We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable but underwhelming experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector 44 NCR, Gurgaon 122004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 195 Hotels in Gurgaon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but underwhelming experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at Taj Vivanta for 2 nights for the business trip.

The biggest disappointment was in terms of service. Had a dinner at the hotel, much to our disappointment. The service was extremely slow and had to ask repeatedly for a few things. Even after the dinner was done, it took a long time for them to present with the cheque. And even though we had specifically asked for separate bills, they forgot that part. When you are paying for expensive food, you expect equally good service.

The rooms are very good in terms of facilities and interior and view from the room. Rooms were generally clean and well-maintained.

Overall, though good property, still could do with better service.

P.S : After posting the review I got call from the manager about our experience and he confirmed the problems we came across and acknowledged and promised to take actions on them. Though I'm not changing my rating, but that surely deserves a prop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajit P, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Vivanta By Taj, Gurgaon and visit to Latitude, the All Day Diner.

I have made good note of the service delays that you experienced at the restaurant and have articulated since. Please do accept my regrets for the inconvenience you must have undergone for such a simple request to be executed.

While I understand that the Food & Beverage Manager of the Hotel called you and personally acknowledged your feedback, please do know that I have addressed the issue to ensure our processes are rectified and does not recur. We have since, purely on the basis of your feedback, once again reviewed and enhanced our service standards; particularly at the closure of a meal.

I invite you back to the Hotel when you intend to visit Gurgaon next and trust that you will find the positive change you seek, when you are here.

Please feel free to contact me for any assistance you may require, in the interim.

Best regards.

Ajit Pavithran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    54
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
18
11
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have been staying here for 3 months and I absolutely love this hotel. Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff. 24 hour gym and a great swimming pool make this place one of the best hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Get a metro facing room as 3G connectivity is not very good on pool side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajit P, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your email and the wonderful words of appreciation for Vivanta BY Taj, Gurgaon and its employees.

I have conveyed your kind words of commendation to the concerned personnel; particularly, to the F&B Manager and the Chef. Our aim at Vivanta By Taj is to ensure personalised service and customised experiences to our guests, hoping that they would take away fond memories of the Hotel that would go beyond just their stay. I am indeed delighted to know that we were able to give you once such experience and appreciate your lovely gesture to articulate it back to us.

It also gives me great pleasure to inform you that the Hotel and its facilities are now popular destinations in the local and global community, and we would be happy to welcome you back to a bustling and even more enhanced Vivanta By Taj, Gurgaon.

Please feel free to contact me for any assistance you may require, until your next stay with us. I shall look forward to the pleasure of personally welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Best regards.

Ajit Pavithran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The place is new and does not seem to be very busy, but the personal service that I received there was absolutely excellent. The staff remembered our choices and were more than willing to accommodate our likes and choices. The staff in the restaurant were extremely attentive and went out of their way to ensure that we were happy with the stay. The F&B manager and the chef took pains to create something special for my wife that was very touching indeed. I would absolutely love to stay here the next time I am in Gurgaon and I hope that they keep up the excellent service. The rooms are almost brand new and impeccably maintained unlike my experience at Lalit which was an absolute disaster.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The new entrant in the market-vivanta gurgaon has all the ingredients of being a great hotel. Fantastic lobby with some very warm staff and beautiful restaurants. Checked out the much talked about thai eatery, but decided to try the 24 hour latitude for lunch.
Took a round of the lunch buffet and found the mix of food offered very interesting! Ethenic indian merged with western and an array of oriental dishes seemed to be just the way we wamted it. Coupled with attentive service the meal left us satisfied and we all decided to come back for dinner.The billing could have been faster but gave us some more time to relish the baked yoghurt once again.Definately on our hit list is the sunday brunch here wich i assume should be a riot. Would have rated 5, but for the delay in billing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

great new decor, good beds, very quite. nice views, good service, excellent Chinese food. the staff is very young and needs training and systems, but the smile and enthusiasm makes up for their lack of training. latitude their coffee shop should be avoided. food and taste is disappointing. the location and access to the metro station is an added benefit.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the pool. take rooms above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have not had the privilege of staying at this property, but had a great experience nonetheless. I visited the property to attend an event in their banquet room recently, and reached a little in advance of the start. Since this was in the middle of the working day, I was looking for a power source to charge my laptop while working on it. I couldn't find any such source in the lobby, and this may have been apparent from my body language, but I was approached by three staff members, including the manager, who directed me to various spots around the hotel where I could work in peace and charge my laptop. As I was a non-paying guest, this level of attention was a pleasant surprise and quite exceptional.

The property as a whole is well designed, modern and airy. Lots of high ceilings and glass frontage makes the place look better than it is. Definitely stands out in comparison to some of the more insipid hotels that surround this one.

The food at the banquet was very good, fresh and not mass-produced. Would certainly recommend the hotel for any conference or corporate event.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for 3N here. Would like to point out few things.
- We had not-so-good experience for dinner at Latitude. No-one turned up for attending once we had finished dinner. We waited for about 30 minutes and left on our own till they caught us for room-no wrt bills ;) Mind you it was NOT crowded at that time, in fact very few guests.
- Phones in my room had no labels on it. So did some guess work, but that didn't help & I couldn't get through room-service.
- Bathtub spilled water in whole bathroom when drained.
- Breakfast could be better in terms of items it offered.
- One thing I don't understand is why water isn't served unless asked for!!
- Please do something about sunlight at Latitude. It is not so pleasing to have breakfast in Delhi-sunshine with AC on.
Other than these, it was pleasant experience in terms of room-quality/cleanliness/service as you would expect for such class of hotel. But... expectations are above-average for such class of hotels.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer better view of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR

Address: Sector 44 NCR, Gurgaon 122004, India
Location: India > Haryana > Gurgaon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 195 Hotels in Gurgaon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj. Tall on style. High on buzz.It's all about being tall. Tall on design. Tall on delight. Tall on surprises. Look up to a whole new high in urban chic. Soak in the space that's creating a cool vibe in NCR's bustling business district. Standing tall in Gurgaon. With nothing short of the coolest bar and speciality restaurants the national capital region has to offer. Drive in within 25 minutes (19km) from the airport in a Jaguar or Land Rover reveling in backseat surprises (we're not revealing here). Or simply walk across from the HUDA City Centre Metro Station, off Exit 7 on the National Highway (NH8). You'll see how we mean business in a quiet efficient way from the moment you step in. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Gurgaon, NCR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.