We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Staff Only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kanak

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kanak to your Saves list
Hotel Kanak
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kanak
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp. Gujarat College Ellisbridge, Ahmedabad 380006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 139 hotels in Ahmedabad
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Staff Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel was advertise as 4* hotel but actually it is 3* hotel. There entrance sign-age and all brouchers clearly write it is a 3* hotel(Not sure if the rating was published by hotel or Agoda) - I booked a room for 3 adults. I paid extra for additional bed for 3rd person. We were only given mattress and not an actual bed for the 3rd person. - They advertise Internet for free but upon checkin I was advised that at max I can use internet for 1 hours with a given user name and password (which even did not work some time). After every hour if I want to connect I have to ask for username and password. This is not a sstandard for 3* hotel. It was so annoying that I asked for username and password atleast more than 20 time and later I was feeling ashamed to ask for additional details but Intenret at max for 1 hour was most annoying thing about this hotel. - The only positive I find out this hotel was their staff. Full credits to them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
3
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in three rooms and each were different. One was really stinking. Kindly read for complimentary breakfast between the lines as there is a cap in amount per room. For the money that we pay they could have maintained better. However the staffs were good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

It is situated at a prominent location, just opposite to Gujarat college. However, dont get confused by the photos of rooms, posted here; the hotel appears to be trendy only at the reception and lobby. The rooms are very old fashioned and requires immediate rennovation. Air conditioning is not temp. controlled as they are using 20yrs old models. I think, it was not a value for money deal, as I was paying around 2500/ for such a room.

However, bathroom is spacious and have a bathtub, the only priviledge of an old fashioned room, as it has become very rare now a days. I liked the wooden furnitures and designer ceilings of the room. Restaurant serves good food, both veg and non veg. Ask for including complimentary breakfast in your package.
Staffs are good and well behaved.
They have pick up and drop facility, which helped me a lot to catch the morning flight.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel Staffs were very unprofessional and denied my cleartrip booking payment for 2 nights and kept security of Rs.1000/- for the same. They never called me to refund me the same. I was harassed during check out.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just got back from amazing three nights stay at Hotel Kanak. The hotel is very impressive and comfortable. Everything about the place was spot on: the lovely staff, the food, the room, comfy mattress, soft pillows, etc. Our room was clean, nice and had comfortable bedding. I totally recommend eating in their restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying at kanak was one of the most pleasant experience ever..Faultless service in all the areas like timely pick n drop, complementary wifi connection, tasty food, clean n big rooms, friendly staff..In all, a complete experience :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would recommend you stay in a Kolkata Gutter before you stay in this place!!!

The hotel is terrible and I have only been here 2 hours but we are checking out. In that time, they would not serve us at the restaurant even though it was closing in 15 mins, and it would take 1.5 days for them to do some laundry. The check-in procedure was worse intrusive and I had to tell them enough as they almost asked for a DNA swab. My colleagues were shown to their room and it stunk from the recent fumigation. They were then taken to another room that had weird stains on the bed and burn stains.

The only conclusion I can draw from the favorable reviews about this place is they are totally fake. Needless to say we have run away and I would suggest that you not even come near this place.

Absolute Nightmare.....Oh where is Freddy Kruger

Room Tip: Stay Away at all Costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kanak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanak

Address: Opp. Gujarat College Ellisbridge, Ahmedabad 380006, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 139 hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kanak 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, MakeMyTrip, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kanak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kanak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.