We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foriegn objects in food, v poor service, average food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MainLand China

MainLand China
DLF Cyber City, Gurgaon, India
(91)-1244263630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 1,000 Restaurants in Gurgaon
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Foriegn objects in food, v poor service, average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visited Mainland China yesterday in Sector 29 Gurgaon with family. Had a horrible experience in all aspects – Food, Service, Ambience and cleanliness
Ordered Starters and soup, the soup had a black ANT in it. It was quite surprising that a new setup has this type if hygiene and cleanliness around. What was even worse was the restaurant was not at all equipped to handle such an issue. I had to myself call for the Chef and the restaurant manager after the acknowledgement from service staff of the insect in the food. There was no proactiveness shown by either of them to settle and comfort the guest. The service staff on the other hand acted in a panic manner and all of them (5 waiters) gathered near the service station dissecting the soup and discussing without even realizing that it was causing the other guests to also think that here is something wrong in the food – totally avoidable and handled very immaturely
The main course we ordered was pan fried noodles and there was a black hair in it. First when I called for the service staff he rubbished it saying that this is from baby-corn. I looked back my dish and there was no corn in the preparation. I asked him to re-check and then he did and acknowledge the issue. Post which he asked me to wait and he took the dish to the kitchen. He did not come back for 15+ min and when I asked for him, he came and said chef is saying sorry. Please note nor the restaurant manager not the chef came to speak to me about the second blunder in the food. I asked from the cheque and was told that I just had starters and it is on the house as both soup and main-course was not consumed, I instead and paid my dues (KOT/bill no. 4455, date 17/03/13. Table no. 2) and walked away from Mainland china passing the comment on the restaurant manager that conveniently avoiding a situation that happened in a restaurant does not help, he should come and spoken to me
We need to have capable food and service staff in a standalone restaurant who are mature, trained and have service attitude to handle such situations apart from relooking a hygiene and cleanliness in the restaurant to ensure no more foreign objects get into food which is a serious health and risk issue

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    46
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Repetitive menu. Over hyped place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If u dont have any option and dying to eat chinese in this area, then head for it for basic hygiene. Every other day u will find the same boring menu... From starters to desserts. Its almost like hostel food...but the chinese version.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“hot favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have tasted their food in 3 different cities of India. whenever I have a craving for Chinese food, it's got to be Mainland China. Andheri west, Mumbai is the best Mainland China in my opinion. but I must say DLF Cyber city, gurgaon outlet is really good.
must try Braised Chicken With Black Mushrooms, Sliced Chicken With Asparagus In Oyster Sauce & Sweet And Spicy Crispy Chicken in starter, Burnt Garlic Fish with Seasonal Greens in main course. their Sizzling Brownie With Ice Cream is awesome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Better than it looked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I nearly walked past this one, the outside didn't really appeal. Glad I didn't, though as the food was a treat. A little expensive for the areas though, I felt (more expensive than the Asian retsurant at the Optus Sarovar Premiere across the road, which is also very good indeed), but for the experience, I think it's a worthwhile visit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Please go for buffet on sunday evening . Starters are great. service is superb . Not over crowded .
Main course is also very good . over all excellent Chinese food .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MainLand China also viewed

Gurgaon, Haryana
Gurgaon, Haryana
 

Been to MainLand China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainLand China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.