We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway Quality Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambika Niketan, Athwa Lines | Dumas Road, Surat 395007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Surat
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gateway Quality Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lets just not talk about the Taj, both can not be compared...but gateway is soon getting closer to Taj but it will take time. As a budget hotel it will provide you the things you paid for. Rooms are fine.. washrooms are also at par with other hotels in the range, what stand it apart is the lobby and the restaurant, i will say best in surat. Food is good. Rooms are comfort and cozy.

Room Tip: rooms available at the lake side are good as they will provide you a good night view of surat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    174
    41
    9
    8
See reviews for
74
43
31
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this July for a marriage. No problems with the check-in, rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Special remarks on super cozy bed. Washrooms are very big and spacious. Other facilities also looked very decent, at par with other Taj properties. We did not use the swimming pool, but it was not clean. We had just one meal at the hotel, no problems with that. Staff service was very good, Taj afterall. Over all good stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

After visits & revisits the ambiance is very consistent. The hotel is nice, friendly, located on the shore of river Tapti in Surat.

The rooms are peaceful, significantly large and comfortable.

In room alarm, ipod speakers, DVD player, meeting area and excellent interiors make you life comfortable. This has consistently remained nice.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors with river view are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've been staying @ The Gateway Hotel, Surat for last 4 times and everytime it has been better than last time. They take care of ur small needs, they make u feel @ home and u feel like ur staying with some friends.
Staff is very friendly and cooperative, special mention Ms Nazbat!!
I'm very fond of the healthy and nutritious Breakfast spread of The Gateway, one of the best in terms of being and nutritious I've ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly decorated lobby if you want a modern room or go for old style rooms with Bathtub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

its really the wonderful experience at taj's gateway, the property is too good, silence, coffee shop, breakfast enjoyable, with the good taste, taking vary good care of all guest, rooms are too good, fully co-operative staff, need to stay for 2 nights to have best time.

Room Tip: all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have reviewed another Gateway Hotel (Vadodara, Gujarat). Many things are similar: great service, high levels of cleanliness, great restaurant, and good value for money. It is a little off the beaten track but is reasonably located for business travellers. Highly recommended for both business and leisure travellers.

Quite, restful, and great grounds. A oasis in a busy city.

Room Tip: RIver facing rooms are plentiful and easy to obtain if booked and requested early enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights on business. Overall, the place is nice, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are nicely decorated and functional. It is however just a regular business hotel, nothing you would expect from a Taj hotel. The food was ok, but mostly catering to international tastes of the many people from Europe working with the international corporations in Hazira.
What wasn't so nice, but that might be particular to my stay: there was paint work going on on my floor, and the odor was absolutely breathtaking, unfortunately also seeping into my room unless I ran the air conditioner fan on maximum. The room also has a very fancy lighting system with mini-switches. When trying to find the right buttons at night or in the morning, you stand a good chance of getting all kinds of things turned on and off, but not the light you want. And last, a small inconvenience if you have a driver for multiple days: there are no driver quarters at the hotel or nearby, which can be quite inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat hotels
3.7 mi away
The Grand Bhagwati
The Grand Bhagwati
#4 of 30 in Surat
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lords Plaza - Surat
Lords Plaza - Surat
#5 of 30 in Surat
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Ginger Surat
Hotel Ginger Surat
#3 of 30 in Surat
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Budget Inn Bellevue
Budget Inn Bellevue
#2 of 30 in Surat
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Sarita
Hotel Sarita
#6 of 30 in Surat
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Central Excellency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat

Address: Ambika Niketan, Athwa Lines | Dumas Road, Surat 395007, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Surat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Surat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.