We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old heritage in Ahmadabad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cama, Ahmedabad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cama, Ahmedabad to your Saves list
Hotel Cama, Ahmedabad
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Khanpur Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Durgapur, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An old heritage in Ahmadabad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

In the last week I had been to Ahmadabad for a business trip, & this time my sojourn was in Hotel CAMA, I have deliberately chosen to stay on the old Ahmadabad side, because I wanted to feel the vibrant pulse of the city. And I got it.The hotel is in a good location, apparently OK, but i felt some restoration work is due here.The food side is good but not excellent, in comparison to fortune landmark, Mariot, or La meridian it losses its luster. It is clean, Comfortable, Having an excellent gym, where i met Mr. Joshi the General Manager accidentally.The plus side of this hotel is its human resources, they are great, friendly, excellent.I have stayed in many hotels in India & abroad,but rarely felt such friendly ambiance with tradition.I have seen one old man with a bentley ( Mr Cama ?) standing in the lobby.The hotel is a pride heritage piece like him.We should maintain it.
The minus side is, this hotel does not have any toilet shower, if you are not comfortable with TPaper, ask for a mug.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
10
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Cama in Ahmedabad last week, and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious buffet breakfasts and fabulous service. From the doorman to the general manager Mr. Joshi, all staff were helpful, kind, and quite accommodating. At the end of each day, we always felt like we were coming home when we returned to the hotel. Our room looked out over the river, and was a quiet respite from the hectic city. Another plus: the Cama is one of the few places in Ahmedabad where tourists can purchase a liquor permit (as well as liquor!), which was very convenient. No complaints, only compliments for this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, which will be quieter as well as more picturesque. Also, ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford,CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

As two women traveling alone we found the general manager and most staff members very mindful of our safety. We were given a non-smoking room that was very spacious, bathroom was well upgraded and the A/C functioned wonderfully as we were visiting during a time when the city was experiencing some of the highest temps it has ever seen in the month of October. The Silver Leaf restaurant serves a great veggie club sandwich and the service was very friendly. A great breakfast spread at the La Vista made it a convenient stay!

The check in and check out process was challenging as the staff members seem to be new when dealing with bookings through hotels.com. However, we were able to provide this feedback to management. Overall the property needs some upgrading which is underway and we look forward to visiting again in the near future and recommending the property to family & friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the floor and those facing the river are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Check in staff is inefficient. Service and food is Ok. Rooms are large. Overall reasonable experience

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

My wife and I chose to stay at the Cama because it was close to the airport and was recommended by several family members. We were not disappointed. The rooms are large and luxurious. The quality of the bedding and furniture is top-notch. We were also highly appreciative of the front-desk person, who quickly checked us into the our room and arrange for a relatively inexpensive car (350 Rupees) to pick us up at 4 am and take use to the airport. Overall, a great experience and we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

When i visited this hotel i found very incredible staff and great looking atmospere. Staff is so good that i feel this is like my second home. Not to even think about what to do next.

My experience with this hotel is really great as per my point of view because it provided me class level of comfort and homely atmospere.

Location of hotel is such good that easy find out and reach there. JUST AMAZING

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Although wifi is expensive there and the rooms are a bit shabby - especially when compared to the standards of the lobby and backyard - I would recommend Cama Hotel. The beds are comfortable, there is a gym, the breakfast is good and you maybe able to negotiate the rate. More importantly the reception staff was very helpful when I got stranded in Ahmedabad (I didn't pass my train wait-list). They really tried their best to find me a way to reach my destination and must have called 15 bus and car service companies to help me. They found a bus and drove me to it. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cama, Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cama, Ahmedabad

Address: Khanpur Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cama, Ahmedabad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing hotel situated in quiet area overlooking River Sabarmati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cama, Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Ahmedabad
Park Plaza Cama
Ahmedabad Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cama, Ahmedabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.