We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Decor but not soo good food...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cilantro

Cilantro
Udyog Vihar Phase 5 | Trident Hotel Ground Floor 443, Gurgaon 122001, India
+91 124 245 0505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,186 Restaurants in Gurgaon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Delhi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Decor but not soo good food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The food is just OK...as the expectaion was very high the food was a bit of disappointment. The dinner buffet had just 5 main course dishes & 20 salads. The salads were tasteless & the food was cold. The place looks grand & huge..but the food is just OK. Overall...there are better places in Gurgaon to visit & eat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I came here for Sunday brunch, and boy did it not disapoint. First time at this hotel; the ground are beautiful by the way, but back to brunch. Lovely assortment of cold salads, and greens; they had this apple, cucumber, and mint shooter that was yummy. On top of that they have the waiters coming around with carts (full assortment of red/white wine, champagne - descent brand considering it was unlimitied, and fresh cuts of meat, all prepared to your liking). dessert was yummy too; had this chocolate cookie, and this pastry puff filled with chocolate mousse. The price; it ran me about 60 CAN dollars for just me, which yes is pricey, but I went around 12:30, and spent just under 2 hours there, and had both a glass of white wine, and a mimosa. So if I were to do again, I would probably go a little later, and have more liquor to justify the price. Overall, a lovely meal. If I had the time, I would definately go again before I leave. Also, the customer service was especially good; not overly around to the point of being annoying, but attentive enough to clear your plate within seconds of finishing! good balance in my opinion

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Spacious layout and good service... Must have the breakfast buffet, its a large spread...but somethin's missing. Not sure what it is. Breads, pastries and juices are good and wholesome.

Service is good and staff are courteous and go out of their way to help out especially the lady at the waffle / pancakes counter.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel & restaurant ambiance but food's just about average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have just returned from my birthday dinner at Cilantro with my husband and have come back quite underwhelmed with the overall experience.
Trident hotel is a feast for your eyes and so is the restaurant with it's dome shaped ceiling...
However the food is another story altogether...we chose the buffet hoping to be able to sample all the good stuff...but the salad options were fairly limited and warm. The vegetarian mains were high on salt content and not exactly palatable...however the lamb shanks and the duck which my husband tried out were very good. The pasta station was below average - with both the white sauce and tomato sauce doing nothing for the pasta.

The dessert station was the one of the few saving graces of the meal. They have a good variety of dessert with the ice cream flavors closing the meal on a lovely note. we had the Belgian bitter chocolate and the Irish cream - both exceptional.
Besides the dessert, the other plus was the service...helpful and considerate
Also drinks were reasonably priced - comparable to most stand-alone restaurants.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great food and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

A really broad choice of cuisine that varied throughout the week. Essentially, nothing was too much trouble to the staff, if you didn't care for what was on offer, you could order off a la carte..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro also viewed

Gurgaon, Haryana
Gurgaon, Haryana
 
Gurgaon, Haryana
Gurgaon, Haryana
 

Been to Cilantro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cilantro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.