We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The House of MG to your Saves list
The House of MG
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp. Sidi Saiyad Jali, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad 380001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book online and save!
Ranked #6 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed in a huge, beautifully decorated room. The staff were very friendly and attentive and got in touch with us even before our arrival!
It was my partner's first time to India and it was truly worth staying at the House of MG to get a nice, comfortable induction to India.
We went for a night walk (highly recommended) and enjoyed the amazing food at the restaurant. Unfortunately we stayed only one night and we didn't try out the pool.
Will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    79
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
65
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My wife and I arrived at night for a business meeting the next day. This hotel is unique: a converted large house with suites for rooms that are historic India, not modern branded hotel. Large living room with modern conveniences, stunning tile floors, a large bedroom, all air conditioned (104 daytime). The large bath not a/c. No problem. A maze of outdoor corridors, rooftop restaurant with good food. Note the state is dry. The coffee shop equivalent is outdoors.
An adventure staying here. Very comfortable, staff generally helpful with individuals impatient with western lack of undestanding of menus, etc.
If you are in the city for a straight on business trip and want a familiar major chain property experience, this isn't it.
If you have some free time and want to dabble very gently in Indian life, you will really like this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The House of MG is a beautifully restored heritage hotel in walking distance from the historic part of the city. Rooms are large and charming, restaurants delicious, the indoor pool amazing, and staff is more than helpful, kindly suiting all needs that may arise: from buying milk for our baby, to ironing a shirt within minutes, arranging a guide, providing a AC car with a great driver and entertain our child while we were dinning. We highly recommend The House of MG for business trips and/or family vacation. The place is very child-friendly (except they do not have a baby cot available).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

A lovely, relaxing stay at one of my favorite hotels in India; thanks so much to the warm, friendly and unbelievably helpful staff for making our stay so very pleasant. The combination of beautiful rooms with two of the best restaurants in the city of Ahmedabad make this a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We'd already eaten at Agashiye on a previous trip so knew what to expect from a hotel stay and we were not disappointed. Beautiful large rooms with all the facilities - a really relaxing haven in the middle of busy Ahmedabad, well located for the old and new town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at the House of MG for one night as part of a self organised tour of northern India. We arrived early in the morning after a tiring train journey and were quickly shown to our rooms. A nice touch as usually hotel rooms aren't available until later in the day. The rooms were lovely with all facilities and ours even had a large outdoor garden area complete with swing seat! The garden restaurant down stairs was great for drinks and lunches and the vegetarian restaurant on the roof was an interesting experience as none of us was familiar with Gujarati food. We took the walking tour that starts at the hotel which was very enjoyable- it appears that western tourists don't often visit Ahmedabad as we were greeted with much interested and photographed several times! I would recommend hiring a car and driver and visiting the nearby step wells- amazing! In fact Ahmebad had a lot to offer and should be visited by more tourists!

Overall the hotel was very good and we couldn't fault the service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Staid at House of MG with my wife for 4 nights. Our stay involved specific personal interests in the vicinity, but we were left with some free time to enjoy the historical beauties of Ahmedabad, which is a city that requires some time to be discovered but that is fascinating. The Management and Staff went our of their way - and were extremely effective - in organizing our stay . Dinners at upstairs Agashiye terrace restaurant were memorable. It is the kind of Hotel which makes a difference, from many sides.

Room Tip: We staid in beautiful and silent room n. 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Address: Opp. Sidi Saiyad Jali, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House of MG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.