We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parvati Valley : On way to manikaran” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parvati Valley

Parvati Valley
India
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Parvati Valley : On way to manikaran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Enjoyed part of the paravati valley on way to manikaran. The journey along the side of parvati river was thoroughly enjoyable. Took some stoppages in few places like Kasol to enjoy the nature.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kullu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“one of the most amazing valleys. Pure and virgin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

One of the most bueatiful valleys i have ever seen. The serpentine valley with its thick forest , amazing flora and fauna, the gurgling Parvati , crystal clear streams , snow peaks is the place to rejuviniate and be one with nature. The valley offers one of the most amazing treks like kheerganga , Chandrakhani pass , Pin pass , Rashol , seosar to name just a few. The places on these treks are so bueatiful that at times you need to pinch yourself to believe waht you see. The crystal clear water bodies on the tops and the ethnic villages on the way can be mermerisisng. This valley Tapobhoomi of shivshamboo is a magnet you can't stay away from it for long. The a

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Parvati Valley, a region of multiple significance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Parvati Valley in district Kulu of Himachal Pradesh, is very beautiful . It is very narrow with mountains rising steeply on both sides , allowing sunlight for lesser time than all other areas.
The striking feature is Parvati river which hurls itself down the steep mountains at an incredible pace, with loud sound of flowing water. Other significant spots of the valley are;

1. Kierganga, an important pilgrimage place for devotees of Lord Shiva. It is believed that
Lord Shiva sat here for a very long meditation.
2. Hot water Springs and Gurudwara Manikaran sahib
3. Spectacular Passes to be walked from Parvati for entry into Malan Valley

Parvati Valley is also famous for high quality Cocaine , thereby very popular among
those travelers , who wander in search of the drugs. There have been cases of tourists
getting lost mysteriously in high mountain altitudes. Therefore this region is under heavy
Police surveillance.

As a result of all above contrasting features, Parvati Valley , though is very beautiful , is
also considered little sinister.

For nature lovers , however, Parvati Valley is no less than the paradise.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Parvati valley in Northern India not only for young people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Parvati valley in Northern India not only for young people
We walked a while ago my wife and I (aged 50 +) in northern India in August. Young people we know very recommended that we get the beautiful Parvati valley, but warned us that there are also quite a few drugs, and disappeared a few tourists. We reached the beautiful city of Manali and Parvati Valley near, debating whether to visit there for us, after we consulted with a number of local Indians who know the place very well, we decided that we go there though more safely. The night before the trip, we asked the owner of a local car stand beside our guesthouse at 6:00 am, we gave a pre-trip program, he agreed, as we agreed upon payment, including car, driver and fuel (the price was very fair).
We left the morning Parvati Valley Manali direct (one hour drive), we entered the valley, and began to dream trip. Incredibly beautiful valley, is relatively narrow as 1.5 km wide on average. Center flows a great river, in a narrow, winding channel, and water flows with unusual intensity. Along the river there are three hydroelectric power stations that produce electricity from the flow of water. There is one road along the valley , and on the most beautiful villages in all. on both sides of the valley there are mountains and huge cliffs, situated at an altitude of about - 5 - 6 km, and their peaks have perpetual snow. All evergreen valley full of trees and fruit orchards and rice vegetables, so do all the mountains around. Down in water about 3,000 mm per year, so everything is green and water flows everywhere.
We got a nice town to town cassoulet and central valley, we walked around a little in the shops and restaurants are nice, then we went to the observation point to the river is very impressive, there is a narrow bridge from which to cross the river, the old part of the village. Around the village there are many fruit orchards and small plots of land they grow vegetables. Then continue our journey of about fifteen minutes to the town Mnikran, the town is the northern side of the river, and several bridges crossing the river into town. Mnikran jobs and charming relaxed atmosphere, the main street there are hot springs and hot, you can wash them instead regulated carefully. There are numerous guest houses some low-level and some at a good level for tourists. Along Main Street there is a long market, relatively cheap and interesting. There are special tree works can be found there many, wood carvings, wooden toys, wooden housewares and more, all very reasonably priced. You can see a Sikh temple in the village center well say that you can stay and stay.
From there we drove east and climbed Poleg town, located near large hydroelectric power station built on the great river. A very traditional town, many houses of wood and stone, moving around on foot from village houses, few modern things it has. Those who wish to stay in the village, there are enough guest houses, some at a reasonable level. In quite a few fruit trees, including many local apple trees.
From there we drove on a dirt road toward the village marker, which is the end road for cars. Entrance to the village we stopped and went for a walk along the village houses. The view from there is amazing. Because of the height of the village, many times we were really in the clouds. A lot of water running between houses and big river below. We walked between the houses of the village when it was raining on us all the time. We opened umbrellas and raincoats went on a trip as usual. Part from the roofs covered with black tiles, made of local stone facing rain. The houses are painted different colors. In some animal houses are on the bottom floor and the family lived upstairs. We asked to get in, and despite the distrust of strangers, the family invited us in, where we ate with the family and they thanked us very little money we had left them a thank you for your hospitality. After we returned to the city of Manali.
This trip can be a very long day, you can do it comfortably even two or three days, then you can add two more important villages: Lena Village - a village where the villagers are careful not to touch strangers. And village Krigngh located just on the eastern side of the valley, accessible only by foot walk of about five hours, but the place and the amazing landscape worth every effort. Throughout the trip we took care to always go two together, and never alone. And sometimes we were joined by tourists from different countries which increased our confidence.
In conclusion, we strongly recommend visiting the Parvati Valley in the Himalayas of India.
Akiva London

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parvati Valley also viewed

Himachal Pradesh, India
Kullu, Himachal Pradesh
 
Kinnaur District, Himachal Pradesh
Kullu, Himachal Pradesh
 

Been to Parvati Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parvati Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.