We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property. Wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   at the edge of the Gir Forest, Junagadh District, Gir National Park 362135, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property. Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this property and had a wonderful time.

The staff was wonderful. Always pleasant, smiling and when not very busy, they would happily chat with us about sightings and wildlife. Their passion for Gir and its wildlife is remarkable.

The Gateway is right next to the booking office for safaris. So it has the minimum travel time to get your permit and guide.

We had booked a package which did not include any meals (we prefer the flexibilty and when doing wildlife holidays, we don't have the appetite or energy to enjoy a buffet), so we just asked Chef Bharadwaj to cook us whatever he recommended. We would let him know in advance which meals we were around for. He made the most outstanding mutton roganjosh, chilli chicken, dhaniya chicken, chicken biryani for us. Their chicken club sandwich was also amazing and a full meal in itself.

The buffet breakfast includes eggs, cereals, breads, muffins, some South Indian and North Indian dishes (the day we did have the breakfast it was upma, uttapams, poha). there are no cold meats in the breakfast buffet as all their ingredients are sourced from around. The lunch buffet used to have one nonveg item and the dinner buffet had 2 non-veg items.

They don't normally offer room service. But one afternoon we returned completely exhausted (the heat is quite bad right now, but summer is the best time for sighting lions) - my husband was driving himself and we had gone to some neighbouring villages for sightseeing too) - they looked at us ordering 2 cold coffees as soon as we entered and said - Sir, if you like, please go to your room and wash up and lie down, we will send the coffees up to your room.

It was these personal touches that made our stay great. Yes, there are tiny problems which given their location do crop up. Our fridge in the room wasn't chilling well. They replaced the fridge, but even that didn't work too well. So when we came down and asked them to replace the warm 1/2 liter bottles (2 liters complimentary each day) with cold ones. they said they did not have any chilled ones. they were willing to change the fridge again, but we didnt think it would help. So they offered to keep our water in their kitchen fridge and would give it to us whenever we needed more chilled water.

I needed a wifi connection for some work. It wasn't connecting. They called the IT department offsite. It took a little while, but they ensured that my connection began to work.

The river Hiran that flows behind the property (all rooms overlook the river) is a beautiful place for birdwatching especially at sunrise and sunset.

I would heavily recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet relaxed holiday. However, if you have high energy kids and need to keep them occupied, the Fern or Mahindra Club may be better options for you as they have lots of structured activities for kids.

The Taj also has a pool and spa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
64
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Starting with the plus points.... The room & beds were very comfortable, with a fantastic view from the balcony. The grounds are lovely for a walk, especially along the river bank. The pool is a bit on the chilly side, but very clean & well maintained. The staff ( on the whole ) are quite pleasant.
On the downside... The staff ( again on the whole) are not well trained or effecient. One member of staff continually told me that he was waiting to hear from an onward hotel that I had asked him to book, when ( I found out later) he had known all along that they were fully booked. Why??? The food is ok, but not commentably well cooked or served.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose The Gateway Taj Gir over the Mahindra Club Resort...and could not have been more happier with the decision.The location, the staff, the food were outstanding. Had excellent sightings of lions and leopards during our trip....special mention to the chef who took personal care of us and to the lodge manager who played the gracious host to perfection. Will be back again....soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had gone with my family for visiting the Gir sanctuary , and after endless hours of figuring out where to stay, settled on the Gateway. Reasons were good reviews, proximity to the sanctuary and being a taj regular over the years.

Pros-

- Proximity to the sanctuary. Permits are granted right next door. Knowledgeable guides are a great plus. You can take your own car inside, but i preferred the hotel open gypsy.

- Location. Is beautiful, nice backdrop of the river which is basically the backyard. Great sweeping views till the low hills.

- Ambiance - Nice, there is a nice lobby / tea room on the first floor which gives amazing views of the countryside. poolside is very nice , deck chairs on an elevated platform above the riverbank is amazing.

- Food- Food was very nice, probably because we were very hungry!!!!!

--Staff- very nice and courteous.

- Rooms- Rooms have a view, try the top floor for a very great view. Balconies are big and provide a quiet hideaway to sit and watch the world go by.

Cons-

- Overpriced- The hotel is reopened after the quake and running for 3 years now, the cost is very steep, on room only basis. Approx 8500. Rooms had a peculiar smell in the loo, had to change my room but still lingered. Needs to be sorted out.

- Noise- The kitchen exhaust runs along the face of the hotel , and very noisy if you are in rooms near it.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the top floor and away from the exhaust of the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very good standard hotel, recently refurbished, with very clean and comfortable rooms. It has an excellent pool, and is a very good base to visit the Sasan Gir National Park and Reserve, for its Asiatic lions, Leopards, Nilgai, Sambur, Spotted Deer and its varied birds.
It was an unexpectedly good find, in the area.
The restaurant was very good and the food first class.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Taj Gateway gir forest is among the best in Gir to explore the jungle safari for the roaring of lions & lioness.
Hotel located in the midst of forest facing the river with the chanting of many birds to keep your mind in peace.The river flows in a beauty of Nature calming your senses.Hotel rooms are good with every facility to empower you with the modern world.the staff is dressed in Forest department just keeping you in the world of forest,in the world of Lions.
Wifi is costlier but keeps you in the world of Bussiness.
Food has limited choice of Buffet or set menu but burns your fire with the taste of elegance.
It has swimming pool to cool you like lions in mid day afternoon.
You may have the vision of Lions if you are lucky right from your bed.Nature meets you grabs you while in bed with the vision of green mountains and flowing river

Room Tip: All rooms are river facing ,just look for rooms away so you could be in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well, lets face it, Gujarat is not really into good hotels. So the Gateway comes as a surprise, belonging to the Taj Group it is a small but nice place and about the only real clean Hotel we saw on our whole trip through Gujarat. Comfortable rooms, good restaurant, nice terrace, service is trying hard and more you can not expect at this remote plave. Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest

Address: at the edge of the Gir Forest, Junagadh District, Gir National Park 362135, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.