We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baroda's Own Most Contemporary Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara to your Saves list
Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akota Gardens, Vadodara 390020, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Vadodara
Secunderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Baroda's Own Most Contemporary Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There was never a reason to stay at Vadodara because you could always travel back to Ahmedabad after finishing with your engagements. But try out Gateway Akota Gardens and you shall have a reason to feel at-home. This is one of the most contemporary Hotels and definitely a very good one of the Gateway chain. The way it has been built, it gives you a feel of lotsa space. The newly done up rooms are great and spacious, the decor an the ambience is definitely chic and the famed Taj hospitality is there to stay. The location too is great, not in the hustle bustle of city but then not very far away. With the Vadodara embracing all that is current in the marketplace, this hotel makes up for right identity that growing corporate needs in Vadodara. So finally I got a reason to stay back and Vadodara. More stays shall follow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYHOTELVADODARA, General Manager at Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara!

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Vadodara and also for your kind feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you were happy with the hotel and its services. We are also delighted to note that you were happy with our newly renovated rooms.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming back to our hotel.

With warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    86
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
15
30
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very expensive for the quality of rooms. Very low ceiling. small rooms.

Hair in food during breakfast. Fortunately they threw entire preparation right in front of us. however, the taste was still average. staff was ill trained.

Definitely not taj standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYHOTELVADODARA, General Manager at Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara!

At the outset let me thank you for choosing to stay at the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara during your visit to this city and also for your feedback on the Trip Advisor with regard to the services of the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and I would like to assure you that we are taking necessary corrective action in this regard to ensure that there is no such recurrence in future.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming back to our hotel.

With warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Taj Akota Garden was a pleasant experience - primarily made by the Courtesy - hospitality and supportive staff.

The location is convenient and our experience of check in was excellent. being a family visit and also being a Inner circle member - it was nice to get an upgrade - typical Taj Hospitality experience. WE were pleased to be chosen as GUEST OF THE DAY which includes a dinner special by Chef - and since were unable to attend- asked extension to make it Lunch next day!

Room was nice and good size Quiet and away from all noise, The GAD café was excellent - breakfast superb - but as mostly travelling on Biz - its for me same Break fast I order in each stay, but excellent service and very caring GAD staff, We did not try specialty Japanese - as were out in evenings.

Typical Gujarati food next day as Guests of Hotel was excellent, We loved the Khichdi and Kadi,

Staff is very friendly - you are never out of comforts - lifts are well managed.

My favorite place - the BAR is missing all thru Gujarat - so cannot help. !

Laundry was so-so. Not the usual Taj Quality though - very timely delivered.

Enjoyed the stay !

Room Tip: Good idea to stay here in Vadodara - though I have stayed in past in Sheraton here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYHOTELVADODARA, General Manager at Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Gateway Hotel, Vadodara during your visit to Vadodara and also for your feedback on the services and facilities of the hotel.

We are delighted to note that you were happy with the hotel and its services. We are also delighted to note that you were happy with the regional home-made food. I have shared your compliments with all the associates concerned and I am sure this encourages them immensely.

Our Executive Housekeeper has noted your observation with regard to the laundry service and shall endeavour to take corrective measures.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visit to the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara.
With warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had spent my great time with the Every Taj property around India & I like that they have maintained their services accordingly. The stay was comfortable, room service was excellent. I loved to have dinner at the Kai Asia and being a Barodian and Chinese foody I visit that place frequently. Thanks to Shantanu Chef for the chinese treat.

Room Tip: If you are with family, either go for adjoining rooms or a suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYHOTELVADODARA, General Manager at Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Gateway Hotel, Vadodara during your visit to this city and also for your feedback on the services of the hotel.

I am glad to note that you had a very comfortable stay in the hotel. I am also happy to note that you had a delightful experience at our Pan Asian Specialty Restaurant - Kai Asia. I have shared your compliments with Chef Shantanu and I am sure this encourages him immensely.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming back to our hotel.

With warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palkkad
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had booked room for the guests and used their conference facility for two days. The service was very good. The Food at the Chinese restaurant was very good, though the coffee shop was not up to the mark. The breakfast spread is not all that great.

The gusts were impressed by the rooms as well as the service offered.

Over all a very good hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYHOTELVADODARA, General Manager at Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara for your conference and your guests stay and also for your feedback on the services.

We were delighted to note that you were happy with the services of the hotel as well as the quality of food at our Pan Asian Specialty Restaurant - Kai Asia. I have passed on your compliments to the concerned staff.

Our Executive Chef has noted your observation with regard to the buffet breakfast spread and shall endeavour to take corrective measures. We constantly strive to improve our services based on the feedback we receive from patrons like you.

We would like to thank you for your patronage and feedback and look forward to your next visit to the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara.

With warm regards,

General Manager
The Gateway Hotel, Vadodara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taubate, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Everybody here warmly welcomes you, not only in the first day, but whenever you need any assistance. The room is good, the laundry is efficient and the food menu has just enough variety for my one week-long stay. The windows could be more efficient in keeping the sound outside, even though it does not bother at night since the city does not take long to be silent.

Room Tip: I another stay I did not notice so much sound from the street, I was on the other side of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYHOTELVADODARA, General Manager at Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Vadodara and also for your kind feedback on Trip Advisor.
We were delighted to note that you were happy with the services of the hotel especially the efficiency of the laundry and also the choices in the food menu in the restaurants.
We have noted your feedback with regard to noise travelling from outside to the room and we shall endeavour to provide a quiet room on the higher floor on your next visit.
We would like to thank you for your patronage and feedback and look forward to your next visit to the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara.
With warm regards,
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel, Vadodara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have been frequenting this hotel for a long time now ( 5 years). I have found its ambience quite decent as well as the service there. The rooms are comfortable. The gym is also quite compact and well equipped. The reception staff are quite courteous. I love the Japanese restaurant Pan Asia. Not only is the food quite good but the staff there work hard to make sure you enjoy the meal and also understand what you are eating! A little expensive but its good to pamper yourself once in a while.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok V, General Manager at Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara during your visit to Vadodara and also for your feedback on the services.

I am very glad to note that you had a great stay in the hotel during your visit. I am also happy to note that you had a delightful experience at our Pan Asian Specialty Restaurant - Kai Asia. I have shared your compliments with all the associates concerned and I am sure this encourages them immensely.

I would like to thank you for your patronage and look forward to your next visit to the Gateway Hotel, Vadodara.

Warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara

Address: Akota Gardens, Vadodara 390020, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Vadodara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vadodara
#4 Business Hotel in Vadodara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Hotel Vadodara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.