We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, safe choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   at the edge of the Gir Forest, Junagadh District, Gir National Park 362135, India   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A good, safe choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Date of stay: 2 nights April 2013
Type of stay: Independent travel primarily by car on a two person tourist trip for nearly a month in Gujarat, Rajastan, Agra and Delhi
Our budget: Medium to high depending on availability
Service: Very good
Cleanliness: Very good
Décor: Very good – a bit like a business hotel rather than safari lodge but it did the business
Food and drink: Excellent buffet food. Only had Indian lunches and dinners but breakfast was fine. I do like my coffee and fresh western-type coffee hasn’t reached this place yet. They did their best to provide using instant coffee though.
Background noise: Absent! No horns, just birdsong. Lovely.

Other points:
They provided quick and efficient email correspondence prior to arrival and had our safaris all arranged, as requested, in advance.
The gym needs sorting out (2 x treadmills and 1 x broken cross-trainer and no other equipment).
The spa complete massages were great.
Pool was clean.
Location on the river was lovely. Gardens were well kept.
Small library in the foyer of wildlife books.

Suggestions:
Perhaps you could supply binoculars for guests that do not have their own – we shared our first safari with two other guests who were without and I think they would have enjoyed having their own instead of borrowing ours. You could also provide beanbags for cameras on the safaris to steady the cameras when using telephoto lenses. Both of these were provided at other parks we visited and were a good idea.
I like the Oberoi method off asking guests not to tip as you go along and instead give at the end. As in many other good to luxury hotels in India we found there was an expectation to be tipped. This did not ruin the visit but left me feeling a bit awkward as on a couple of occasions my wallet was in the room and I was unable to tip. We did contribute to the tip box at the end.
You are doing a good job though in general and this was one of the best places we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
63
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
India
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place is just next to Sinh Sadan where everybody needs to go to to get the permit to enter the forrest. In that way it is very strategically located.
The rooms are ok. The room where we stayed, seemed to have a design flaw with the toilet, any time one takes shower and water will run to all the corners and completely wet the toilet.
The pool was extremely dirty and looked extremely unhygenic. The attendant was not stopping anybody from just jumping into the pool. No insistence on proper swimming costume etc.
The hotel arranged safaris for us and we paid them directly. We went for two safaris. Even though we informed in advance that we wanted to go with the same driver and car in the second safari and they confimed, they bumped us off from the hotel owned vehicle and got us one of the outside rented vehicles which was not in great condition. All of that because some Gujarat Government official showed up and they sent their vehicle for him.
All in all a mixed experienced. If I compare my experiences in Kanha and Bahdhavgarh, this one was more expensive and not in the same league.
Dinners were good but breakfast spread was not great. They also start breakfast pretty late, so on the last day, we had to leave without breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took a time out at this hotel after the 09 o'clock safari, the restaurant is nice and tastefully done up with a huge outside sitting area where you feel you are still inside the forest, a quite and serene place. The swimming pool is nice and clean, the costumes can be rented and pool can be enjoyed at very reasonable cost (we did not have rooms at the hotel). The food is very good and almost home cooked. Overall a great place to spend an afternoon. The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the gir forest office. The staff is very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The best part about this place is the location. It sits right next to the 'Sinh Sadan' from where you start your safaris. The property is beautiful but rather small. The staff is courteous and always helpful. The food is mediocre. Specially breakfast is a big let down. The views from the rooms is good. The pool is small but okay to soak in after the dusty safari rides. We took a package which included one shared safari. But we wanted to do more, so we asked them to arrange for us another shared safari. They told us that they don't have anybody else to share the safari with and we're made to pay the entire safari cost. While we could clearly see that many other people were going for the safaris, all alone!! We have our doubts that they would have told the same thing to everyone and charged everyone for the full safari.

We chose this for its location and the fact that we will not have bad surprises as its a Taj property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this property and had a wonderful time.

The staff was wonderful. Always pleasant, smiling and when not very busy, they would happily chat with us about sightings and wildlife. Their passion for Gir and its wildlife is remarkable.

The Gateway is right next to the booking office for safaris. So it has the minimum travel time to get your permit and guide.

We had booked a package which did not include any meals (we prefer the flexibilty and when doing wildlife holidays, we don't have the appetite or energy to enjoy a buffet), so we just asked Chef Bharadwaj to cook us whatever he recommended. We would let him know in advance which meals we were around for. He made the most outstanding mutton roganjosh, chilli chicken, dhaniya chicken, chicken biryani for us. Their chicken club sandwich was also amazing and a full meal in itself.

The buffet breakfast includes eggs, cereals, breads, muffins, some South Indian and North Indian dishes (the day we did have the breakfast it was upma, uttapams, poha). there are no cold meats in the breakfast buffet as all their ingredients are sourced from around. The lunch buffet used to have one nonveg item and the dinner buffet had 2 non-veg items.

They don't normally offer room service. But one afternoon we returned completely exhausted (the heat is quite bad right now, but summer is the best time for sighting lions) - my husband was driving himself and we had gone to some neighbouring villages for sightseeing too) - they looked at us ordering 2 cold coffees as soon as we entered and said - Sir, if you like, please go to your room and wash up and lie down, we will send the coffees up to your room.

It was these personal touches that made our stay great. Yes, there are tiny problems which given their location do crop up. Our fridge in the room wasn't chilling well. They replaced the fridge, but even that didn't work too well. So when we came down and asked them to replace the warm 1/2 liter bottles (2 liters complimentary each day) with cold ones. they said they did not have any chilled ones. they were willing to change the fridge again, but we didnt think it would help. So they offered to keep our water in their kitchen fridge and would give it to us whenever we needed more chilled water.

I needed a wifi connection for some work. It wasn't connecting. They called the IT department offsite. It took a little while, but they ensured that my connection began to work.

The river Hiran that flows behind the property (all rooms overlook the river) is a beautiful place for birdwatching especially at sunrise and sunset.

I would heavily recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet relaxed holiday. However, if you have high energy kids and need to keep them occupied, the Fern or Mahindra Club may be better options for you as they have lots of structured activities for kids.

The Taj also has a pool and spa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Starting with the plus points.... The room & beds were very comfortable, with a fantastic view from the balcony. The grounds are lovely for a walk, especially along the river bank. The pool is a bit on the chilly side, but very clean & well maintained. The staff ( on the whole ) are quite pleasant.
On the downside... The staff ( again on the whole) are not well trained or effecient. One member of staff continually told me that he was waiting to hear from an onward hotel that I had asked him to book, when ( I found out later) he had known all along that they were fully booked. Why??? The food is ok, but not commentably well cooked or served.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose The Gateway Taj Gir over the Mahindra Club Resort...and could not have been more happier with the decision.The location, the staff, the food were outstanding. Had excellent sightings of lions and leopards during our trip....special mention to the chef who took personal care of us and to the lodge manager who played the gracious host to perfection. Will be back again....soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest

Address: at the edge of the Gir Forest, Junagadh District, Gir National Park 362135, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.