We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maneland Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maneland Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Maneland Jungle Lodge
Sasan Gir, | District Junagadh, Gir National Park 362 135, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a very short stay at the place during the Christmas weekend of this year. When we entered the place was in darkness due to a power break down, which got resolved in about an hours time.

We had opted for the cottage which is large enough to accommodate 8 people. He place has seen better times and is a bit run down. However the service was personal and homely. Food was wholesome and simple. The manager Mr. Chavda was extremely helpful and was able to help us with the Jungle Safari permits. the experience of getting the Safari permits and managing the touts was a horrifying experience, and the visitors need to plan well in advance if they want to avoid a nightmare . However this was no fault of the resort.

While aminities at the property are adequate for a single nights stay some basic issues like Hot water were a problem - more so since it was a cold Winter day.

Room Tip: If you are a larger group pick the bungalow where you could have a bonfire in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Topsy67
The hot water issue is resolved now, you will be surprised to know that an unfortunate squirrel had gone in the boiler and had blocked the flow. (in the process she got killed)
Regarding Safari Permits, almost every guest is facing this problem, because they give limited current booking. To avoid this situation, one has to plan their trip well in Advance and apply to the forest department. We would be more then pleased to collect your permit a day in advance from the forest office. we have not yet come out of this license permit raj, and touts are always by-product of these policies. To avoid whole night queue, they should at least issue some token in advance or should give online permits. Gandhinager has not yet seen towards Gir, and we, in this part of Gujarat, still live in fax era. Hope things would improve soon.
would love to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in off peak season in the last few days of the lion viewing season and were the only guests at the property. The staff made us feel at home and made hearty sumptuous meals for us. The general manager Mr. Chawda was very helpful and showed us around the property. They have an excellent bungalow where people can stay in large groups. The property is right on the edge of the reserve and a bit away from Sasan village and the forest office where most of the hotels are. The food is good. The accomodation is adequate and the staff is courteous and eager.
Also the prices are reasonable as compared to other places.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the ground floor and first floor of the bungalows. The upper rooms have more natura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks Amitji,
so next time I would keep the Bungalow, exclusively for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had a wondrous trip of Sasan Gir in the first week of December.We stayed in a beautifully built Maneland JungleLodge for 4 days which it seems is recently renovated. Hotel's Architecture is marvelous and each room is provided with TV,AC and hot water. Everything is maintained very meticulously.The food quality is decent and the hotel staff was very cordial.To add to this,unexpectedly we enjoyed the effortless birding in Hotel premises itself.There was this Ficus tree and a “Ber” tree where we could spot at least 15 different species of Birds.Brahminy Mynas,Treepie,Barbets , Plum-headed Parakeets,Koels,Robins,Babblers,Tickel's Blue Flycatcher……. Throughout the day flocks of Red-vented Bulbuls and parakeets would sit on these trees to eat Ficus and “ber” fruits and we would listen to their chirping. It was a paradise.Even the squirrels posed for video.We could rest on the "Charpai" (चारपाई) reading leisurely and shades of trees in the hotel premises allowed us to enjoy the swings during noon time too. We recommend very strongly this Jungle lodge to nature lovers and bird-watchers who enjoy serene surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Ms. Koaum,
The staff and Management of Maneland Jungle Lodge thank you for your visit to our hotel and for such a wonderful response on trip adviser, which I am sure will help lot of people visiting Sasan Gir. We await your next visit. Entire Sasan area is wearing a different look now with trees of Palash (Kesuda) flowering abundantly and we see lot of new birds around every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 Nights at Maneland Jungle lodge - Gir with our 8 years old son.The Maneland is around 2-3 km from Sinh Sadan(Govt. Safari Booking office) and Railway station. We went to Gir by train from Veraval. On station a CycleRiksha told us for going to Maneland, we have to pay Rs. 300. But then we call Maneland Manager and he arranged the pickup free of cost. we already started feeling very nice.
They have all the info(phone nos. etc) regarding the safari bookings. We did 3 safaris and spotted lion everytime. The staff and the manager at the resort were genuinely nice and provided very good service. The garden around Maneland is abundant with bird life. We even spotted a jackal outside the Maneland. Our son loves animals. He loved the stay in Maneland. Enjoyed the swings in the garden.The location of the lodge adds to the experience of living in the wilderness. I loved the food here, it was very fresh and delicious. Room as well as Bathroom were clean and neat. Room has A/C and it works fine.
All in all, a good value for money place to be with the friends and family. Great Place to stay for a family!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thanks, Sir,
We promise more on your next visit......how about a bullock cart ride?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

i went to sasan gir with my mother and younger sister on a holiday trip on a 3 day holiday trip, and decided to stay here for 2 days.
the caretaker of this place seemed very cordial initially, and that's why we decided to stay there (we hadn't done reservations as we wanted to explore all aspects of gir). Below I enumerate my views in tangible terms.

PROS
This place has a 'retro' look, and this gives a lot of novelty value. Outside the rooms, they have kept village-designed cots where we can sit and chat.
The washrooms are reasonably spacious.
Since the rooms are designed as separate cottages (2-attached together), so there is good privacy.
The food is decent, and they are flexible about the timing of the food as well.

CONS
The rooms and washrooms are not very well maintained. In our room, the washroom had a big hole towards the ceiling :( Likewise, the a/c was very inefficient and the room would simply not get cool.
Our drivers (yes, we had two of them) complained of poor service from the people who served the food.
Room service is not good... we had to actually scold the attendants (who were young lads) to make them work, and even for basic things like arranging for drinking water, etc.

Overall, this is a good place, but there is huge scope for improvement and there is potential to make this the No. 1 accommodation in Gir.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Sir, You will see many visible changes viz. service, AC quality, TV, Hot water etc on your next visit.
We are changing the place keeping the retro look the same.
We wait for your next visit.
regards,
ashok chavda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed as a part of our Gujarat road-trip and visit to Gir. The resort seems to have seen better times and needs some serious investment by its owner as a lot of the resort is falling apart. However, the staff and the manager at the resort were genuinely nice and provided very good service. The young boys handling the kitchen and overall affairs of the resort were enthusiastic and served us well. The food was amazing and catered to our needs and tastes without being repetitive. Our kids loved the food and that was a big relief for us!
The rooms were quite basic (which was fine for the 'out in a jungle' feel) and we enjoyed the large window overlooking the jungle periphery. The split ac was good and there was running water and our room came with a tiny 14 inch CRT TV. However, lots of broken/shaky bits in the room and bathroom - curtain rods, soap holder, toilet seat, rickety chair, generally pretty old furniture kind of made us feel that the owner did not seriously have his heart in the resort.
There is not much to do at the resort. There are some sporting equipment like bat, ball, frisbee etc, which was welcome. It has a non-functional pool gathering dust and muck, a pity!
Some land-scaping, optimizing the facilities (without losing that rustic/jungle charm) and up gradation of the room interiors and furniture can make it a great option for stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a balcony and is a good idea if you want a private sit out. However it will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Deepz,
On your next visit you will see a lot of changes in the hotel. We are taking genuine interest in our property and now all the rooms are fitted with good sized TV. New AC, Geyser, etc. We are also in the process of changing the look without loosing the charm of the hotel.
You are invited to have one more appointment with Lions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The staff are very humble and go out of there way to make your stay memorable . Food is a basic vege meal but clean and cooked well and is tasty . The gardens is abundant with bird life and is in close proximity to the sasan gir park .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you, Do visit again to the only place that have real Jungle Charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maneland Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maneland Jungle Lodge

Address: Sasan Gir, | District Junagadh, Gir National Park 362 135, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maneland Jungle Lodge is designed to match the asthetics of the area & stylized using local material & construction techniques. The lodge nestling in small hills offers a perfect blend of the wild, exciting & even romantic experience of the forest.Gir - a proud heritage possessed by the present generation, is not merely a heaven of wildlife. It symbolizes history , that has witnessed the vicissitudes of nature, the travails of wildlife development, the gradual recognition given to this nature's bestowal, and consequent emergence of conservation ideology. Despite the onslaught of biotic disturbances and climatic hostilities, Gir - with its virginal identity, stands as a testimony of nature's intrinsic self reviving power. Gir promises to unfold before you the unexplored vistas of wilderness and the splendour of wildlife, which is tranquil yet vibrant, serene yet colourful, silent yet communicative, distracting and yet captivating. It took a royal decline to an offer of a lion hunt and then nearly a whole of a hundred years to pull the Asiatic Lion back from the brink of near extinction. Now that the species seems finally secure, the management is faced with another paradox. Unaware of the awe they continue to inspire and retaliatory risks they face, the lion tends to follow it's wild instincts and venture out of man-made boundaries and reach upto the waves of the Arabian sea. The Asian Lion is amongst the rarest animals in the world and its best to visit him in summer, where the trees are bare, the grass has withered and he's down at the watering holes to quench his thirst. As you roam the sanctuary you'ed encounter the straight probing gaze of a Nilgai, the flighty stare of a Chital and if you're lucky the stralthy menance of the Leapord or the gentle call of a Lioness to her cubs. Only if man would make an attempt to understand that! Perhaps, you would! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Maneland Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maneland Jungle Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maneland Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.