We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When there is a scarcity of land, you don't have any option but to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
The Bristol Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Adjacent to DLF Qutab Enclave Phase-1 | Main Gurgaon, Mehrauli Road, Gurgaon 122002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 193 Hotels in Gurgaon
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When there is a scarcity of land, you don't have any option but to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Bristol is located centrally in Gurgaon, very near to IFFCO tower. However the cost does not go with the service at all. I am not at all happy with the kind of service at Bristol. Again it is a very compact hotel. It seems there is no space at all. If you do not get any place to stay in then you may go to Bristol.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    32
    15
    29
See reviews for
18
16
14
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I stayed at Bristol almost 2 years back and its horrifying experience still dosent get off my mind. The hotel would seem quite okay from outside but its a stinking nightmare from inside. The moment the lift would reach floor, it would start stinking because its carpets would have never seen what a vacuum cleaner probably looks like or worse even a broom! Eevery day, god knows how many times, I would just hold my breadth from the lift and try wna dwalk thru the long corridor to my room. Yucks. The pool was under construction then. The breakfast was decent but no variation on any day of the week. So probably on the third day, you would want to run from it as far as you can. Stay away, you have been warned.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

I am strongly unimpressed with this hotel.It doesnot even fall in a two star or one star cateogory.Services of the hotel are pathetic .Food served is rotten or i beleive unhygenic or stale food.Since the hotel doesnot run well so it food doesnot sell and they serve same food date after day.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — food is worst ,comfort of customer is not taken care of.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
1,002 helpful votes 1,002 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

First I must say that I did not experience problems with cleanliness or staff. My room was nearly spotless and the staff was always courteous. I think that the root cause of this hotel’s problems is the management and the owners – the staff merely does what it is told to do.

Here’s a list of issues I’ve experienced. You can determine how serious these are for you:

- When I first arrived neither the mini-bar nor the TV was working due to electrical problems. The TV ended up working but not mini-bar was never fixed. Not that it mattered since all it contained was 3 cans of soda. No beer, liquor, or mineral water were available.

- Every day I would come back from work and there would be no electrical power because the little card reader near the door that activates the room power supply was defective. It was never fixed despite repeated requests. I highly recommend that you bring a flashlight.

- There are renovations on-going at the hotel. These of course make noise, it cannot be avoided. But it would be better to restrict this work to daytime hours. One night some staff were hammering away well past midnight. No respect for the guests.

- There is construction outside the hotel and the heavy machinery noise will disturb you, especially if you have an odd number room.

- The hotel hosts private parties. When these occur you may forget about sleeping or even just being in your room. The music noise was so loud that coffee cups were vibrating on my desk. The ear-splitting music made me feel like I was sitting right there in the middle of the party. No respect for the guests.

- Wireless internet did not work in my room, there was no signal. Using the RJ45 jack was ok though. Internet was ridiculously priced at Rs 400 for 1 hour, about $10.

- CNN was not working, the image was always pixelizing.

- There are no taxis outside the hotel. You need to make your own transportation arrangements.

I have stayed at many hotels much less comfortable than this one. But they did not cost USD 240 per night. This hotel is way overpriced for what it provides. It is also masquerading as a 5 star hotel, which it is not.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

The Bristol was billed as a 5-star hotel, but this is purely fictional.

During my one and one-half night stay(!) I endured multiple power failures, a non-functional shower, cracked and stained bathroom fixtures, ill-fitting doors, non-potable tap water and completely disengaged hotel management.

My USD $300 per-night room tarrif was reduced from two-nights to one after I voceriferously complained to the hotel management, but the charge was quickly re-billed back on to my credit card after I checked out.

  • Liked — Reasonably convenient to my business appointment
  • Disliked — The hotel management has no interest aside from collecting your room tarrif.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis based but airborne often
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

THIS (??) is a "five star" hotel?? Yowza. Can't comment on the rooms as I didn't stay there, but led a three-day meeting so I had plenty of opportunity to interact with the hotel and its staff. Upsides: reasonably pleasant but aging decor - has that sort of "would be quaint if it were maintained" feel to it and the top floor restaurant has a really decent buffet lunch. Downsides: the staff is largely indifferent and borderline surly. Rare sense of "service" that one would normally equate with a 4-5 star property - absolutely not in that class. As an example, I needed to have copies of some materials made and the business center lacks a copier; asked an available front desk manager for some assistance and you would have thought I was asking for his first born and access to his bank accounts. I was clearly inconveniencing him - although he was doing absolutely nothing when I approached him. During the meetings, the hotel AV guy was constantly in motion around and "adjusting" the LCD to the point of distraction. That is, he was up until he showed up with the LCD an hour late on the last day of the meeting making for an exciting start to the last day of the event. And the power strips - vintage 1920's India - bare wires from electric cords that dated from Edison's time. Expected my laptop and half my participants to short out at any moment. Please note, I'm an old Asia hand and am very comfortable with non-Western and non-modern conveniences. I just have different expectations from a hotel that bills itself as the next best thing to sliced bread, beer in cans and hub caps. Will make a point of NOT staying at the Bristol even if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2006

Well I really do have mixed reactions to all the reviews.

I have been staying at the Bristol for a week every month since the last two months and will continue to do so till February. Dont really have a choice as my Company has a tie up with the Bristol.

I do not agree with the reviews of the room as I have got excellent rooms both the times that I have stayed there, I was on the 2nd Floor. However a few of my colleagues who were staying on the 3rd Floor did complain about the carpets stinking. 2nd Floor rooms are far better. You could ask for them.

Internet is Really expensive considering that they charge for a day what I pay for a month of usage at home. They have wireless access though in all the rooms.

Food is nothing great. Quite boring and after two visits to the Hotel, I can now predict the menu.. :-) . Never ask for pancakes or eggs during breakfast. They take ages to make it and then deliver it to the wrong table. Happened to me twice...even after I pointed out my table to them repeatedly.

Service is ok. Nothing great, sometimes better than expectations and rest of the time downright pathetic.

The Hotel seems to be quite full though most of the time.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — The Food
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the Club Rooms on the 2nd Floor
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Address: Adjacent to DLF Qutab Enclave Phase-1 | Main Gurgaon, Mehrauli Road, Gurgaon 122002, India
Location: India > Haryana > Gurgaon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Gurgaon
#37 Luxury Hotel in Gurgaon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly updated luxury rooms and suites are replete with the latest state-of-the-art interiors and gadgetry and are spacious and elegant in style. Muted tones, polished hardwood floors and flat LCD screens give these plush rooms a unique and contemporary look. There are a total of 83 rooms and suites on offer, ranging from executive and deluxe rooms to business and penthouse suites. The sprawling Presidential Suite/Business Suite and the Penthouse Suite offer a breathtaking view of the sky line. Staying at The Bristol, one need not venture out to savour mouthwatering delights as the refurbished onsite restaurants offer a multitude of delectable and exotic delicacies and drinks from around the world. The Bristol offers banquet facilities, beautiful gardens, stunning views and outstanding ballrooms. The hotel’s nine versatile gathering venues with high-tech features allow for corporate meetings, conferences and social functions of all types. Luxurious flooring and furnishing enhance an atmosphere of exquisite elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Gurgaon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.