We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic property, perfect host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banjara Camps - Thanedar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Himachal Pradesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banjara Camps - Thanedar
Save
You added Banjara Camps - Thanedar to your Saves list
Thanedar | Dist. Shimla, 172030, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bombay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic property, perfect host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is at the Banjara Orchard Retreat in Thanedar that you experience the famed hospitality that Himalayan folk are known for.
Thakur Prakash the owner is a gracious host and makes you feel at home the moment you arrive. The log huts have stunning views out over the mountains and the highlight has to be sipping hot masala tea out on the balconies during cold mornings.
Another highlight is the bonfire on the lawn.
Sharmaji the head of staff is courteous and tries to accomodate all food requests and his team in the kitchen is quite talented when it comes to dishing up various dishes and deserts.
You need to spend about three nights here to fully explore the region and partake in the fabulous walks that Prakash Thakur will gladly take you on.

Room Tip: Choose the upper log hut. It has superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent just one night at this property. The rooms here aren't extraordinary but they are more than bare minimal and most importantly, warm and comfortable. They have a bonfire in the evenings which is a great way to interact with the other guests over hot soup and pictures clicked in the day.
Food is wholesome and nutritious and tasty without doubt. But don't expect anything lavish and extravagant and you will be mighty pleased.
Power cuts are common and they do provide emergency lights but it is always good to have your cell phones/torches charged.
They do not provide room service and this is norm for all the Banjara properties. So it is best if you do not expect!
The packed lunches they provide are pleasantly surprising right from a bottle of apple juice to sandwiches along with ketchup sachets and neatly rolled subzi-rotis, the portions are gigantic.
Banjara Camps, thanedar is a great place for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Turn on the geysers for hot water as soon as you enter the room. You never know when the electricity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I went to Banjara Orchard Retreat, Thanedar during 4th week of May, 2013 accompanied by my wife. This was our honeymoon trip into the Himalayas. I came to know about this property through tripadvisor and was highly impressed by seeing the property. We started our journey from Chandigarh in the morning and reached Thanedar about 5-6 hrs later. We were lucky to get a light shower on the way and hence sky was very clear after that. On reaching Banjara Orchard, I was very excited to see the property. It was a small property but an elegant one. We met with the manager Sharma Ji and with the property owner Mr Prakash Thakur and they guided us to the room. We were given a deluxe double bedded room - Apple Room and they told its the best they have right now. The room was awesome and cozy and we got an beautiful view of the green valley. From the room, we could see the entire green valley (as almost an entire wall was made of glass window) and from the attached balcony we were looking into snow capped peaks. It was one of the best rooms we ever stayed.
Apart from the room and location, the food was also too good, especially the apple chutney and the fresh cherries that were plucked and served directly on breakfast. The property also has one carrom board, chess board, library for boarders, swing and many more things for time pass.
Thanedar, as a place is very calm and serene and hence it made us spent a wonderful holidays in the Himalayas. The staffs and crews and very good and always eager to help the boarders. Also Mr. Thakur accompanied us in a Saroga Forest walk in the afternoon and we spent wonderful time talking to him.
As per me, I would rate this property as 5-Star based on the hospitality, location and amenities provided. But keep in mind that none of the rooms has a TV and room service is not available unless you are travelling with aged peoples.

Room Tip: Go for apple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

While going to Sangla for our holiday we were booked in Banjara Orchard Retreat, Thanedar for a night. We had picked up the log huts and were really anxious as they were quite expensive.

When we reached there in the evening it was raining and we had just experienced hailstorm. We were wondering what to do, as the resort is a located at a level lower than the road.

Suddenly we were surprised to see 3 boys from the resort with umbrellas and we along with our luggage reached the resort safe.

We were served tea inside and the view was incredible.

In the evening there was a bonfire followed by the dinner. The owner Mr. Thakur sat with us throughout the bonfire & Mr. Sharma and his team made sure we were comfortable all the way.
The food is cooked home style. In breakfast they serve their own apple juice and cherries.
We were so impressed that we spent another night while we were returning from Sangla. But by that time the temperatures had gone up due to the heat wave in North India and it was quite hot in the afternoon in the log hut. I have suggested that they put curtains on the windows and I do hope they pay heed to my suggestion.

Room Tip: Try and book the log huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed there on 13th and 14th April. The expectations were high as was the price. The package was at INR 5000.00 per day with stay + 3 meals for couple and 2 kids (aged 3 & 9). Opted for a family suite (Cherry Suite) which has a living room + bedroom + toilet + Balcony. The suite is ok with wooden floor, no TV, No phones. The place has a no room service policy (not mentioned before we checked in- Its required with kids)

The Goods - Ambiance / Clean Air / The owner - Mr Thakur (Helped me with his laptop) / Food quality / the serving team / Valley Views

The Bads - Breakfast will end at 10 am / Dinner at 10 pm (Are you joking.....Are we on a vacation at a army camp) They will keep reminding you every 15 min until you say yes/no for food inside these timings....Looks like sleep deprived overworked or over planned staff. Only 10- 12 rooms and their plea is that they have to start preparing for next meal. I asked for soup and dinner for the younger daughter in room (which they supplied). Then my wife asked for a heated water cattle + 4-5 tea bags with a mug in the room (which they supplied with a little unwelcome gesture). Then I asked for a drinks glass + ice bucket in the room (which they supplied with they did not like either). Then I asked the manager for a plate of salad in the room and the pain became visible. He told me not to ask for things in the room as they have other guests who will start emulating and they only supply in the dining room or in the lawn.

Mr Thakur, please educate him that a single man cannot have drinks in public while others are having food. How can you expect someone to have drinks as per your wish???? We at vacations, expect no rules and regulations.....as we come to unwind these only.

All in all, a good place for foreigners and old age people ( as they eat in these timings and do not disturb the staff with room service). You can bet your money at your risk but I am sure that with Aamod coming up next week at Narkanda, the things are gonna get tough for Banjara....

3 out of 5 as we left with sour memories after wasting money. Anywhere else it would be awesome in that kind of expenditure.....And I know wise people will take this review positively..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this place and they were the 3 best days of our trip. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, we were provided the best of service. The hotel is in an amazing location with breathtaking views. There is complete silence all around the place that we city-dwellers would die for.
The staff at the hotel is probably the best I have come across in any tourist hotel in this country - led by the owner Mr. Thakur. Though I did not have a chance to interact with him much, his attitude towards his guests is seen by the way his staff treats every guest. The team here truly embodies what Vijay Mallya claimed - "you are a guest in my own home".
The food is good, they are willing to customize it to your needs. Would absolutely recommend the apple chutney that they prepare here. They recommend picnic lunches for day trips - I have never seen such an elaborately packed picnic lunch in my life. 2 big bags for 2 people!!!
The hotel manager, Mr. Sharma, actually insisted on packing sandwiches for us the day we were checking out since it was a long drive.
All in all, was really sorry to leave this place. We will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Go for a log hut - they are all close to the main building and give a different experience from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howrah, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had been to Thanedar this October and chose to stay at Banjara Camp, Thanedar for one night before our trip to Sangla and Kalpa and also for another night during our return journey. I enjoyed the stay very much. It is peace and tranquility all around. The property is very good and it is within an apple orchard. In the background the peak Srikhand Mahadev stands tall and which turns golden during sunset. The in-house service and the quality of food served is very good. Mr. Thakur, who is all in all of this property, personally takes care of every guest. It is a place worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banjara Camps - Thanedar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Camps - Thanedar

Address: Thanedar | Dist. Shimla, 172030, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 539 Specialty Lodging in Himachal Pradesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banjara Camps - Thanedar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.