We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, prompt service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rajwadu

Rajwadu
Ambaji Temple | Near Jivraj Tolnaka, Malav Talav, Paldi, Ahmedabad 380026, India
+91 79-2664 3839,
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 2,175 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mumbai
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Excellent food, prompt service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The thali we tried had an excellent balance of Gujarati and Rajasthani dishes. I loved the bhakris or rotis made of coarse grains like Jowar and Bajra.

Service was prompt and courteous. They handled a large 60 strong group of ours very efficiently.

The live ethnic music adds to the overall experience. To an outsider, the place offers shopping experience covering Indian handicrafts etc.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Package of experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Visiting Rajwadu for a friends' Lohri function on the 13th of Jan, was like a wholesome experience. The ambience of this place is very calming. Bon fire, snacks, masala - tulsi chai in the cold weather just made it one perfect evening! Definitely a must go !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Glad that I experienced Rajwadu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Being a visitor, I was suggested this place by my local acquaintance and I am happy that he did.
First thing that i noticed about this place was that it was located in the middle of a park and had a huge area. They have an enticing ambiance for my taste.

We found ourselves sitting in an authentic Gujrati setting and the hosts were gracious. In a minute, we were served the thalis and the numerous bowls that accompany a Gujrati thali. I found most of the items, though with good serving of desi ghee, tempting. Kadhi, dal, sabzi, rice and khichdi...everything was worth a serving. Special mention - Jalebi was exceptional!

The lights were really dim and it was difficult to see the food, not a great way to eat. The park had option for swings, folk art and other activities. One can easily spend couple of hours relaxing after the dinner.

If I visit this place again, I would keep a few more hours to explore it better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Culture with Food .. One of the best experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Rare experience which should never be missed ... The Culture mesmerises you as the Food makes you feel richer. It is an ideal outing for family or freinds who want to be away from the hush hush and enjoy a poeaceful meal with puppet shows or folk dance for company .. THOUROUGLY ENJOYED

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Cultural feast coupled with awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I m thrilled by the very moment I was welcomed with a teeka and a flower. I also made my own pot at pottery shop, played the puppet show for my friends. Added to that was an outstanding performance of dance with several pots on her head by an young lady. My friend enjoyed her turn with three pots. One can not forget such a event if it comes as a surprise in a quick trip. Magic show was also very interesting.
It would be unfair if I miss the tasty welcome drink - yummy pineapple and mint juice.
Food was a feast. Typical gujarathi food whose course never seem to end.
I recommend this to every family visiting ahmedabad. I m told there are similar ones around. But I can't forget my visit to rajwadu. Its clean well behaved courteous and pleasant. I would be eager to get my family there soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajwadu also viewed

Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 

Been to Rajwadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajwadu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.