We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nalanda

Hotel Nalanda
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Nalanda to your Saves list
Hotel Nalanda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mithakhali Six Roads | Ellisbridge, Ahmedabad 380006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 145 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Trichy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We booked this hotel for our Official duty at gandhinagar. And it is a unique little gem, really.

We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs. Price-wise on par with these better-class hotels. Yet, in two years from now, I’m sure we will still fondly remember the stay we had there.

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.

And as many people have written before. Naanda is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
1
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a medium size hotel conveniently located within walking distance of CG Road and Ashram Road. It serves non vegeterian food which is a big plus in Ahmedabad.
It is a clean and neat place with no frills and has friendly staff. Ideal for a short business stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Check in was comfortable, had come for business trip for 3-4 days. Few rooms are very shabby, if visiting take up the rooms facing the main road, its any day better, Food & Laundry service were good, Rooms are a bit small and service is average.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights as everything was booked out elsewhere in Ahmedabad. The foyer is deceptive as you come in as it is very modern, even the lift is modern with flashing disco lights! Once you reach the corridor leading to your room, the vibe changes, it's very old and run down, innerd of a face lift. The room was tiny and very outdated with an old chunky TV. The bathroom was ok, obviously been re-tiled recently. We had some issues with our toilet flushing but there were no other double rooms available to move to. If the rooms were modernized and the chunky furniture removed, it would be an improvement. Some male staff at the front desk were quite arrogant, but porters were very friendly. We were very kindly able to use a room for 1 hr before getting on our night train, which was very kind and we were very thankful. This room we had for the hour was 10 times worse than what we had for our stay. It was noisy and faced onto the main road and had a very strong smell of cigarettes. It did have a flat screen tv however. I think this hotel must be slowly upgrading and renovating, which is great, but they cannot charge such high tariffs until the hotel is fully renovated, it is very overpriced for what you get. The restaurant is also in urgent need of renovation, the food we had was good however.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I thought this would be nice hotel as it was 3 star and so did my new company thought and gave me this as accomodation but i was lil disappointed.

First of all its not good place for a single woman. All of them will stare you like anything. Staff will behave odd. I can expect this in a local hotel but not in a 3 star. Food quality was not so good. Waiters dont have manners, they knock doors like a police person.

Pick up and drop facility was good, Rooms were also okay, Interiors was not upto the mark. Nice view at night. Location is also good. It is good at pocket also if u have to bear your own. but i wont recommend this one if you want quality of 3 star

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This is one of the most up and coming budget hotel located in busy Mithakhali crossing.The room was spacious with a separate sitting arrangement for relaxation. Food is mouthh watering and the bathroom was quite clean and hygenic. Glass Window was perfect to have a glimpses of the city. Hotel staffs were cordial and always ready to help.Ambience is praiseworthy.The best part was that you have a feeling of satisfaction and value for money. The restaurent at downstair was cozy and service was okay.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

have been staying here for more than a year now. must have stayed there 4 to 5 times in the last 1 year. nalanda has a good, prompt airport pick up. looks nice from out side specially at nite. it is very well located in the middle of the city. simple, basic clean room and excellent room service defines the hotel.
food is good.
it seems to be an old hotel recently renovated. it is absolutely value for money stay fro business travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nalanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nalanda

Address: Mithakhali Six Roads | Ellisbridge, Ahmedabad 380006, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 145 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nalanda 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nalanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nalanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.