We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL FOR MIDDLE CLASS CITIZEN IN BARODA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surya Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Surya Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Surya Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sayajigunj | Opp. Parsi Agyari, Vadodara 390020, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Vadodara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vadodara, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST HOTEL FOR MIDDLE CLASS CITIZEN IN BARODA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have booked and used this hotel for marriage function in year 2010 and booed for my daughter's marriage on 13.02.2013.
All rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
Really this hotel is value for money.
All facilities for any type of social gathering and official functions is available under one umbrella.
Food quality is very good and healthy.
All staff including Managers are very co-operative,well dressed, trained and experienced.
Location of hotel is very close to railway station, city and air port.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are very silent, spacious and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    158
    33
    5
    7
See reviews for
54
10
30
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stay in Surya Palace whenever I am in Business Trip to Vadodara every month. Good Staff, decent Rooms, excellent food,

Food To Try :Mutton Biryani is delicious and one of its kind
Breakup : Good multiple menu majorly continental

Suggestion. There should be a watch in every room of the Hotel. It is really difficult sometimes.

Room Tip: 9th Floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I keep travelling to Baroda regularly but this was the first time I stayed in Surya Hotel. It offers a value proposition with good rooms and decent service. Overall the stay was quite comfortable. The food quality was good and also the restaurant was decent. Its location offers proximity to all key places of Baroda.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is an excellent place to crash while you're on a business trip to Vadodara. Rooms are nice, service is excellent and food is also good. Some of the rooms are yet to undergo renovation and give the impression of a 2 - 3 star hotel room, however the renovated rooms are like a proper 4 star boutique hotel. Initially, I was given one of the non-renovated rooms. The bathroom fittings were not very nice. In addition, it was close to a service lift and therefore, it was quite noisy. My request for a room change was not entertained that night because no other room was vacant. However, the next day, I was upgraded to a Club Room to compensate for the problems faced. Also, the offered price is a little steep for a town like Baroda but we got a healthy corporate discount which made the stay worthwhile. I'll be back to this hotel the next time I visit Baroda.

Room Tip: Do insist for one of the renovated rooms, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did a conference on December 15th 2012. We reached the Hotel in the morning at about 8.15. Our conference was to start at 9.00 am. Hotel staff had kept everything ready in the room. Throughout he day good support was available. Morning tea/snacks, Lunch and evening tea was served well and in time. Staff was very supportive and very helpful for all needs. We had enjoyable experience and good hospitality.

Exception was toilet next to our room was unclean and despite requests remained so throughout the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had gone on an official tour. I stayed here in a delux room for almost three weeks in December 2012. I am listing out the positives and negatives of the hotel as below:

POSITIVES:

( There are many plus points of this hotel, however, I am writing down some peculiar ones)

1. They have complimentary airport pickup and drop facility which gives you a good first impression.

2. The check-in was one of the fastest check-in I have ever had in my life. The room was very nice with all modern facilities. Housekeeping and room services were prompt and good.

3. The in-house Azure restaurant serves the best breakfast one would ever sought of for a very healthy and tasty breakfast. Like all other hotels, the breakfast is complimentary. Lunch and Dinner were quite good but one would get bored of the food after a stay of fortnight.The attendants were very smart. No complaints!!!

4. Locker was provided for safety of one's belongings.

5. There is a multi-gym in the hotel. if you are a gym-freak and you fear of loosing your hard earned muscles during your stay, its a boon! Massage and spa are also available in the gym. And the best part is its all complimentary!

6. There is a wine shop inside the hotel which is again a gift for you since alcohol is banned in Gujarat and you can't get alcohol in Vadodara anywhere else.

7. Lot of celebrities regularly come to the hotel, and if you are lucky you may get a chance of getting a photograph with them.

NEGATIVE:

1. For any multi-gym, the core machine is the bench press machine which was missing in the gym. It should be included in the gym because every gymmer aspires for a bench press almost every day of workout.

2. The food menu ( in dinner and lunch ) had 60 % continental and 40 % Indian food. The menu should include more Indian food than continental since 85 % guests are Indian and they would not like continental food for more than two consecutive days.

3. The corridors are very dim lighted which should be illuminated a little more.

4. They charge a very heavy amount for internet usage, which should, in fact, be made complimentary. Almost all other competent hotels have this feature free of cost.

5. AC is not remote controlled, however for my good luck, the controller was near the bed.

* On the whole, the stay was excellent and very comfortable and I would definitely prefer to stay in Surya Palace if I get a chance to visit Vadodara again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 9th floor are very nice. But for gymmmers, please choose rooms on 1st floor, since the gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Polten, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It's now a 3star hotel, but close to 4 stars.
Room was clean as I arrived and during my 6month stay as well.
Breakfast and food was good and manifold.
Living in the hotel was comfortable during my 6month staying.
Room was always clean.
Roomservice excellent.
All staff is very nice and friendly, especially Mr. Dinesh Surya was very helpful and cooperative.
A swimming pool and wellness center is now under construction and will be opened 2013.
WLAN for internet was generaly good.

Room Tip: Rooms on north and west side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surya Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Palace Hotel

Address: Sayajigunj | Opp. Parsi Agyari, Vadodara 390020, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Vadodara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Vadodara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surya Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vadodara's luxury business hotel, Surya Palace, welcomes you to the city for a luxurious and comfortable business trip. Surya Hotel Vadodarais the best halt for a business traveler. The hotel is just 1/2 a km from Vadodara railway station and 10 minutes' drive from the Vadodara airport. To serve the international guests, its just 2 hours drive from the Ahmedabad airport via the expressway. The property stands tall in the heart of the city camouflaging the hospitality sector for almost three decades now. Surya Palace hotel is the flagship property of the Jindal Group of Hotels. It is a luxurious business hotel with almost 4-star facilities. The hotel provides unmatched comfort and impeccable hospitality making it not only the premier business hotel but also a sought after venue for weddings and other occasions. Surya Palace endeavors to provide excellence in service, leveraging contemporary systems and technology. In 2008, the hotel received the CNBC TV18 Emerging India Award, followed by the NASSCOM - CNBC IT User Award for Best IT Adoption in the Tourism Sector. This award was preceded by nomination twice as the "Business Hotel of the Year - Economy" at the H & FS Awards for Excellence. From an executive in the city for conference, a traveler for a business deal, or a couple for family gathering, anybody looking to leap into the depths of Gujarat, Surya Palace hotel provides you the most comfortable stay in the city. The hotel seeks to redefine your expectations. 8 Suites, 35 Premier Club, 63 Club, and 26 Premium Deluxe rooms have been thoughtfully designed keeping your needs and comfort in mind.The rooms combine the best from both the world - classic comfort with contemporary amenities. Stylish and spacious, the rooms bestow a fulfilling experience to those who expect only the highest level of elegance, sophistication, and personal service. The rooms are equipped well with twin bed on request, safe locker, workstation, coffee maker, and audio visual arrangement. The club rooms and executive suites enjoy complimentary fruit basket/cookies. The executive suites are furnished with on-demand movies, DVD players, large LCDs. With stay extravaganza, the hotel also caters to its guests with in-house multi cuisine restaurant - AZURE. The international food theatre blends Indian dishes with world delicacies. Azure aims to serve the world on your platter without eventually traveling. Surya Palace also has its own fitness club to help the guests relax amidst the hectic schedule of a business trip. The hotel does not only serve the purpose of stay and dine but also has banquet halls to serve the purpose of celebrations and gatherings. The property has 5 banquet halls to serve every scale and type of occasion. From ethnic weddings to corporate meets, from cozy kitty parties to family get-togethers, Surya Palace has venue for every celebration. The sophisticacy of the occasion is aggrandized with its soundproof ambience and mood lighting facility. Surya Palace serves you with every facility to stay, dine, or celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Surya Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surya Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.