We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing for a Taj property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   at the edge of the Gir Forest, Junagadh District, Gir National Park 362135, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“disappointing for a Taj property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

we were a group of 3 families, all with small kids, visiting Gir for a 4 day break. Chose the gateway for its location and because its a Taj property. Firstly , the pluses - the location is truly outstanding, right next to the booking office and very close to the safari entrance . set in well from the road so quite quiet . Rooms ( especially on the second floor ) were large and spacious with very high ceilings . Overall nicely done and the small balconies had a nice view .
service was a HUGE problem - given that the primary reason people come there is for the safari, one would expect that the resort would align itself to the timings of the safari. surely arranging for room tea and coffee at 6 am or a little before is not too much to ask ! Again, we had to ask 3 times for our room to be cleaned on day 1. The kitchen wasnt open beyond 10 PM and given that we had a 2 year old with us that could have been an issue .
Overall probably a good resort to stay in for the purpose but does not do justice to the Taj brand at all .

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the second floor if possible - the view ( overlooking the river ) is quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Gir_Forest, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for staying at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest and it was a pleasure to have you with us.

It is a matter of great importance to us when our guests take time to share the experience of their visit. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the best of services and facilities to our guests, however there are times when the best of intentions are not good enough, and we appreciate the candid and positive feedback we have been fortunate to receive from you.

Please accept my sincere apologies that some aspects of your stay experience particularly the in room orders and timings of Kitchen did not match up to your expectations. I will certainly be addressing the concerns you have raised. I am sorry we were not able to showcase our hotel better, and do hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us. I am confident of providing you with a better experience, and with a stay suited to your expectations.

I am sorry we were not able to showcase our hotel better, and do hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us. I am confident of providing you with a better experience, and with a stay suited to your expectations.

Warm regards,

Nagendra Singh Bhayal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
64
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our tour organiser switched hotels on us and we stayed here, not in the main building, but a family cottage consisting of two en suite rooms and a shared sitting room... Not what we wanted, especially as one room had less facilities. Also no wifi despite it being advertised as throughout hotel. It carried the same over the top charge for use in the dining room or hotel foyer.

Getting our bill divided was somehow all too difficult and, despite each of the two couples giving in Landry separately it came back mixed with one bill.

The rooms could have been bigger... Just enough room for a standard (ie small) double bed and tow side tables... Nowhere to stand luggage on. TV on wall not even looked at. shower was small and because we were not told where to turn it on outside the bathroom we had cold shower.

The food was definitely the high point with a good choice and very nice desserts and an accommodating chef.

The setting overlooking the river was lost on us as we were in an enclosure separate from the hotel.

Looking at the website the ordinary rooms look great... Ours were not. The day we arrived we say a mouse on the shared sitting room and droppings along the window will. we we're assure the mouse had been removed... Which was a miracle as the droppings were back the next day.

Gir National Park is the ONLY place in the world that asiatic lions are extant so it was good to see them and a wonderfully disdainful leopard a few feet away. Great birds too.

Yet another hotel where better management would make all the difference and less arrogance from the reception would not go amiss.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Gir_Forest, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for staying at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest and it was a pleasure to have you with us.

It is a matter of great importance to us when our guests take time to share the experience of their visit. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the best of services and facilities to our guests, however there are times when the best of intentions are not good enough, and we appreciate the candid and positive feedback we have been fortunate to receive from you.

Please accept my sincere apologies that some aspects of your stay experience particularly the sighting of mouse and lapses in the laundry delivery did not match up to your expectations. I will certainly be addressing the other concerns you have raised with regard to your comments on arrogance reception staff. I am sorry we were not able to showcase our hotel better, and do hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us. I am confident of providing you with a better experience, and with a stay suited to your expectations.

I also appreciate the point being made, and am personally addressing this lapse, and the concern it has raised. Thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to an early opportunity to be of service again.

Warm regards,

Nagendra Singh Bhayal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights , 3 days on a package at this wonderful property right in the famous Gir forest including a 3 hours forest safari. The hotel is absolutely one of the best I have stayed in all respects. The ambiance in the hotel gives you a clear feeling of a forest lodge with photos and wall hangings of wild animals, mainly lions as well as the collection of artifacts and the books in their library on wild life give you a total feeling of being in the right atmosphere. The rooms are quite big and well maintained with a nice sit out balcony facing garden and a river on the back side.Room has tea/coffee making machine which gives you a chance to seep cup of tea sitting in the balcony. All the meals in the buffets in the restaurant are very good and tasty. The staff at the reception as well as in the restaurant is very friendly and helpful. The area around the hotel is nice for a stroll. The property also has a nice swimming pool.The hotel organises for a lion safari in Gir forest in an open jeep, which is an experience by itself. The advantage is that they organise everything for you including licence for the safari while the entry to forest is just next door to the hotel. Sometimes the wild animals pass through the hotel as well. A must for someone who wants to enjoy best wild life holidays. Better to be at the resort on weekdays as on weekends it becomes noisy due to some organised tours coming in.

Room Tip: Room on the backside facing the river and the forest is absolutely a must for best view. Also avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Gir_Forest, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for staying at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest and it was a pleasure to have you with us.

I would like to thank you for your kind and generous commendation of our hotel & team members who were very cordial and friendly & because of whom you felt at home. I truly believe that our people are our greatest strength, and your affirmation of their commitment and service excellence has been very motivating, and we have been pleased to share your appreciation with them.

There can be no greater compliment for us than the fact that our guests choose to return to us, and also recommend us to their friends and colleagues. We are grateful for the confidence and trust reposed in us, and we look forward to being of service again, and ensuring that your guests and you experience our best hospitality and service on all your stays.

Thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to an early opportunity to be of service again.

Warm regards,

Nagendra Singh Bhayal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Gateway Hotel, Gir forest is located close to Sinh Sadan , the booking office for Lion Safari. Nice Sylvian location, peacful and Calm. The property is nice. Food was terrible and the hotel could not manage the crowd.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floors, towards the centre of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Gir_Forest, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for staying at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest and it was a pleasure to have you with us.

It is a matter of great importance to us when our guests take time to share the experience of their visit. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the best of services and facilities to our guests, however there are times when the best of intentions are not good enough, and we appreciate the candid and positive feedback we have been fortunate to receive from you.

Please accept my sincere apologies that some aspects of your stay experience particularly the food part which did not match up to your expectations. I will certainly be addressing the other concerns you have raised. I am sorry we were not able to showcase our hotel better, and do hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us. I am confident of providing you with a better experience, and with a stay suited to your expectations.

Thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to an early opportunity to be of service again.

Warm regards,

Nagendra Singh Bhayal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was wonderful to find such a lovely hotel surrounded a the Gir Forest famous for the Lion Safari. The hotel overlooks a beautiful river. Rooms are well appointed. Food was good. The staff was very attentive, The General Manager of the Hotel was very helpful..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Gir_Forest, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for staying at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest and it was a pleasure to have you with us.

I would like to thank you for your kind and generous commendation of our hotel & team members who were very cordial and friendly & because of whom you felt at home. I truly believe that our people are our greatest strength, and your affirmation of their commitment and service excellence has been very motivating, and we have been pleased to share your appreciation with them.

We are grateful for the confidence and trust reposed in us, and we look forward to being of service again, and ensuring that your guests and you experience our best hospitality and service on all your stays.

Thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to an early opportunity to be of service again.

Warm regards,

Nagendra Singh Bhayal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is in a nice place close to the national park. The stay was very comformtable. The food is good and the staff is good. The room are very small compared to the price you have to pay. Bed is also small and comfortable only for 2 guys

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Gir_Forest, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

I would like to thank you for your kind and generous commendation of our hotel & team members who were very cordial and friendly & because of whom you felt at home. I truly believe that our people are our greatest strength, and your affirmation of their commitment and service excellence has been very motivating, and we have been pleased to share your appreciation with them.

We also noticed the opportunity for improvement in some of our facilities with regard to room sizes and availability of beds for toddlers where we have not met with your otherwise higher approvals of our services which would give us great pleasure in fulfilling.

We are grateful for the confidence and trust reposed in us, and we look forward to being of service again, and ensuring that your guests and you experience our best hospitality and service on all your stays.

Thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to an early opportunity to be of service again.

Warm regards,

Nagendra Singh Bhayal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have visited with other two families at Saan Gir and Stayed for 2 nights at The Gatway Hotel. It was awasome experiance and enjoyed the stay very well.The hotel is very good and have nice and cooperative staff. I would surly recomand the stay in this hotel as they take care of your Jeep Safari also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest

Address: at the edge of the Gir Forest, Junagadh District, Gir National Park 362135, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.