We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ginger Surat

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ginger Surat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ginger Surat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Off Dumus Road, Near Iskon Mall, | Near Iskon Mall, Surat 395007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Surat
Bhavnagar, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Basic construction is as good as any other ginger.It located on the airport road but not totally out of city, thus location wise it is okay.There is ample parking space but no driver room facility so your chauffeur will have to spend the night in the car. It is basically a self service hotel so naturally you do not expect great services.The rooms are as good as any other ginger,compact,cosy,tidy,clean mattresses,comfortable beds and with wifi, writing table,coffee maker and mini refrigerator, LCD tv and airconditioned.However there is no hairdryer, no safe, the aircondition was without remote and not a split one.The bathroom was is good shape with a shower panel but the water pressure was inadequate.There is common pantry facility.There is a peculiar bad odour in the lobby towards room 205,so avoid this lobby.The bathroom lock is not in a good shape in room 203. To sum up all in all it is not a bad place and is worth for the price, however it is not a great place also.

Room Tip: avoid lobby of room 205 as it has bad odour, avoid 203 as the bathroom lock is non functional
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    34
    40
    10
    13
See reviews for
14
7
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel rooms were clean, air conditioning was good, Lighting was good, the bathrooms were clean and hot water was available. Room service was prompt. The only problem we faced was with breakfast the next morning. The taste of the food items were compromised on few items. The spread was not elaborate which was understandable. The butter spread knife was not available and it felt a little unhygienic to share the butter knife placed in the common area. Very satisfied otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed there for 2nights, was there for a business trip. Located not more than 15mins from the airport. Loved the location coz you have couple of malls, many eatery joints like McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Yoko's, etc. The Hotel is basically a self service hotel. The staff is polite and try their best to help. The rooms are basic and clean. They give you WiFi complimentary. The breakfast spread is not all that great, so if you are someone who loves to have a wholesome breakfast, you are ought to be disappointed. The food in the served the restaurant is good, however if you want something custom made, they don't do that. Overall a pleasant stay> no complaints, wouldn't mind staying there again.

Room Tip: Since its a self service hotel, choose the room on the second floor, so that if you want to iron you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Only one word for this TATA enterprise.... DISAPPOINTING. Broken window air-conditioning (do not have split A/C), smashed window pane (was held by the sun film), small uncomfortable bed with an extremely small LCD screen television on offer. No toiletaries and not so clean rooms. The list of disappointment is almost endless. In room dining does not even provide you with a food tray. Also they have extremely limited choice. The breakfast though chargeable was close to horrible with lots of oily food on offer. No bell boy facility, you need to carry your own luggage from the car park to the reception lobby which is on first floor and from there to your room as well. The staff has not been taught to even smile. One of the worst hotel stays that I've experienced to date and the tarriff still close to 4000 bucks. Recommendation: Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were travelling from Pune to Surat and we enquired Customer Care service about hotel's tariff. They told us the tariff as Rs 2700 per night, but when we reached the hotel at around 7 PM we were shocked to know the tariff as Rs 3999 per night.When we told him about the enquiry he gave us Rs 200 discount. It was a day light robbery.

Our second shock was the room size, it was not more than 9' x 9' in size.

Third shock, bed size, it was just little above 4' wide.

Forth shock, when I took shower it was very hard to remove the shower gel from my body.

I forget to mention our biggest shock at hotel gate itself, when we stopped our car at hotel gate, they asked about our names to make sure that we are not Muslims.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It's a budget no frills hotel and they don't claim otherwise. I am giving it 3 stars comparing it to others. But if you look at the basics, this hotel is fine. Location is nice. The pricing is perfect. Was here for a night so no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

There was nothing unpleasant about the hotel but definitely nothing good. It's the most basic a hotel can get, not even shampoo and body wash just a dispenser with something that is probably a combination of both. Check in and check out were good and efficient, the restaurant is small and has few choices but decent quality food. The bed was clean and the room was adequate, the only thing was the bathroom was quite small and had a strange smell.

Luckily only stayed one night, would not recommend more than that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Surat hotels
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
4.2 mi away
The Grand Bhagwati
The Grand Bhagwati
#2 of 30 in Surat
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Lords Plaza - Surat
Lords Plaza - Surat
#5 of 30 in Surat
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yuvraj
BEST WESTERN Yuvraj
#6 of 30 in Surat
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Budget Inn Bellevue
Budget Inn Bellevue
#8 of 30 in Surat
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
2-star, Budget...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#14 of 30 in Surat
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ginger Surat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginger Surat

Address: Off Dumus Road, Near Iskon Mall, | Near Iskon Mall, Surat 395007, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Surat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Surat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ginger Surat 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ginger Surat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ginger Surat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.