We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Gurgaon

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi, Gurgaon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi, Gurgaon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   443 Udyog Vihar, Phase V, Gurgaon 122016, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Internet
Ranked #1 of 188 hotels in Gurgaon
Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is spectacular and we regret that we were there for only one night. We were given a ground floor room looking across the reflecting pool towards the reception and restaurant. We are familiar with luxury hotels but this took our breath away with superb bed and furnishings, electrically controlled blinds, wonderful stand alone bath with TV on the wall and remote on the soap rack as well as a double shower. There was complimentary wine, fruit and confections but the piece de restistance was what at first I thought was a postcard view of the hotel, until I realised it was a chocolate bar. It seemed such a pity to eat it.
This was our first stop in India and we were totally overwhelmed by the hotel and the service - it is a must for anyone starting the 'triangle tour' but be warned, one night it just not enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberoiGurgaon_NCR, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi, Gurgaon, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback.

The Oberoi, Gurgaon indeed has become a focal point for sight seeing in not only Delhi, but also if one is tourung the Golden Triangle. Being located right on the Jaiput highway, it is convenient to avoid the traffic snarls in Delhi. Agra too is just 3 hours away from the hotel, with the brand new expressway just 45 minutes away from us.

Your thoughts about the chocolate picture have been shared with the Chef and his team. We beleive these small gestures go a long way in personalising a guest stay, no matter how short it is.

The Entire team looks forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    61
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
79
15
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Oberoi properties have a reputation for service that is well deserved. My husband and I have now stayed at three, this hotel in Gurgaon, the Amarvillas in Agra and the luxury tented property near Rathambore. All were excellent experiences. India is a country of stunning, even severe contrasts.
The oasis of the Oberoi hotel is truly appreciated at the end of a long sight seeing day. My husband became ill at the Gurgaon property and the staff coudn't have done more to assist and express their concern. Late check out wasn't even questioned, it was just assumed that we would stay in the room until he felt well enough to check out. The room itself was understated elegance. The walk-in closet removes unsightly luggage from the serene experience, the lighting, the practical and nicely designed bath room, and the views of the pool were exceptional.
As an American, I sometimes find the level of service momentarily overwhelming - us Yankees pride ourselves on independence, and I CAN carry my own plate from the buffet to my table, and deal with my own napkin, but... I can see where the staff does these things from a sincere desire to be of assistance. It is a case of "when in Rome... or India."
I have to mention the pool. Only a pool this lovely would get me into a swimsuit and into the water. It was extraordinary!!! I wish I had time to experience the spa. If it was as wonderful as the pool, it must be fantastic.
Overall, if you decide to stay at an Oberoi property it is doubtful that you would regret it...ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberoiGurgaon_NCR, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi, Gurgaon, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you such a wonderful feedback.

We hope that your husband is feeling better. We were concerned about his health when you left the hotel.

The team is delighted that the services were up to your expectations. Small gestures like not charging over stays when the guest is unwell come naturally to the team and we feel that this the least that we can do.

Thank you for mentioning the pool. The only outdoor heated pool in the vicinity ensures that guests can use the pool even in winters.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit with Oberoi Hotels.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night, after a late night arrival from Delhi Airport. We selected it over the Oberoi New Delhi as it would be a slightly quicker journey between airport and hotel, and as we intended to have an early start the following day (that said; it was not on the most direct route to Agra – our next stop).

The Oberoi Gurgaon is a beautiful and modern hotel. We found the service and food to be excellent. All the staff we encountered were professional, charming, and swift to accommodate our requests without fuss or confusion. Breakfast was amazing; both the selection of food, and the setting over looking the central reflective pool.

The hotel makes sense as a stop from or on route to the airport, especially if your flight is leaving around rush hour during the week. It’s probably not the right place for you if you intend to use it as a base to explore central Delhi.

One gripe! - the Wifi costs approximately 990 Rupee a day (USD18), and progressively cheaper should you pay for a weeks worth of internet, etc. Our stay was part of an Oberoi Exotic Vacations package, and it was a shame that we could not have been offered a reduced internet rate for constant access across our 12 night package. We also found that once we checked out, our internet access was cut off, a little annoying in that period between an early check out and a late departure flight (the business centre charges were always much higher).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberoiGurgaon_NCR, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi, Gurgaon, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about The Oberoi, Gurgaon.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your sentiments have been shared with the entire team. I am sure that this will go a long way to motivate them.

We have also taken note of your comments on the internet. Please allow me to explain. The hotel has one of the fastest internet speeds in the city ( 60 MBPS) and we have an external agency that provides its services to us. The charges for these services are borne by th hotel, but a small amount that we take from our guests. We apologise if this has caused you inconvenience.

We hope to see you again at The Oberoi, Gurgaon. Please do feel free to contact me at Gaurav.Issar@oberoihotels.com for any further assistance that you may require.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After struggling along for 5 hours by car from Jaipur, the haven that is Oberoi Gurgaon appeared as manna from heaven. It is a superb hotel that excels in all areas. The overwhelming element is the outstanding service culture that pervades all areas of the hotel; from the embracing hospitality of the welcome and of the super efficient registration and room hand over; to the food and associated service in 361; the support of floor butler; the in-room dining; and finally to the package of goodies that were delivered by the concierge to accompany us on the 10 hr train journey to Shimla. This is the best hotel if you have to make the one-night over lay at Delhi - minutes from the IGAirport, avoiding the hours of travel into centre Dehli if you are looking for an equal hotel. The structure of the hotel is modern and there is a certain need to orientate yourself over the various levels of the building. The rooms (suites) are spacious with first class fittings with TVs in several rooms. Bed was usual delight and choice of many pillows if needed. I can not recommended this hotel too highly. For the short stay it is ideal. Its not the place from which to explore Delhi, but that is not what it is designed for. It is not voted amongst the very best hotels in India for nothing. Long may its present approach to service to the individual continue. But then that is what I have come to expect from the Oberoi group in India.

Room Tip: Go up the building for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberoiGurgaon_NCR, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi, Gurgaon, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

Words like these keep the entite team motivated. We are delighted that the hotel and the services were up to your satisfaction. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team.

We look forward to your next visit with us. We hope that you will be here for a longer duration the next time you visit The Oberoi, Gurgaon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lived upto its name & its culture. A Beautiful & serene place to stay amid the hustle & bustle of Industrial city. Excellent food & Hospitality are the hallmarks.
Would definitely recommend, both for business & Family travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st Floor. North side facing the greenery & a view of coffee shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberoiGurgaon_NCR, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi, Gurgaon, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Your words of praise have been sherd with the entire team. We are delighted that you found the hotel and our services up to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again at The Oberoi, Gurgaon.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colintraive, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Really close to the airport. If you are staying in Delhi for a few days and have an early(ish) flight it would be worth decanting to this hotel for the final night to make your journey so much easier in the morning, and you would get another hour in bed!
However there are other attractions to the Oberoi Gurgaon. It is a stunning hotel. Tall glass and steel surrounding shimmering water. The public spaces all overlook the central pool which is huge. This is not for swimming but for decoration. At night it is lit with gas flames and the whole effect is very nice. You can even see the poor guy who has to wade out to all the torches and light them!
In room check-in was fuss free. The room, no suite, well no perfectly adorable permanent apartment/home if they added a kitchen, and believe me there is ample room was wonderful. Great bedroom, superb bathroom, large luggage and wardrobe area, office area, dining area, lounge area, separate bathoom.....lots of flat screen TVs, 2 mini-bars.....
Just watch out for the gardeners on the massive window boxes which make the green walls. They have probably been told not to look but you could be naked eye to eye with the mountaineering gardener.
The swimming pool was great and at more than 55m long you can have a really good swim. Pool service is good but there were no treats such as fruit or frozen grapes which appear at some other Oberoi hotels.
The restaurant should have been great too, and it probably is every other night but there was a problem when we dined there. We were seated and our orders taken and then.........40 minutes. The starters were alright but my fish was a bit squashy. The main course was very bad. It should have been renamed 'Biryani-hunt the vegetable'. It was clear something had gone amiss and a 'frank exchange of views' was going on at one of the service points between about 7 staff. The hotel was very apologetic and gave us free scarves but....
Simplify the arrangements in the restaurant, if you have 5 cooking stations you need a system to cope with that, use IT and a no nonsense manager. This is a restaurant not a debating society.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberoiGurgaon_NCR, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi, Gurgaon, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to see the generous praise that you have used to describe your visit with us. It gives us imeense satisfaction to see our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Thank you for pointing out the areas that we can improve on Food & Beverage. Your feedback on the quality of food and service has been shared with the concerned department heads. I assure you that steps are being reviewed to block any gaps that may have occured during your time at the Restaurant.

We look forward to have you stay with us again. Please feel free to write to me at Gaurav.Issar@oberoihotels.com for any assistance that you may require from us.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a 2 night stay for Formula 1 Indian GP.

It was a stay in lap of luxury. One of the Best 5 Start stays in recent times.

Understanding layout of this hotel is quite a task if you are there for a short stay. Quite confusing at a times.

Would surely recoomend for relaxed stay in NCR.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberoiGurgaon_NCR, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi, Gurgaon, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about The Oberoi, Gurgaon.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also hope that you had a good view of the Formula 1 race and you enjoyed watching it.

The hotel's design and the decor is modern, unique and never been done in India. We understand if you may have found it somewhat difficult to remember but when you visit us again in the future and for a little longer stay, you will realise that the entry and exit to guest's rooms have been retricted to a single point keeping in mind the safety and security of all our guests. The floors are neatly stacked on one another and have been separated from the non residential block of the hotel.

Having said that, the whole team is happy that you enjoyed your stay and looks forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oberoi, Gurgaon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Gurgaon

Address: 443 Udyog Vihar, Phase V, Gurgaon 122016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Haryana > Gurgaon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gurgaon
#1 Business Hotel in Gurgaon
#1 Spa Hotel in Gurgaon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gurgaon
#2 Family Hotel in Gurgaon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Gurgaon 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business and commercial district of Delhi National Capital Region in India. 202 Elegantly appointed rooms and suites with large picture windows that allow an abundance of natural light.The rooms start at an expansive 620 square feet, offering amongst the largest accommodation in a city hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Oberoi, Gurgaon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Hotel Gurgaon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Gurgaon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.