We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property with Clean n Tidy room in Budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Nehru Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Property with Clean n Tidy room in Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the market and the city. Not very far from the Airport which was the one of the best points. The rooms were well made, and very comfortable. The tariff is not too high for the service they are providing. Staff is very understanding and helpful. Room service food was very well cooked and nice. Will surely come back and stay with this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
3
1
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is an average hotel suited mainly for business travel. Rooms are small and do not have internet connectivity. The service was good and food quality was average. Located in the heart of the city. The rooms could be have been cleaner. Taxi hire charges from this hotel are exorbitant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
555 helpful votes 555 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is situated near nehru bridge. Ideal location if you are on a business trip and work with prominent government institutions like Indian Institute of Management, PRL, CSIR labs etc. IIM is very close to this place. However they do not have restaurant but room service is available. Which is an average affair.

Rooms are clean and nicely maintained. Staff is friendly. Keeping in view the heat of Ahmedabad I found ACs are working fine. Nearby few good restaurants are there where one can have good dinner.

Overall if you are budget traveller you would like this property.

Room Tip: Negotiate hard for price, they would offer 20-40% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked this hotel online. When I arrived at Ahmedabad, it was boiling hot at 37 degrees celcius. My hotel room had a broken AC and used an air fan to propel the little cold air from the AC to the rest of the room - the room did not get cool.

My bed sheets were old and stained (I did not want to imagine stained by what), the floor was also stained, chair was chipped, TV remote control held together by tape and looked greasy, the bathroom window had some cigarette buts trapped.

Needless to say, I had to move from the hotel. They refused to give me a refund and stayed next door at a much cleaner hotel of the same price range.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Started using this place after I felt Lemon tree wasn't VFM.. i use the place once a month.. but this place is GOOD.. clean rooms.. clean bathrooms.. clean sheets.. no one has to cringe n crawl into the fluffy beds.. everything u wudd expect from a biz hotel.. staff are also courteous even not very verbal.. rooms are good.. jus a bit stuffy from being closed too long.. food is decent.. location wise about 35-40 rupees from the stadium.. thankfully the autos outside dont seem to hike up rates.. :) :) jus about all the things u want wen ur on a biz visit..

g

Room Tip: They dont serve dinner after 11pm.. so if ur gonna b checkin in late.. call up ahead n ask them to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in a group with five suite rooms.
Check -in took over 20 minutes, very long winded and made to wait around. There was no sense of urgency from the reception staff. Poor service from the beginning.
The hotel is in a fantastic location in the centre of Ahmedabad city, only 5minutes away from the main Ratanpol shopping complex. The hotel is well decorated, clean and very modern designed with the foreigner in mind.
The rooms are gigantic with all mod cons that one would expect including large Super King size bed, AC, fridge, large wall mounted TV, large study desk with lighting, room is well lit, large wardrobe with safe, coffee table, coffee making facilities, large sofa, 2 ceiling fans and plenty of storage space. The bed linen was filthy with all sorts of stains with dark blood stains on the pillows. Not good. The rooms have UK adaptable plug sockets which is a bonus. There were plenty of cockroaches, mosquitos and small insects crawling around the room. I returned to my room one afternoon, after my room was cleaned. There was a dead cockroach on my bed pillow!
The bathroom is well equipped with a large shower with 24hrs hot water is available. There is soap, shampoo and towels provided.
There is an Atithi restaurant within the hotel, which offers breakfast and all sorts of food and drink all day long.
Each day we went to the restaurant for breakfast and whenever we ordered any food from room service it took so long for the food to turn up. At times we had to wait up to 45minutes. This is not acceptable. Quality of the food was good with average prices. The garlic nan was delicious!

One big disadvantage with this hotel is that you cannot call from room to room without calling reception, who would then connect you, at times your call getting disconnected. This is a basic facility which even a 2 star hotel should offer.
Be aware of room cleaning. Even if you put do not disturb on your room door, the house keeping staff will immediately clean your room once they see that you are going out. We were horrified to see one of the housekeeping boys in the room next to mine. The guests had clearly gone out for the day and this boy was sitting on their bed watching TV! Their belongings were all over the room and this boy rather than making up the room was chilling out! We were shocked and disappointed. We informed the hotel manager that under no circumstances should anyone come into our rooms unless we authorize. Seeing this with our own eyes gave us a sense of insecurity.
If you decide to stay at the hotel, ensure you lock up all your belongings before you leave the hotel as someone will enter the room even if you tell them not to!
The hotel offers internet access in the reception foyer. The reception foyer is large modern and gives you a positive feel to the hotel.
The porter man was a great guy who looked after us well. He even took us to the local doctor on becoming ill, then getting our medications!

Overall, the hotel location and room facilities were great, however if you are paying a high price for a hotel room you expect excellent customer service and pristine hygiene, both of which this hotel lacks. Real shame! This hotel is definitely worthy of a higher hotel rating than a 2Star.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are very large and are facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Ambassador Ahmedabad for two nightis in August 2011. The location of Hotel is convenient but the surrounding area is quite cramped and old. There are no nearby good restaurants in the locality. Hotel does not have a full fledged restaurant, though they serve food in room. I prefer not to eat in room as it leaves a smell in the room. Hotel is centrally air conditions. Rooms and bathrooms are quite good, neat and clean but are very small and appear cramped. They gave me 20% discount on their tarriff so it was around Rs. 1800 per night which was quite decent. The room had 32" Flat screen TV which I liked very much. The towels and bedsheets were clean. The room service was fast and good. Overall it is good to stay there of you're travelling single for business purpose for short visit. There is no lift on this 3 storey hotel so try to get a room on ground or first floor.

Room Tip: Negotiate with the manager to get a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Near Nehru Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.