We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic place to have a soft landing in India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tikli Bottom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gurgaon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tikli Bottom
Save
You added Tikli Bottom to your Saves list
Manender Farm | Gairatpur Bas, Gurgaon 122001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 333 Gurgaon B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A magic place to have a soft landing in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

A very nice house at the end of the road. Are you welcomed by a charming English couple.
The house is Suprb, the huge rooms with air conditioning and all comforts.
We went for our honeymoon and I must say that arriving here in India was a special moment because acclimataion to India was smooth.
Dreaming is the place for a relaxing time. There is a beautiful garden around the house with a farm adjoining the house which is run by the English who will be pleased to make the visit.
We recommend this magical address.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nsw australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Our second trip to Tikli Bottom and what a wonderful place it is to simply relax and unwind after a frenetic road and rail trip through Rajasthan. Annie and Martin are consummate hosts and also the wonderful Muna who runs things with an iron hand making sure every guest has everything he or she wants at any given time of the day.

The meals are fun and filled with interesting conversation, and Martin and Annie are both mines of information on India past and present.

Highly recommended to absolutely everyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

The house is nice but the overall feeling is that you are staying with a rich business company rather than someone's home.
£200 a night is ridiculous, even if it includes £20 of food.
Too dear and poor value.

Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

We would thoroughly recommend Tikli after our stay there. We loved the house, the location and the owners and found a perfect haven from the bustle and smog of Delhi on arrival and departure from India. We were met off an international flight in the middle of the night by Moses, the Tikli driver; we were greeted on arrival by the owners (even though it was 3.30 in the morning) and we will definitely use this as our Delhi base for all future trips. An absolute oasis in a country that never stops!

  • Liked — Every room was individually furnished
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

We booked this place despite reading the conflicting reviews. I'm glad we did! I hope my comments help anyone who can't decide.

It is expensive by Indian standards. If the price worries you, you definitely shouldn't go. But price does include food AND alcohol including lunch-time. They aren't mean with the drinks. In fact they aren't mean with anything, and if they can help, they will help. We were provided with shawls due to sudden cold snap and were taken on a walk down to the waterhole to look at the birdlife. And when your hosts aren't spoiling you, the lovely housekeeper will be trying to feed you more.

If dinner table conversation with 65+ yo brit couple is going to drive you nuts, then don't stay here. The one thing you can be sure of is that there won't be a deathly silence around the table. Each meal was different, and the conversation was pretty dependent on the other guests at the time.

The hosts are building a school in the village, a fairly major charitable project. We saw nothing but kindness to guests, staff and local population. Possibly they don't have a 'current' approach. My feeling is live and let live. But if you get wound up by retired brits with (what I would guess are) Conservative values, then this might not be the place for you.

Don't go here if you want things to do. There are some nice walks, and the birding is excellent. But that isn't going to keep many people happy for long. Most people stay here as a first/last night place, as with everything done for you, you can relax.

Try to use the taxi company recommended by the hosts. If you do, you can just get off the plane and switch off your brain. How often does that happen?

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

first, the place is far too expensive for what it is: Euro200 for a B&B (even if food is included) is a rip off for indian standards. Better place to stay at: Pataudi Palace, also close to Delhi, and a truly magical (and better value) experience - a Neemrana hotel.
Second, you feel the owners of Tikli Bottom (a 65+ y o brit couple) have opened the house for their own personnal entertainment - or else they'd be bored... so they'll expect to do the conversation around the dining table

Third, am not sure the owners have a "current" approach to India's culture, clearly despising their welcoming country. Some comments were clearly unsettling for us ("we wear the traditional outfit whenever we need to play indians", "this is india" looking at our very helpful driver with desdain, etc). Is it bitterness? Clearly, colonial times are gone... Some people regret that. Still, if you guys were heading back to the UK, you would not have 8 or 9 servants working for you... so think positive!

Further, you might want to go there if you want to have a laugh at the owners' expense - be aware that the laugh will be on you when the bill comes... here entertainment doesnt come cheap

Else, the place is nice and clean but you'll be bored after 2 hours - once you've said hi to the owners' cows, there's nothing to do

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We spent a fabulous night here when we arrived in India for the first time. Upon arrival we sat down with the other guests for a very civilised lunch, then had a nap, used the pool and then met everyone again for drinks and dinner. If you like meeting fellow travellers, eating great home grown food and want a 'soft landing' when you arrive, then stay here. The rooms are great, the pool fabulous and the owners have lots of conversation and advice. A good place to plan your trip from too. Lovely!

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Disliked — Nothing - the only down side is that it isn't the most indian place to stay
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tikli Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikli Bottom

Address: Manender Farm | Gairatpur Bas, Gurgaon 122001, India
Location: India > Haryana > Gurgaon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Gurgaon
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Tikli Bottom Hotel Gurgaon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tikli Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.