We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu options!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of That Place

That Place
33, Sampatrao Colony, Alkapuri, Vadodara 390007, India
0265 2310222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 468 Restaurants in Vadodara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great menu options!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was my second visit to the restaurant, I must admit the consistency of the ambience, food and service is very good.

The variety in the menu is so large and from so many parts of the world viz, oriental (Chinese, Vietnamise, Japanese Thai etc.) European, African, Mexican ... You are spoilt for the choices.

The food is tasty tried Vietnamise soup - tangy, spicy. Fondue - good taste and great presentation, grilled chicken with herbs served with salad and chips, risotto - every thing was well prepared, tasty and the serving was good. Enjoyed every bit of it. The soup should be ordered 1/2 or 2/3 due to large portion.

Only thing that was not so good was the desert selection - very little to choose from. Coffee is not served after 10:45 which is again not good, one looks to have an espresso after a good meal, but...

Ambience is good though not excellent, service is prompt and courteous. Overall very satisfactory and enjoyable experience.

Breakfast options also look tempting - need to try sometime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    16
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice options to pick from”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Unfortunately we were not much hungry so couldn't try as many dishes as we typically do! Still whatever we ordered - was impressive. Definitely going back again & try some more.

Please make sure to go for 1/2 or even 1/3 when it comes to soup. They come in huge bowl. They are quite good. So if you want to finish full bowl for yourself it won't be a trouble. Just that you would feel just full with soup.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place.. none like that place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Serving continental food is nt a cup of tea fr everyone. That place sure knows it well. Serves authentic continental food, tastes good and health food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“THAT PLACE is 'the place'!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have been there a few times now an all times the dishes have left me pleasantly surprised.
Try the Nachos to nibble on and then Main courses will take care. The only low-point I feel is some of the desserts. There are other places doing that better.
Overall, the experience will be great one as the ambiance is also quite pleasing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotabato City, Philippines
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Not much to remember”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I and my colleague were visiting vadodara and i needed to look for a reasonable resto other than my hotel's. That place is near to my hotel as per my gps and tripadvisor so we decided to give a try to this resto.

I ordered jerky chicken bbq and mezze platter and my colleage ordered a thai curry. We coupled it with fresh watermelon juice and apple juice.

The chicken jerky with side vegies are "ok". It is too soft though as if im eating a boiled chicken. the platter, although it tasted fine, but it does not give any hint of its real food origin.

We paid INR1107.

The ambience is great, especially the outdoor seating.

Ove-all, it is an ok resto. It is not someting that you will remember after sometime. It is an option to other resto though.

Pics to be uploaded later...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Place also viewed

 

Been to That Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage That Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.