a good tourpack with Volvo , meals, etc & it ws nt expensive as well.Manu Allaya was selected on the basis of reviews on TA
First impression was not an extraordinary experience but it wasn’t bad either. Because we were travelling non stop from Surat to Delhi and then Manali, the steep entrance up to the hotel didn’t help. Thing’s looked better upon reaching the reception area, it was very well made, classic types. We were welcomed very courteously with a lot of warmth.
Because the hotel is at some some height, it has some amazing views to offer, perhaps the best thing about the hotel. . It is quite an old property and experience and heritage show. It in a way quite old school heritage kind of a place . Rooms are quite spacious and clean, wooden furniture and fixtures gives this hotel a great look. The bathrooms too looked luxurious with the fiitings they accommodated.
The hotel was running full and hence we could hear lots of noises from the narrow balcony for a 5 star hotel. As far as the food is concerned, there was nothing special about it, although the breakfast did have a lot of variety but the vegetarian options in breakfast finished an hour before breakfast time, which was very disappointing for the hospitality of any 3 or higher starred hotel. The service too was lazy to say the least, took them some time to respond.
The hotel has a sports room as well and most sports were charged. There was a T-T table but very less space to play properly. The pool table though was nice. There is a Spa too, nothing much special, still nice place to relax.

summing up I felt, it’s a nice place for the couples and people who like to stay away from the crowd, but still you would expect better things.We are not complaning though as tour operator did a very good job with cheap rates and all.So 3.5 stars for overall trip

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor give a good valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    75
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
106
94
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

manu allaya formally ambassador resort when i went there in 2011 on my honeymoon. we were booked for super deluxe suite I was surprised to see the room it was very big and beautiful. food was awesome. room service excellent. all staff was very helpfull.i remember on all four days i have seen housekeeping staff cleaning the hotel very well. well maintened restaurents, gardens, activity halls, gym, spa. everything was so perfect that i dont have words to explain it. i wish to visit again to manu allaya.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Was ter for 3 dayz and wow...... gud location lovely ppl around and fantastic hospitality...... not an 5 star rated hotel but... I must say one of the best hotel in Manaali to stay..... such a lovely scenic view from hotel and the ppl were so helpful when and were required. I must say that tis hotel rock...... wil be ter for another trip as wel ;) Certainly a MUST recommended hotel for my friends and well known acquittance

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights , the Location is the best in Manali with great views, The moment you enter this hotel you know you have taken a right decision to book this hotel.

Though its way to costly compare to other Manali hotels, the view from Hotel is the Best in town, and Great rooms with all the modern amenities.

Food is also good.

But the good part ends here. Now for the main part and the worst, Its service.

To start with, they claim to have 24 hours hot running water, in our entire stay not a single minute we could get a hot water.

Though centralized heater is available it was kept off as there were only 3 rooms occupied. 2 of them were booked by us. They have provided us with small room heater, mind you the outside temperatures were around -1 to -3 degree Celsius at night.

On first day of our stay around 2 pm the power got off, we waited for 20 mins in freezing cold expecting they will turn the generators on . I was travelling with 70 year old parents and 4 year old daughter. When I called reception I got the answer that power will come soon, when I asked why generator is not starting they said it operates only at night.

When I told them that I will write to the travelling websites about this third class service also take them to consumer court for cheating they started the generator , thankfully this trick worked for next 2 days the moment power went the generator got started in 3-4 minutes.

Since this Hotel is on hill side it has a narrow road, and during snow fall only 4 wheel drive Cars can reach the hotel from the main road which is around 1km drive. The Hotel says they have their own cars to get the tourist up to the hotel or back to the main road. Again this turns out to be false.

While checking out they refused to give us the Maruti Gypsy sighting some foolish reasons. As our car could not come up due to snowfall in the morning. We did asked hotel to arrange a Gypsy from outside and we were ready to pay the desired amount but they plainly refused saying they don’t have any contacts of local Car hires which is unbelievable as this is only 4 star hotel in Manali.

Anyways I browsed the net and found a car operator in Manali who arranged Gypsy with minimal charges and trust me the Gypsy reached the site in only 30 mins from Booking.

We will never stay in this Hotel again. Unless the Staff understand the meaning of Service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We got a three night package for a deluxe suite (Rs 21,000 in off season) which included breakfast and dinner. According to my experience of three days in this hotel I am putting this review.
The Good things i will start with first
Location of the hotel is nice.
Room 261 we stayed in has nice balcony view that was good we like it.
The bed was comfortable.
Lots of wooden work in the room.
Room was clean.

Bad things:
The package which we had included breakfast and dinner but were never informed as to what was / what was not included in that package and were therefore charged unnecessarily for certain dishes that we had ordered.
Room service person who was answering the phone calls was rude and was not happy to serve our food in the room.
No wireless internet and the Cable TV was provided to us on the last day of our stay, despite our repeatedly calling the house keeping staff.
Equipment in the bathroom was quite old and the shower did not worked properly. Bathrooms are not well designed.
We kept complaining about the above mentioned things to the reception staff but they never bothered or paid any attention to our complaints.

WE are writing this because we had spent a reasonable amount of money (close to Rs 24,000 including room rent, food etc) but were not satisfied with the hotel staff and services. They do not believe in customer service and want to make money from wherever they can.

Room Tip: If you are spending reasonable amount of money and looking for luxury, then PLEASE take my advice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

omg what a place to stay!!!
yes, every one in our group said this.
we are totally a group of 5 couples planning a memorable trip & i have been asked to organise the whole trip.
i just when through all the hotel websites & spoke to many of them & @ last i was attracted by the photos of manu allaya in trip adviser and went through the reviews which had made us more closer & at last we finalised the rates for the rooms with map plan which i thought was little higher.
but everything went shatterd when we saw the property masha allah what a place to stay, with that quality of service i say the price is nothing.
food is very important for a happy holiday
they prepared food specially for us as we asked for hallal foods & i had never seen such a hospitality in my life time.
to our surprise they asked the menu to be served where as in an map plan usually all the hotels just provide some standard menu where we felt repeated with the same items.
one thing is clear with manu allaya their motto stands to provide their guests with a
JOURNEY OF A LIFE TIME.
TIPS: friends prefer travelling during jan & feb u feel like being in heaven, book your rooms along with food, its exceptional & dont miss those gulab jamuns.....

Room Tip: we stayed in balcony rooms & that seems great with the view from the bed so dont miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, Pondicherry, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were a crew of 10 ppl from chennai. On our tour plan to manali,we booked this resort online for three nights/four days......we had no big expectations formerly....but, at the moment we reached the resort....it was like a wonderland, with snow snow & only fluffy snow allover!! we had a grt time enjoying....playing....chatting....eating!!! the food they served was awesome....their service & cooperation was extraordinary.....& beyond expectations!!!

i suggest this resort for good service & lovly location!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas

Address: Sunny Side, Chadiyari, Manali 175 131, India (Formerly Ambassador Resort)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manali
#2 Family Hotel in Manali
#3 Spa Hotel in Manali
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MANUALLAYA- The Resort Spa in the Himalayas is situated in the tranquil green area of Manali, Himachal Pradesh. The location of the resort gives you a fantastic view of the Beas Valley and the majestic snow clad peaks at the Rohtang pass. The architecture is inspired by the local influences and provides a luxurious and comfortable atmosphere. Six and half acres of gardens have been landscaped at different levels to offer a feeling of tranquility and peace. Two natural streams on either side of the resort really enhance the ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manu Allaya Hotel Manali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.