We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, not so good place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sagar Ratna

Sagar Ratna
Sector-29, | Sector 23, Gurgaon, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 993 Restaurants in Gurgaon
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good food, not so good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

though it still serves the best south Indian but can't help feeling as if sitting in college or railway canteen. absolutely no privacy, service is without Smile and you are made aware that you need to quicken-up as others are waiting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good lite bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Off day. Great to have fun outof office. So, I visited teh place with my spouse. Feeling sleepy we entered DT centre outlet. It was all empty as we were the first to be there. I had Poori Bhaji and wife had some rice preparation. Very good food. Coffee at the end was appetising. Loved it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A good vegetarian restaurant with amazing coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Loved it. This restaurant served as a nice introduction to Indian cuisine. They will explain the various food and everything is fresh and well prepared. Ask for the wonderful coffee from the South of India that is prepared by pouring back and forth between cups with some sugar....it is amazing!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A badly managed Sagar Ratna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

4 of us went to this place of a busy Saturday evening. We had to wait for about 15 minutes. Sagar Ratna & Sagar Restaurants usually serve very good South Indian food. It was full of people with so much of noise that it is difficult to talk.

Somehow, this place has fallen plaster on the walls and was trying to hide it by pasting papers on the walls. It looked like a 20 year back when Govt. canteens were is bad shape. These days even those Govt. canteens are better. I could not understand what has happened to the chain smoker Mr. Banan (owner of the Sagar Ratna Group). This place is very bad for his reputation.

Once we made the order, the service was quite prompt and the food was steaming hot. Extra Sambhar was served in a bowl which was difficult to move around because it was hot and it had no handles. Once this extra Sambhar finished we had to eat our food without sambhar because there was no one to take order.

Utthapam was half baked. However, idli and vadas were really good. Paper masala dosa was just OK.

I feel that one should avoid this place especially on Saturday, Sunday and other holidays.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagar Ratna also viewed

 
Gurgaon, Haryana
Gurgaon, Haryana
 

Been to Sagar Ratna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagar Ratna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.