We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The House of MG to your Saves list
The House of MG
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp. Sidi Saiyad Jali, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad 380001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 145 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Heritage place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is situated in a beautiful heritage house. The rooms are enormous and they make you feel you are on the previous century.

The staf is friendly, the restaurant is cozy, perfect for a typical gujarat dinner.

The location is good for those interested in the hystorical old city, just in front of the famous Sidi Saiyyed mosque and three bloks from the baazar. The cons are the heavy traffic, with noise and pollution.

Its not far from the airport also whats good for the travellers (500 rupiees with the hotel car).

The price is not cheap and this, together with the noise and pollution, prevented thr 5 stars. But I would reccomend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    88
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
38
72
29
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had not expected much of Ahmedabad as a city. Our visit designed to see the Calico Museum and an IPL match, so we were pleasantly surprised by this exceptional heritage hotel in the heart of the city. It is a beautifully restored characterful property with courtyard gardens and splendid pool and spa as well as two restaurants, one Thali, one international menu. Whilst we had one or two gripes about when food was available (not at the times stated on the menus!) it was delicious, plentiful and cheap and of course vegetarian. Strange too that whilst sparkling water was available in our mini bar the restaurant waiters did not know what it was! Final food gripe - they kept giving us vouchers for more meals which were unusable! Friendly staff throughout but perhaps English not as well understood as in say Rajasthan. The restaurant manager in particular was an exception as he seemed to understand our needs quickly and recommended menus which although authentically local suited us entirely. The room or should I say suite is huge with office area, comfortable seating area, HD TV (our first in India) and full wifi connectivity and plenty of sockets for your gizmos. Two large single beds are four posters with mosquito nets a visual rather than practical enhancement. Washroom very large and fully tiled with ample space even for wife's cosmetics Could be the perfect hotel for us. We were not adversely affected by street noise either although our room was at the front of the building - room 12 unreservedly recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a week at the MG. After an initial bumpy start and changing rooms 3 times, we came to rest and thorughly enjoyed our time, the roof top restaurant, the great spaces and staff, a great rickshaw driver who new the city and it's buildings very well. Great location, in old city side of town, very accessible to everything. Front of building a little noisy, front courtyard shields a bit. Overall a great and memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We can understand that this hotel is in a great location for exploring the heritage area of Ahmedabad and is in itself an interesting concept being converted from an historic office but this does have drawbacks. Our room, although immaculately clean, did not have an outside window. True, there were 2 windows but both looked out on to corridors so curtains had to be kept drawn. We had upgraded our room but if we did in fact have one of the best rooms I cannot imagine how basic some of the others would be. Our room was at the front of the hotel and above the entrance to the restaurant and as such was rather noisy from traffic and guests chatting as they left the premises. The partitioning between our room and the one next door was not very sound proof. The furnishings were basic but the appearance was very calming and restful. Take your own shampoo! Be aware though that Gujarat, in addition to being almost exclusively vegetarian, is a dry state and alcohol is not even available in restaurants or hotels. A special licence has to be obtained and a special trip to a liquor store where your passport is stamped and you can be 'prescribed' wine or beer which can only be drunk in your room.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Aesthetically this is a most pleasing accomodation. Everything is very tastefully done and in this respect it beats almost all of the Maharaja-Palace-hotels in Gujarat. If staying here in Ahmedabad, it makes sense to pass away most of the time in here, for example in the beautiful indoor swimming-pool. Walking out of the hotel is a traffic nightmare.

Theres is an expensive restaurant on the top-floor, which we didn't use, since it was dead-empty, but instead we went to the restaurant in the courtyard on the ground-floor, which was very busy and for once understaffed. It was the end of our Gujarat-trip and here we got the best real and enjoyable Gujarat-food, something which was surprisingly hardly ever served on our 3-weeks-tour through this state.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a tranquil haveli-like old architecture with spacious rooms n bathrooms,located in the city centre!! very well known n v well maintained,with a veggie restaurant serving famed gujrati thali n a garden cafe serving authentic n hygienic gujrati snacks n combo meals!!a huge indoor swimming pool is another attraction.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This is an outstanding place, in a rather surprising location. It's pretty chaotic outside, but inside the House of MG all is tranquil. The rooms are classic with just enough modern touches to make everything comfortable without spoiling the heritage feel. Meals on the patio downstairs are excellent - I was particularly impressed with the dosa selection. There are a few quirks in the pricing; unfortunately if you want to guarantee your room in advance, you will have to pay the rack rate, but for subsequent nights a healthy discount can be obtained - so long as you book on line no more than 48 hours in advance - and you can't get the same deal at reception! The other rather nice touch is the discount vouchers which materialise at the end of each meal, and can be used against another one on the following day! In summary, thuis place is unlikely to disappoint - the staff are very helpful too.

Room Tip: They are all different, so it may be worth having a look at a couple before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Address: Opp. Sidi Saiyad Jali, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ahmedabad
#7 Family Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House of MG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.