We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House of MG

Save Saved
You added The House of MG to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House of MG
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp. Sidi Saiyad Jali, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad 380001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 139 hotels in Ahmedabad
adelaide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

HOUSE OF MG
Ahmedabad is a chaotic city like all Indian cities and you will not see many tourists here. There is however a lot to see and the House of MG is a good place to stay. It is not your ritzy American 5 star sanitised hotel but a rustic time machine where you wake up in the 1930's in a huge room full of old black and white photos hanging crookedly on the wall and ancient but comfortable furniture. The staff are very helpful and they can assist you in purchasing alcohol if you need it. The Internet is dicey but good when it works. I would definitely stay here again as it is a great escape from the chaos of the city. The restaurant on the roof is great and so is the one by the front door. Although on a busy main road I was able to sleep well. A great old hotel that in March 2013 was in the process of expanding. Note that a few rooms at the rear - in particular the single rooms - fill with restaurant cooking odours in the evening and are noisier than the central rooms. Also note that there are lots of stairs in this hotel. They lead all over the place and no room seems to be on the same level as another. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    69
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
59
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The House of MG is a gem of a hotel, rarely experienced.
Ahmedabad is a great place for tourists, and this hotel added so much charm to our stay.
Special mention to Ambalal, guest relations manager, who was so helpful.
The building is opposite the Mosque with the intricate Tree of Life windows. It is a rambling family home with terazzo tiling, portraits and quaint sitting areas.
The rooftop restaurant is exotic, as is the indoor pool.
We appreciated the small touches like bowls of floating marigolds, suspended swing seat in some rooms and a quality, good-priced gift shop.
We had booked in for only a couple of nights, but re-arranged our trip to stay a week here.
We ate almost exclusively at the restaurants in the hotel as the food was excellent and good value.
They were also able to offer us the services of Mohammed the Rickshaw driver, who took us to the step wells, Ghandi site and Calico museum at our request.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We did not stay there, but our company had arranged the coporate dinner on the occasion of new year. The atmosphere is just too good, lovely and pleasant. Very artistically created interior. The hotel has it s own charm in it.. The food was tasty as well. You will find it traditionally mixture of Gujarati and Rajasthani food. It has it s own commercial shop as well. The staff is extra warm and user-friendly. It really made my evening that day. Had super fun. The only thing which I did not like was its location. or else thumbs up to everything..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had lunch on 24th Jan'13. Really memorable. Visited the place after watching a program each on TLC and Fox Traveller channels. The Gujarati food was classy. Hygiene, food taste, ambience, cutlery all were unparalleled. Waiters were really courteous, so also were the executive staff. A visit to the ethnic shop at the exit is also worthy. Wouldn't mind visiting again. Caution - Go for lunch on an empty stomach, as you are likely to gorge on and savor tasty food. Forget the calories for the day !!! - Dr. Narendra Kamath, Mangalore

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Me and my two friends dined at The House of MG, Ahmedabad recently. From the courteous Front exec, charming ethnic ambiance, traditional fare which ignited gastric passions and warm hospitality of the staff, everything resulted in a ethereal experience which took dining to a level of art. My undisputed choice for dining pleasure when at Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The House of MG is a beautiful old home converted into a boutique hotel. It has a lot of charm. The room itself is quite nice (and clean) and the bathroom is good too (nice shower).

Unfortunately there are two major downsides to this hotel: the noise and the staff. From the first floor rooms, guests can hear everything going on at the front desk. We were woken up every night we were there sometime between 2 and 5 am by other guests checking in or checking out. If getting a good night's sleep is even a little important to you, avoid this hotel.

The staff is not trained or monitored well enough to live up the grandness of this old building. They are nearly surly, forget friendly. Very un-Indian in the way they treat guests!

Breakfast is supposed to open at 7 am, but it didn't.

There is also no room service.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor at any cost because the noise from the front desk is very disturbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I arrived very early in the morning, and showed up at the hotel at 6am - I was very grateful that I was able to check in early and freshen up in my room. The room was lovely, and had a sunny terrace and decent wifi. I was there during the kite festival, and the hotel staff were on the roof in the afternoon showing us how to fly kites, and rescuing our kites when they got stuck in trees - a nice touch, and great fun. I didn't eat at the fancier restaurant on the roof, but the food at the Green House on the ground floor was very good. I'd be very happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Address: Opp. Sidi Saiyad Jali, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Fastbooking so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House of MG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.