We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Gir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Mahindra Gir to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Gir
Village Haripur | Tal. Talala, District Junagadh, Gir National Park 362150, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Safari Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited the resort in January beginning along with few friends. Its a nice resort with serene surroundings. We stayed in the hotel units which were quite nice. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. The food was ok - they could add more local food to their buffet spread. One should also try some local dhabas which serve amazing kathiawadi food at one tenth price. We also enjoyed the inhouse activities. Won't suggest anyone to book safari from Club Mahindra as its cheaper if one does it online and takes own vehicle to the safari office.

All in all, it was a wonderful stay and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Rohit,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Gir. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    94
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
144
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in this property from January 6 to 8. Property is well maintained and is near the forest. The staff here makes a lot of effort to keep us entertained - the morning walk was fabulous and so was the food.
The downside is the last mile road to the resort which is full of pot holes and virtually non - existent. We faced a similar scene at few other Club Mahindra resorts - this really needs to be looked into by the management - if other brands can work on improving the roads near the resort so can this one.

Room Tip: The tented accommodation though looks exciting is not very comfortable - one should opt for their re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed between December 24th to Dec 26th. Property is good and close to the jungle and close to the nearby village . Rooms are good and service too . The best part is the evening/whole day entertainment events. The staffs here take a lot of effort to make it as interesting as possible. Since we were staying between the Christmas carnival so we enjoyed a lot.
Restaurent food is expensive and really needs a lot of improvement. The evening buffet served on Dec 25th was no good with few non veg options and that too the fish item was short in quantity. Better management expected here.

Apart from the food part everything else was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Rajiv,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed in this resort from Dec 14- 18. Property is in the Jungle and roads to the resort are totally bad. However since u r living in a Jungle u can't expect any thing better. This is the fun part. We drove from Mumbai to the resort and wow what a challenge. We actually got lost in the night. However to our good luck we were able to get help from the locals. We started 3 am from Mumbai and reached around 10. If u r driving down avoid the bharuch high way which can be jammed for hours.
Coming back to the resort:
Location- good in the mid of the jungle. Locals claim to see lions strolling around many times.
Rooms : Decent, but after staying in the Coorg resort the previous week my expectations were very high. There was dust in the AC and the bed for the 3rd occupant was not done properly . However after reporting to the manager this was resolved. But u don't expect this kind of lag from club mahindra.
Food : The barbecue was good and we ordered mostly from aala carte. Buffet lacked variety both - breakfast and dinner. This is a serious lag and I would want them to take this up immediately.
Staff service : Excellent. Staff is very courteous and ready to help. I think this is the only quality which will make me come back again to this resort.
Activities : We played cricket and tried and didnt much activities of our interest there. Also didn't see any evening entertainment. I would still overlook that as it is a jungle and you don't expect lot of people around.
Over all a good experience

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Gir. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We are glad you liked our accommodation at the resort and our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It was an excellent trip with my family and friends. Resort is conveniently located, close to the forest and safari area. The rooms are neat and well maintained. We were in the HU, which are little small as compared to other club mahindra HUs but they were good considering the surrounding.

The resort has around 600 Mango trees and rooms are in the middle of those. Initially we planned to stay in the tents but after seeing the tent my family decided to stay in the rooms as tents were little cold inside.

Best part of the resort was it's entertainment options. The entertainment team here takes their job little too seriously and they make every effort to keep you engaged with fun. We had fun on all the days with two different event coordinators. Kite flying was very unique experience.

The resort has a very good restaurant. Food is great and they serve variety so that you don't feel that you are eating in the same place during your stay. Restaurant staff is very friendly. But yes, it will be better to have another theme restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose studio rooms always. HUs are little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had been at this hotel in Nov'13. It was really a very good experience. The ambience, rooms, cleanliness, housekeeping, etc were very good. The entire staff were very freindly. The quality of food was also very good. In one evening the hotel staff arranged a special dance program of " African Community " settled in Gir for the last few decades. It was really an excellent experience. The overall experience of our stay at this hotel was very much satisfying.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

A great Cosy place to stay at Sassan Gir. A beautiful resort with options of tent rooms and apartments. we stayed in the first floor studio apartment at the far end. It was bit of a walk from the reception, gate or restaurant.... but worth it. The room is quite large with kitchenette and a large balcony. But over all resort is bit scaled down version of many club mahindra properties.

We did not use the restaurant services as we wanted to try the local cuisine through the dhabas and as such we were largely out for the safari or tour around. And as such the food package of club mahindra is never worth it.

A small and nice pool with activity area around, made this property a compact and cosy place in the midst of greenery around. A wonderful place to spend time with family.

The staff is extremely helpful and courteous, but over charge of travel services leaves a bad taste.

The approach road to the resort of 5kms is in bad condition, but as it is under repairs its matter of time the road will be good enough. jungle all around in this kingdom of lions safaris is the main attractions. Now you should ideally plan your safaris and book permit online. the jeep hire and guide fees is just 1400 rs, but the cost you also will incur is of to and fro from the resort which will cost you anywhere between 500 to 800 per trip.

Witnessing the lion or pride will be just the thing every one wants who visits Gir, but remember the jungles has more to offer. I had seen 38 species of birds during my 3 days visit to this amazing place.

Room Tip: You have options of Hotel units, tents and apartments. HU are small in size but very near to the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Gir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Gir

Address: Village Haripur | Tal. Talala, District Junagadh, Gir National Park 362150, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Safari Resort)
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Mahindra Gir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Safari Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Gir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.