We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we came to India for.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The House of MG

Save Saved
You added The House of MG to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House of MG
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp. Sidi Saiyad Jali, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad 380001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 139 hotels in Ahmedabad
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“What we came to India for.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This fine property combines real character with a degree of luxury in a particularly Indian style which for us represents why you travel to this kind of destination in the first place. Apart from the spaciousness and the wood panelling etc, Our room also had a large Gujerati style swing (which we understand is a common feature in many Gujarati homes ) and a overhead mirror (!) (not sure if that is also a common feature in Gujerati homes)
Attached to the hotel is the Greenhouse Cafe which serves a wide selection of food and great coffee. On the top floor you have their thali restaurant which makes for an interesting experience in its own right. With regard to some of the previous reviewers comments as to the lack of a lift in the right place and a very small step into the shower,with all respect, perhaps they would be better off in a modern, chain,hotel where such issues would not arise; which is not to say that the plumbing and other facilities here are not first rate, they are.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    69
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
59
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a rambling old mansion that is charming and unusual. Our room was large and comfortable. A/C was good; wifi was good (room had its own router). Service was top notch. Good location, right across the street from the Siddi Saiyad Mosque. A bit noisy since it's right in the middle of the old city. Breakfast was to order and very good. On site restaurants were very good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed two nights at the House of MG. The first night stayed alone and the second night with my friend. I got an opportunity to stayed in suite since there was not a single room I supposed to stay. Each room has slightly different furniture and decoration. I enjoyed so much with these antique items and delicately covered modern equipment (A/C and switches, etc) with wooden case or panel. So total tone of decoration had been integrated well. corridors and courtyard or entrance area of the room houses sofas or chairs too. The only pity point was that Wifi Internet was not so strong. I had to go down the reception area. Rooftop restaurant offers Gjarati tali which were superb. They also offer various city tours. Recommendable one is city walk in the old town. I joined the nighttime version, but early morning might be much better as to see the detail of the city.

Room Tip: Street side might be noisy. Room #1 is next to the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Love going to this hotel. Stay here when I ever I got to Ahmedabad!

They just need to concentrate on the room's hygiene e.g shower area, shower heads and toilet shower all need to be paid attention to. Also there are no ladies at reception however if any ladies have any concerns go to the ladies at the beauty stall is excellent they are excellent and helpful - Jagruti is great!

Their evening chocolate is scrumptious!

I feel safe here even when I came on my own! The staff are always welcoming!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were highly recommended and treated by a friend of ours to stay a night at House of MG.....and wow, we were completely blown away by its warm traditional and highly classy ambiance. The house of MG reflects the vintage history of it's traditions in terms of art, architecture, authentic Gujarati food etc.....I'm a designer for womenswear by profession and this hotel with its personalized artworks, the mosaic work that's different on each floor, the intricate tile work reminding us of old world Italian flooring just inspired me so deeply to come up with another stunning collection in the near future..... We loved the organic nature of the rooms with vintage carved wooden poster beds, even a lovely couchy swing in the room.... There is no end to applauding this jewel of a hotel in the city. A must stay for every traveller indeed... And do take a tour of the entire hotel and take a dip in their gorgeous swimming pool that has some intricate mosaic flooring of Lotuses for the flooring and hand painted Lotus ceiling......

Room Tip: Room with a Swing... old world charm... warm and friendly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The House of Mg is a beautiful hotel with an old world charm about it. Formerly the house of one of the oldest and most established families of Ahmedabad, the scion of the family has restored it to a very comfortable and special hotel....great attention to details, great hygiene, friendly staff and a superb variety of tasty food.....was a lovely experience !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at The House of MG recently and was completely charmed and enchanted by it! This is a lovingly restored old "haveli" with a great deal attention paid to decor details. I have stayed in lots of hotels all over the world, and I love it when hotels can combine comfort and luxury with old world grace. We got a free upgrade to a better room, which had a sitting area in an enclosed verandah. There was a traditional gujarati swing along with a couple of sofas. The main room itself was very large with a beautiful bathroom done in terra cotta tiles and old-world white-chip tiles. The rest of the hotel was also very beautiful. We found the beds to be comfortable and the air conditioning very effective. Service staff was very reponsive too. House of MG was a refrshing change from the usual cookie cutter hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Address: Opp. Sidi Saiyad Jali, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Fastbooking so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House of MG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.